Jump to content


Photo

ET4000 - CPU without FPU and toolchain for Hardware float?


  • Please log in to reply
36 replies to this topic

Re: ET4000 - CPU without FPU and toolchain for Hardware float? #21 MiLo

  • PLi® Core member
  • 14,045 posts

+298
Excellent

Posted 30 November 2015 - 11:58

Maybe if you'd post your commands and terminal output we might have a clue as what you are doing.
Real musicians never die - they just decompose

Re: ET4000 - CPU without FPU and toolchain for Hardware float? #22 samsamsam

  • Senior Member
  • 2,024 posts

+146
Excellent

Posted 30 November 2015 - 20:40

/build-enviroment/builds/openpli/release/et4x00/tmp/sysroots/i686-linux/usr/bin/mipsel-oe-linux/mipsel-oe-linux-gcc --sysroot=/build-enviroment/builds/openatv/release/et4x00/tmp/sysroots/et4x00 -o softfloat -O2 -msoft-float softfloattest.c

Error

 

In file included from /build-enviroment/builds/openpli/release/et4x00/tmp/sysroots/et4x00/usr/include/features.h:389:0,
                 from /build-enviroment/builds/openpli/release/et4x00/tmp/sysroots/et4x00/usr/include/stdio.h:27,
                 from softfloat.c:1:
/build-enviroment/builds/openpli/release/et4x00/tmp/sysroots/et4x00/usr/include/gnu/stubs.h:8:33: fatal error: gnu/stubs-o32_soft.h: No such file or directory
 # include <gnu/stubs-o32_soft.h>
                                 ^
compilation terminated
 
 
Now it is clear?

Edited by samsamsam, 30 November 2015 - 20:42.


Re: ET4000 - CPU without FPU and toolchain for Hardware float? #23 athoik

  • PLi® Core member
  • 8,458 posts

+327
Excellent

Posted 30 November 2015 - 20:55

Are you using OpenATV OE build?


Hi SSS,

OpenPLi fixed that, for all receivers it supports. See DEFAULTTUNE = "mips32el-nf".

https://github.com/X...ine/et4x00.conf

Most probably you are using OE-A build https://github.com/o...lude/etxx00.inc, https://github.com/o...ine/et4x00.conf

They can fix it at any time, since they keep their own BSP layer.


Wavefield T90: 0.8W - 1.9E - 4.8E - 13E - 16E - 19.2E - 23.5E - 26E - 33E - 39E - 42E - 45E on EMP Centauri DiseqC 16/1
Unamed: 13E Quattro - 9E Quattro on IKUSI MS-0916

Re: ET4000 - CPU without FPU and toolchain for Hardware float? #24 samsamsam

  • Senior Member
  • 2,024 posts

+146
Excellent

Posted 30 November 2015 - 20:59

Hmm how can I check this. Sorry, but I am not familiar to use bb...



Re: ET4000 - CPU without FPU and toolchain for Hardware float? #25 athoik

  • PLi® Core member
  • 8,458 posts

+327
Excellent

Posted 30 November 2015 - 21:13


OpenPLi does not use buids folder but build folder.

cd /build-enviroment
git remote show origin

Will show information what exacly is cloned under build-environment.
Wavefield T90: 0.8W - 1.9E - 4.8E - 13E - 16E - 19.2E - 23.5E - 26E - 33E - 39E - 42E - 45E on EMP Centauri DiseqC 16/1
Unamed: 13E Quattro - 9E Quattro on IKUSI MS-0916

Re: ET4000 - CPU without FPU and toolchain for Hardware float? #26 samsamsam

  • Senior Member
  • 2,024 posts

+146
Excellent

Posted 30 November 2015 - 21:33


* remote origin
  Fetch URL: git://github.com/oe-alliance/build-enviroment.git
  Push  URL: git://github.com/oe-alliance/build-enviroment.git
  HEAD branch: 3.2
  Remote branches:
    1.0  tracked
    2.0  tracked
    2.1  tracked
    2.2  tracked
    2.3  tracked
    3.0  tracked
    3.1  tracked
    3.2  tracked
    next tracked
  Local branch configured for 'git pull':
    3.2 merges with remote 3.2
  Local ref configured for 'git push':
    3.2 pushes to 3.2 (local out of date)


Re: ET4000 - CPU without FPU and toolchain for Hardware float? #27 athoik

  • PLi® Core member
  • 8,458 posts

+327
Excellent

Posted 30 November 2015 - 21:42

Then ...

git clone https://github.com/OpenPLi/openpli-oe-core /openpli
cd /openpli
make 
MACHINE=et4x00 make image
That will setup your environment and will build image for et4x00.

Then if you have a bitbake that builds your plugin you can build it like this:

cd /openpli/build
source env.source
MACHINE=et4x00 bitbake package-name

Wavefield T90: 0.8W - 1.9E - 4.8E - 13E - 16E - 19.2E - 23.5E - 26E - 33E - 39E - 42E - 45E on EMP Centauri DiseqC 16/1
Unamed: 13E Quattro - 9E Quattro on IKUSI MS-0916

Re: ET4000 - CPU without FPU and toolchain for Hardware float? #28 samsamsam

  • Senior Member
  • 2,024 posts

+146
Excellent

Posted 30 November 2015 - 21:49

Thanks. I will try.

 

But as I  mentioned earlier for softfpu I was using custom toolchain prepared using crosstool-ng and sources from the BRC.

 

I will let you know.

 

 

Regards,

SSS


Edited by samsamsam, 30 November 2015 - 21:50.


Re: ET4000 - CPU without FPU and toolchain for Hardware float? #29 athoik

  • PLi® Core member
  • 8,458 posts

+327
Excellent

Posted 30 November 2015 - 22:37

You have to use bitbake to build ffmpeg (eplayer3, ...).

Here is a bitbake for ffmpeg: http://git.yoctoproj...7.12.bb?h=danny

If you want to use just grab ffmpeg_0.7.12.bb and ffmpeg.inc and place them under meta-local/recipes-local/ffmpeg/ffmpeg.inc and meta-local/recipes-local/ffmpeg/ffmpeg_0.7.12.bb

Then if you like to build ffmpeg for et4x00 you do the following:
 
cd build
source env.source
MACHINE=et4x00 bitbake ffmpeg

Edited by athoik, 30 November 2015 - 22:37.

Wavefield T90: 0.8W - 1.9E - 4.8E - 13E - 16E - 19.2E - 23.5E - 26E - 33E - 39E - 42E - 45E on EMP Centauri DiseqC 16/1
Unamed: 13E Quattro - 9E Quattro on IKUSI MS-0916

Re: ET4000 - CPU without FPU and toolchain for Hardware float? #30 samsamsam

  • Senior Member
  • 2,024 posts

+146
Excellent

Posted 30 November 2015 - 22:48

Why I have to build ffmpeg with bb? 
I can build it using my own bash script and only use generated by bb toolchain. 
 
And this configuration: "http://git.yoctoproj...7.12.bb?h=danny" is wrong.
 
Thank you for the help :)


Re: ET4000 - CPU without FPU and toolchain for Hardware float? #31 athoik

  • PLi® Core member
  • 8,458 posts

+327
Excellent

Posted 30 November 2015 - 22:51

Why I have to build ffmpeg with bb? 
I can build it using my own bash script and only use generated by bb toolchain. 
 
And this configuration: "http://git.yoctoproj...7.12.bb?h=danny" is wrong.
 
Thank you for the help :)


You have to use bitbake because it makes everything simple and clear. What ever you are doing with your shell script bitbake can do as well even better.

The above bitbake is just a sample to start, you can adjust it based on your parameters.
Wavefield T90: 0.8W - 1.9E - 4.8E - 13E - 16E - 19.2E - 23.5E - 26E - 33E - 39E - 42E - 45E on EMP Centauri DiseqC 16/1
Unamed: 13E Quattro - 9E Quattro on IKUSI MS-0916

Re: ET4000 - CPU without FPU and toolchain for Hardware float? #32 samsamsam

  • Senior Member
  • 2,024 posts

+146
Excellent

Posted 30 November 2015 - 23:04

Sorry I do not like bb and I will not use it. 

For my yocto is ....

 

Regards,

SSS



Re: ET4000 - CPU without FPU and toolchain for Hardware float? #33 christophecvr

  • Senior Member
  • 3,131 posts

+140
Excellent

Posted 1 December 2015 - 11:49

Every way off build has advantages or disadvantages.

 

But bitbake is in my opinion the best if You build for a stb. (certainly for pli4) .

 

Thank's to a couple off good devs by openpli particularly MiLo which spend a tremendous amount off time to have the base build (linux-core) and basic oe in function off stb correctly compiled versus architecture and cpu.

 

By using bb the build is first configured to the optimum off the targets device. And you squeeze all out off it.

Result is.

Very stable.

Very performant and ussually even low cpu load.

Optimum use off cpu threads.

Optimum use off chipset.

Take also note that for an stb the base dvb drivers are closed source. but the manufacturer will have them compiled with the optimum cpu/arch settings.

If You write an app for that stb and do not use the correct cpu/arch settings you will create self an unstable app.

 

Well bb does that for You.

 

You always can use other ways perhaps you prefer them do know them better but still then You will have to set the wright compile options in function off the stb. (think about the driver).



Re: ET4000 - CPU without FPU and toolchain for Hardware float? #34 MiLo

  • PLi® Core member
  • 14,045 posts

+298
Excellent

Posted 1 December 2015 - 11:57

Sorry I do not like bb and I will not use it.


You could have saved everyone a lot of time if you just posted that at the beginning. Thank you for wasting our time. Good luck with your project.
Real musicians never die - they just decompose

Re: ET4000 - CPU without FPU and toolchain for Hardware float? #35 Erik Slagter

  • PLi® Core member
  • 46,951 posts

+541
Excellent

Posted 1 December 2015 - 15:45

And then not even from our OE...


* Wavefrontier T90 with 28E/23E/19E/13E via SCR switches 2 x 2 x 6 user bands
I don't read PM -> if you have something to ask or to report, do it in the forum so others can benefit. I don't take freelance jobs.
Ik lees geen PM -> als je iets te vragen of te melden hebt, doe het op het forum, zodat anderen er ook wat aan hebben.


Re: ET4000 - CPU without FPU and toolchain for Hardware float? #36 samsamsam

  • Senior Member
  • 2,024 posts

+146
Excellent

Posted 1 December 2015 - 19:56

 

Sorry I do not like bb and I will not use it.


You could have saved everyone a lot of time if you just posted that at the beginning. Thank you for wasting our time. Good luck with your project.

 

 

Probably you understood me wrong. I will use bb from OpenPLI repo to build toolchain (gcc, standard libs, .etc), but I do not know this build system and what I read about  (short recognize about yocto, bb and so on) it is not good for my purpose ...

Many recipes all taken from different repos. Most recipes are unpasteurized, so it add some config option or remove you need add or edit own recipe.
For my purpose I like to have full control on each option.
So, ffmpeg and exteplayer3 purpose for my tests I will build toolchain using generated with bb (a full Compability with other binaries in image, for example standard lib), but themselves I will build with my custom scripts.
I apologize for the misunderstanding.
 
Regards,
SSS


Re: ET4000 - CPU without FPU and toolchain for Hardware float? #37 samsamsam

  • Senior Member
  • 2,024 posts

+146
Excellent

Posted 2 December 2015 - 00:29

Then ...
 

git clone https://github.com/OpenPLi/openpli-oe-core /openpli
cd /openpli
make 
MACHINE=et4x00 make image
That will setup your environment and will build image for et4x00.

Then if you have a bitbake that builds your plugin you can build it like this:

cd /openpli/build
source env.source
MACHINE=et4x00 bitbake package-name

 

Thank you. Now it works OK :)

 


sulge@ubuntu-VirtualBox:/mnt/new/e2/simpleeplayer3/tmp/softfloattest$ /mnt/new2/softFPU/openpli/build/tmp/sysroots/i686-linux/usr/bin/mipsel-oe-linux/mipsel-oe-linux-gcc --sysroot=/mnt/new2/softFPU/openpli/build/tmp/sysroots/et4x00/ -o softfloat -O2 -msoft-float softfloat.c
sulge@ubuntu-VirtualBox:/mnt/new/e2/simpleeplayer3/tmp/softfloattest$ echo $?
0
sulge@ubuntu-VirtualBox:/mnt/new/e2/simpleeplayer3/tmp/softfloattest$

 

Thank you very much.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users