Openpli 7.0RC VU+ Uno SE as OpenVPN Server. VPN to LAN subnet routing

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 mosskit

• 18 posts

Neutral

Posted 31 December 2018 - 04:09

Hi Folks,

I am new to Enigma boxes (and Linux). It took me some time to set it up to make it work mainly due to missing knowledge of linux and OpenVPN which I wanted to understand. Some beginners might see this post useful. My idea was to be able to connect from Windows based laptop or iOS device (ipad, iphone) to my home network using OpenVPN with my linuxbox as a temporary server in a secure way. Here is what follows:

1. I've installed openvpn 2.3.9 with opkg on my OpenPLI7.0

2. I've downloaded  openvpn-2.3.10.tar.gz and easy-rsa-2.3.3_master with wget from openvpn site (there was no 2.3.9 release on site but only 2.3.10 and newer so chosed this one to be close to OpenVPN PLI package version)
https://build.openvp...loads/releases/ and unziped it to my box (VU+ Uno SE) tmp directory

3. I've created \etc\openvpn folder in my box and moved server.conf, client.conf and easy-rsa folder there.

4. I've changed \etc\openvpn access rights to full access

5. I've edited vars file from \etc\openvpn\easy-rsa\2.0\ and put required keys:

export KEY_COUNTRY="country"
export KEY_PROVINCE="province"
export KEY_CITY="city"
export KEY_ORG="organization"
export KEY_EMAIL="email@email"
export KEY_CN=yournamehere
export KEY_NAME=yournamehere
export KEY_OU=yournamehere

6. I've initialized PKI:

. ./vars
./clean-all
./build-ca

7. Then built CA certificate, built server certificate and some client certificates:

./build-ca
./build-key-server server
./build-key ipad_client
./build-key notebook_client

8. Then moved all generated files from /etc/openvpn/easy-rsa/2.0/keys folder to /etc/openvpn/keys