Editors and Patching

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 flipit

• 5 posts

Neutral

Posted 30 December 2009 - 12:03

Hi,
I'm a little new to this so apologies if this question seems a little naive.

I'd like to start making some 'test' patches to the OpenPLI code to start getting a feel for how things work with the plan to take on a few tickets and help out. I can build a images and know my way around linux based systems reasonable well, but I'm learning python and C++.

So here goes.

Q1. What editor recommendation do you have for making changes to OpenPLI (Ubuntu Jaunty)

Q2. Creating patches. OK, of course I can just go into /build/work and change file with a standard text editor, but what's the proper way or at least preferred way?

I guess I should be creating a copy of the file I intend to change from /Source folders and then use diff / quilt ? to create a *.patch. How ? Then how do I get bitbake to include the patch ?

Thanks.

Flipit

Re: Editors and Patching #2 pieterg

• PLi® Core member
  • 32,766 posts

+245
Excellent

Posted 30 December 2009 - 13:31

Q2: just use git.
Clone our repository, make changes, commit them locally, and you will be able to generate patches from the commits (git format-patch), or just make your repository public.
Try to rebase all the time, so your changes stay on top of our stuff.

Re: Editors and Patching #3 flipit

• 5 posts

Neutral

Posted 30 December 2009 - 13:54

Thanks. I'd just started reading the git manual after I posted (never know which manual to read first !). I'll need to do a bit more reading on git I think.

Couple more questions if I may ?

The Openpli makefile does a git clone of /openembedded so I'm guessing I don't need to make another git clone. I just need to commit the changes locally and (git format patch)

If I want to create a local branch (experimental) how do I get bitbake to build from the experimental rather then master ? (I'm reading git manual but it's taking time)