Settop Box Software

• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 haru

• 5 posts

Neutral

Posted 12 March 2018 - 16:06

Hi everyone, I am a newbie here and would like to ask the following question;

Is it illegal if a customer modifies the software/firmware that is installed inside the his/her set-top box?

That is supposing i bought my set-top box from a Pay Tv provider and feel like i would like to change the firmware/software that the set-top box came with, is it illegal if i do change/modify it?

Re: Settop Box Software #2 WanWizard

• PLi® Core member
  • 68,309 posts

+1,719
Excellent

Posted 12 March 2018 - 16:16

If you bought a box from a Pay TV provider that runs OpenPLi, it is illegal to start with, as no legal provider does so.

Currently in use: VU+ Duo 4K (2xFBC S2), VU+ Solo 4K (1xFBC S2), uClan Usytm 4K Pro (S2+T2), Octagon SF8008 (S2+T2), Zgemma H9.2H (S2+T2)

Due to my bad health, I will not be very active at times and may be slow to respond. I will not read the forum or PM on a regular basis.

Many answers to your question can be found in our new and improved wiki.

Re: Settop Box Software #3 haru

• 5 posts

Neutral

Posted 12 March 2018 - 17:00

From your answer it means therefore that it will be illegal to change the firmware installed inside the box. But is this information provided/indicated in the terms and conditions?

Re: Settop Box Software #4 Pr2

• PLi® Contributor
  • 6,046 posts

+256
Excellent

Posted 12 March 2018 - 17:50

What was illegal was to purchase a service from a pay TV service and it provides you with a box that is probably totally locked down so you cannot do anything else with it.

Of course you are the owner of this box so you can do whatever you want with it but you will probably lose access to your illegal pay services.

NO SUPPORT by PM, it is a forum make your question public so everybody can benefit from the question/answer.