nfs fstab hdd share

• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 H2SO4JB

• 145 posts

Neutral

Posted 6 September 2016 - 21:06

Hi all,

I want to start by saying that I am a novice user, so be patient. :-)

I have two VU+ DUO2, in the same network. Both with the latest version of OpenPLi. In box #1, I have an
internal 500GB SSD SATA3. It is intended that both boxes should store all recordings on it. I also have
a Synology NAS, where everything else I have is stored.

I can mount my NAS with both CIFS or NFS, without any problems. I have tested it true the Mount Manager
and manually in the fstab file. Both ways works perfectly, so I have little knowledge of how it works.

Now to my problem:
In box #2, I want to mount my 500GB SSD placed in box #1, with NFS. But I don't get this to work at all.

If I browse with the Network Browser, I can see the hard drive in box #1. The hard drive is named "Harddisk"
there. I don't know why, because I have no memory of that I named it to that.

Anyway, I can mount it with CIFS without any problems.

Since I am experiencing problems with playback of movies when I share with CIFS, I would rather use NFS.
But it is here my problems begin. It seems to be impossible to mount this hard drive with NFS. There must
be some moments I don't know about.

I'll try to explain:
When I use Network Browser > Mount Manager, first it takes several minutes before the mount is accepted, then
the mount is not activated properly. It is a red cross on the mount. Even after a reboot.

Then when I should delete this mount, the box is freezing on the following message: Please wait while removing your network mount...
The only way I can delete this mount, is to clear the information in the automounts.xml file manually.

I clear all I've done above and instead add the following line in the fstab file:
192.168.0.200:/Harddisk /media/net/SSD nfs sec=ntlm,nolock,rsize=32768,wsize=32768,intr