Jump to content


Photo

[AutoTimer] autotimer list - advanced view - Bouquets always "all channels"


  • Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1 Qu@rk

  • Senior Member
  • 156 posts

+2
Neutral

Posted 26 December 2019 - 12:36

OpenPLi 7.2, DUO 4K

 

The advanced view of the autotimer list should show the selected bouquets for each timer.

On my box the advanced autotimer list shows only "all channels" for any selected bouquet.

If I select only single channels, they are correctly listed. As soon as I select a bouquet "all channels" is shown.

 

Is there something wrong with the configuration on my box?

I have already deleted all bouquets and created new bouquets using DreamBoxEdit - no change.

 

The corresponding code in AutoTimerList.py:

	def buildListboxEntry(self, timer):
		if self.style_autotimerslist == "standard":
			size = self.l.getItemSize()
			color = None
			if not timer.enabled:
				color = self.colorDisabled
			return [
				None,
				(eListboxPythonMultiContent.TYPE_TEXT, 5, 0, size.width() - 5, size.height(), 0, RT_HALIGN_LEFT | RT_VALIGN_CENTER, timer.name, color, color)
			]
		else:
			if not timer.enabled:
				icon = self.iconDisabled
			else:
				icon = self.iconEnabled
			if timer.justplay:
				rectypeicon = self.iconZapped
			else:
				rectypeicon = self.iconRecording

			channel = []
			if timer.services is not None:
				for t in timer.services:
					channel.append(ServiceReference(t).getServiceName())
			elif timer.bouquets is not None:
				for x in timer.bouquets:
					channel.append(ServiceReference(str(x)).getServiceName().replace('\xc2\x86', '').replace('\xc2\x87', ''))
			if len(channel) > 0:
				channel = ", ".join(channel)
			else:
				channel = _('All channels')
			height = self.l.getItemSize().height()
			width = self.l.getItemSize().width()

Edited by Qu@rk, 26 December 2019 - 12:38.


Re: [AutoTimer] autotimer list - advanced view - Bouquets always "all channels" #2 WanWizard

  • PLi® Core member
  • 68,559 posts

+1,737
Excellent

Posted 26 December 2019 - 15:33

Afaik Autotimer only supports either a list of bouquets, or a list of channels, but not both.


Currently in use: VU+ Duo 4K (2xFBC S2), VU+ Solo 4K (1xFBC S2), uClan Usytm 4K Pro (S2+T2), Octagon SF8008 (S2+T2), Zgemma H9.2H (S2+T2)

Due to my bad health, I will not be very active at times and may be slow to respond. I will not read the forum or PM on a regular basis.

Many answers to your question can be found in our new and improved wiki.


Re: [AutoTimer] autotimer list - advanced view - Bouquets always "all channels" #3 Qu@rk

  • Senior Member
  • 156 posts

+2
Neutral

Posted 26 December 2019 - 15:41

Yes, but if I only select bouquets or one bouquet it should display the bouquet(s). But it always shows "all channels".

It never shows any bouquet even if it is the only selection, it shows always only "all channels". It never finds any bouquet.

So, what's wrong with my configuration?

 

On my old ET9000 with openpli 4 it worked flawlessly.

 

The "elif timer.bouquets is not None:" should be an "if ,,," then both should be joined to the channel list.

But in my configuration it never finds any bouquet.


Edited by Qu@rk, 26 December 2019 - 15:45.


Re: [AutoTimer] autotimer list - advanced view - Bouquets always "all channels" #4 Qu@rk

  • Senior Member
  • 156 posts

+2
Neutral

Posted 26 December 2019 - 17:21

I looked into the sources of AutoTimer of my old ET9000's OpenPLi 4. And there it is, no "elif" it is an "if" so both branches are always checked and appended, channels and bouquets.

 

I changed it in AutoTimerList.py of my PLi 7.2 installation and voila, everything works again as expected, bouquets are visible again.

I tested also without channel filter => "all channels" and with mixed channels and bouquets, all is working fine.

			channel = []
			if timer.services is not None:
				for t in timer.services:
					channel.append(ServiceReference(t).getServiceName())
-			elif timer.bouquets is not None:
+			if timer.bouquets is not None:
				for x in timer.bouquets:
					channel.append(ServiceReference(str(x)).getServiceName().replace('\xc2\x86', '').replace('\xc2\x87', ''))
			if len(channel) > 0:
				channel = ", ".join(channel)
			else:
				channel = _('All channels')



Re: [AutoTimer] autotimer list - advanced view - Bouquets always "all channels" #5 Dimitrij

  • PLi® Core member
  • 9,994 posts

+338
Excellent

Posted 26 December 2019 - 17:39

https://github.com/O...26f3517abc6R620

 

if services are enabled, bouquets are ignored.


Edited by Dimitrij, 26 December 2019 - 17:39.

GigaBlue UHD Quad 4K /Lunix3-4K/Solo 4K


Re: [AutoTimer] autotimer list - advanced view - Bouquets always "all channels" #6 Qu@rk

  • Senior Member
  • 156 posts

+2
Neutral

Posted 26 December 2019 - 17:51

Services means single channel(s)? Right?

 

But it did not work. If no channel was defined also no bouquet was displayed.

 

But why this change? It is absolutely fine to display both, channels and bouquets.

Worked on my ET9000/Pli 4 perfectly for years. 


Edited by Qu@rk, 26 December 2019 - 17:52.


Re: [AutoTimer] autotimer list - advanced view - Bouquets always "all channels" #7 Dimitrij

  • PLi® Core member
  • 9,994 posts

+338
Excellent

Posted 26 December 2019 - 20:32

Qu@rk

I fixed it

[autotimer] fix show bouqets in AutoTimerList


GigaBlue UHD Quad 4K /Lunix3-4K/Solo 4K


Re: [AutoTimer] autotimer list - advanced view - Bouquets always "all channels" #8 WanWizard

  • PLi® Core member
  • 68,559 posts

+1,737
Excellent

Posted 26 December 2019 - 21:04

Merged.


Currently in use: VU+ Duo 4K (2xFBC S2), VU+ Solo 4K (1xFBC S2), uClan Usytm 4K Pro (S2+T2), Octagon SF8008 (S2+T2), Zgemma H9.2H (S2+T2)

Due to my bad health, I will not be very active at times and may be slow to respond. I will not read the forum or PM on a regular basis.

Many answers to your question can be found in our new and improved wiki.


Re: [AutoTimer] autotimer list - advanced view - Bouquets always "all channels" #9 Dimitrij

  • PLi® Core member
  • 9,994 posts

+338
Excellent

Posted 26 December 2019 - 21:05

thanks


GigaBlue UHD Quad 4K /Lunix3-4K/Solo 4K


Re: [AutoTimer] autotimer list - advanced view - Bouquets always "all channels" #10 Qu@rk

  • Senior Member
  • 156 posts

+2
Neutral

Posted 26 December 2019 - 22:27

I can not understand why services (channels) and bouquets are not allowed to be displayed at the same time.

It was perfect as it was with my old ET9000.

Why not showing both?

 

If one autotimer should search a bouquet and additionally some channels of another bouquet you will not see it in the advanced autotimer-view.

Why exclude bouquets when channels are defined?



Re: [AutoTimer] autotimer list - advanced view - Bouquets always "all channels" #11 Dimitrij

  • PLi® Core member
  • 9,994 posts

+338
Excellent

Posted 27 December 2019 - 06:34

This decision was made a long time ago so that there would be no problems in the search.
Or services or bouquets.
Just add the necessary service to the desired bouquet.
This is not a matter of dispute.

GigaBlue UHD Quad 4K /Lunix3-4K/Solo 4K


Re: [AutoTimer] autotimer list - advanced view - Bouquets always "all channels" #12 Qu@rk

  • Senior Member
  • 156 posts

+2
Neutral

Posted 27 December 2019 - 06:35


@Dimitrij

I am sure you have meant it well by introducing new markers [S] and [B] to identify services and bouquets in the list.

Please remove that, it is totally confusing. If someone configures autotimers with services (channels) and bouquets he will know what the names for services and bouquets are standing for.

With additional [B] and [S] the view will be extremely confusing and overloaded. I thought about that myself by marking only bouquets by enclosing them with square brackets, for example [bouquet]. But maybe that's also confusing.

As said, it was meant well, but it is extremely confusing and overloading.

 

Please consider to display services AND bouquets at the same time.

It makes no sense to hide bouquets if services are defined.

The advanced view should provide all the information to decide if an autotimer was correctly configured.

 

For example:

You have a free-TV bouquet and a pay-TV bouquet.

You are a nerd and would like to record all documentaries containing "Albert Einstein" in the title.

On free-TV all channels could provide these documentaries, so you use the bouquet.

On pay-TV only the documentary channels (Discovery, National Geographic etc.) make sense to include but not the movie or sports channels.

 

If you wanted to check the correct settings for your autotimer "Albert Einstein" you would like to see the bouquet and the channels in the advanced view, not only the channels because that was wrong.

 

It is only a view and has no effects on anything else.


Edited by Qu@rk, 27 December 2019 - 06:36.


Re: [AutoTimer] autotimer list - advanced view - Bouquets always "all channels" #13 Dimitrij

  • PLi® Core member
  • 9,994 posts

+338
Excellent

Posted 27 December 2019 - 06:42

 

Please consider to display services AND bouquets at the same time.

This makes no sense.
If you assigned at least one channel, then any bouquets will not be taken into account in the search.


GigaBlue UHD Quad 4K /Lunix3-4K/Solo 4K


Re: [AutoTimer] autotimer list - advanced view - Bouquets always "all channels" #14 Qu@rk

  • Senior Member
  • 156 posts

+2
Neutral

Posted 27 December 2019 - 06:56

Oh, now I understand.

That's totally illogical and limits the autotimer functionality drastically as mentioned in my example.

You would have to create two autotimers, one for the bouquet and one for the additional channels.

That would be ok if there were a hint in the GUI that makes that clearer.

 

An undocumented limitation not supported by the logic of the autotimer configuration GUI.

A decission that makes things far more complicated for the user

It would be better to correct the search to support bouquets and channels.

Or adapt the GUI logic so the user can easily see that channels excludes bouquets.

 

Please don't misunderstand me. I appreciate your work very much, but some things are really misleading.
 

Thank you very much. Now it is clearer.


Edited by Qu@rk, 27 December 2019 - 07:00.


Re: [AutoTimer] autotimer list - advanced view - Bouquets always "all channels" #15 Qu@rk

  • Senior Member
  • 156 posts

+2
Neutral

Posted 27 December 2019 - 07:04

Sorry if my comment sounded a bit harsh. That's not how I meant it.

But at a later time maybe you find a way to make that limitation/exclusion clearer in the auto timer settings menu. That's not an easy task.

Thanks again.



Re: [AutoTimer] autotimer list - advanced view - Bouquets always "all channels" #16 Dimitrij

  • PLi® Core member
  • 9,994 posts

+338
Excellent

Posted 27 December 2019 - 07:58

 

But at a later time maybe you find a way to make that limitation/exclusion clearer in the auto timer settings menu. That's not an easy task.

Thanks again.

There is an explanation:

 

self.isActive_bouquets: _("Use blue key to edit bouquets or services.") + _(" (if services are enabled, bouquets are ignored)."),

self.isActive_services: _("Use blue key to edit bouquets or services.") + _(" (if services are enabled, bouquets are ignored.)."),

Edited by Dimitrij, 27 December 2019 - 08:00.

GigaBlue UHD Quad 4K /Lunix3-4K/Solo 4K


Re: [AutoTimer] autotimer list - advanced view - Bouquets always "all channels" #17 Dimitrij

  • PLi® Core member
  • 9,994 posts

+338
Excellent

Posted 27 December 2019 - 08:15

I can reconsider the logic, if necessary.


GigaBlue UHD Quad 4K /Lunix3-4K/Solo 4K


Re: [AutoTimer] autotimer list - advanced view - Bouquets always "all channels" #18 Qu@rk

  • Senior Member
  • 156 posts

+2
Neutral

Posted 27 December 2019 - 09:11

That would be nice. It can be very confusing for users who do not know this.

 

I can remember that I stumbled over that limitation/exclusion a long time ago and wondered why the added bouquet was not used/was ignored (no search results), while also using services (channels).

I assumed this would be a bug and created two autotimers. Now I know better.

 

Maybe you find a good way to explain it to users who do not know about that limitation. Thanks.


Edited by Qu@rk, 27 December 2019 - 09:11.


Re: [AutoTimer] autotimer list - advanced view - Bouquets always "all channels" #19 Dimitrij

  • PLi® Core member
  • 9,994 posts

+338
Excellent

Posted 31 December 2019 - 13:32

[autotimer] revert - if service filter enabled the bouquet filter ign…


GigaBlue UHD Quad 4K /Lunix3-4K/Solo 4K


Re: [AutoTimer] autotimer list - advanced view - Bouquets always "all channels" #20 Qu@rk

  • Senior Member
  • 156 posts

+2
Neutral

Posted 31 December 2019 - 14:59

Thank you. Fine work.

 

Please do not ignore my suggestion to remove the new [S] and [B] markers again. These are not needed!

 

Did you try that by yourself with more than one service/channel?

 

If you have several channels selected it is totally confusing, so many [S].

Now with bouquets and services/channels active at the same time (which is great), it is even more overloaded.

 

My suggestion is to remove the [S] and [B] markers.

 

Another solution would be, to enclose only bouquets in brackets like [my bouquet] and leave the services/channels without markers.

 

Please try this by yourself. Your solution looks very overloaded. Thanks.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users