Jump to content


Photo

editing at source?


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 digidude

  • Senior Member
  • 136 posts

+10
Neutral

Posted 14 January 2012 - 23:15

im quite new to all of this, but i have managed to sucessfully compile an image for each of the receivers that i own, so im really happy with that :)

im now trying to change small things at source level, the 'busy' spinner for example

i know that once the image is flashed, that i can FTP into the receiver, and change the files, restart, and job done, i also know that i can download a plugin that will also do this for me

through playing with the compiling process, i know that i can add ipk packages to the build process, and theyll be included in the final image, so i tried to make my own ipk containing the .png from a spinner changing plugin that i downloaded, to change the spinner by default within the image

but it failed to compile
so i remade the ipk, with a script, to first remove the *.png files from the spinner folder, before the compile process then unpacked my own ipk created from the png files extracted from the plugin, but again, this failed

for little things like this, could someone please guide me in the right direction. ive searched for wait1.png to try and locate where they may be initially stored, ive looked through folders and file systems

ive lost count of the number of times if tried to change something that i thought may be in the right direction, to end up having to delete EVERYTHING and start again

i can compile a perfect openPLi image, i just cant edit anything in it so that its included after compiling

any help would be brill

:)

DMM 2x 500s, 2x 7020Si, 600s, 800s, 500HD.


Technomate 500, 500Super, 600, 9100, 800HD, 500HD, TWIN-OE, 2T-OE, Single-OE, NANO-OE. (& all non linux)


Vu+ Duo and others :)

ALL originals, a clone free environment.

 

www.technomatesoftware.co.uk


Re: editing at source? #2 Hejira

  • Member
  • 22 posts

+2
Neutral

Posted 11 February 2012 - 08:50

Did you manage to get any further digi?

I've been playing around with my dm600 again, still a novice myself but I might be able to offer some basic help.


Hej

Re: editing at source? #3 digidude

  • Senior Member
  • 136 posts

+10
Neutral

Posted 17 February 2012 - 21:19

no m8, i didnt get very far

DMM 2x 500s, 2x 7020Si, 600s, 800s, 500HD.


Technomate 500, 500Super, 600, 9100, 800HD, 500HD, TWIN-OE, 2T-OE, Single-OE, NANO-OE. (& all non linux)


Vu+ Duo and others :)

ALL originals, a clone free environment.

 

www.technomatesoftware.co.uk


Re: editing at source? #4 rossi2000

  • Senior Member
  • 45 posts

+5
Neutral

Posted 18 February 2012 - 20:26

i used to do the ipk way before i sussed more bits out.
edit the enigma2.bb to do it.:-

in your recipes folder, there is an enigma2 folder
inside this create another enigma2 folder
inside here create a folder for the box your making the image for, (eg dm800se)
put your spinner pngs into here.

now edit the enigma2.bb and add these sections:-

this section i add under this line
RADIOMVI = "${@base_contains("MACHINE_FEATURES", "hdtv", "radio-hd.mvi" , "radio-sd.mvi", d)}"



SRC_URI_append_dm800se = " \
file://wait1.png \
file://wait2.png \
file://wait3.png \
file://wait4.png \
file://wait5.png \
file://wait6.png \
file://wait7.png \
file://wait8.png \
"

then add this under this line:
addtask openpli_preinstall after do_compile before do_install


do_compile_prepend_dm800se() {
install -m 0644 ${WORKDIR}/wait1.png ${S}/data/skin_default/spinner
install -m 0644 ${WORKDIR}/wait2.png ${S}/data/skin_default/spinner
install -m 0644 ${WORKDIR}/wait3.png ${S}/data/skin_default/spinner
install -m 0644 ${WORKDIR}/wait4.png ${S}/data/skin_default/spinner
install -m 0644 ${WORKDIR}/wait5.png ${S}/data/skin_default/spinner
install -m 0644 ${WORKDIR}/wait6.png ${S}/data/skin_default/spinner
install -m 0644 ${WORKDIR}/wait7.png ${S}/data/skin_default/spinner
install -m 0644 ${WORKDIR}/wait8.png ${S}/data/skin_default/spinner

obviously edit it with how ever many spinner files u have.


now go into your build-dm800se dir and do

source env.source
then
bitbake -c clean enigma2
once this is done
bitbake openpli-enigma2-image

hopefully now your new image will have your spinners in place.

Re: editing at source? #5 Hejira

  • Member
  • 22 posts

+2
Neutral

Posted 19 February 2012 - 18:30

Yes that's basically the approach I've taken to add files, I have also created a new .bb in say dreambox, dreambox-mybb.bb and include dreambox-mybb ref in dreambox-image to achieve the same.

It can be a bit frustrating but once you get to grips with how bitbake works it starts to make more sense and is very rewarding to get your edited image out at the end.no matter how small the change :)

Re: editing at source? #6 digidude

  • Senior Member
  • 136 posts

+10
Neutral

Posted 2 March 2012 - 20:09

i will certainly give this a go. ive learned through trial and error, google, and helpfull people like yourselfs how to do all of this, but, initially, i started 'learning' on source code for technomate linux receivers, so everything i know, is wrong

for example

i used to be able to run an initial compile for a standard image, and let it do its thing and spit out a completed image. i could then delete the completed image, doctor the 'rootfs' filesystem and edit it how i wanted, then just 'build' a new image from the modified rootfs filesystem, which would then contain all of my changes

i can see that a rootfs filesystem is created when compiling with openPLi, is there a way to not run the entire process, but only 'build' the image from that rootfs filesystem that is created during compiling?

DMM 2x 500s, 2x 7020Si, 600s, 800s, 500HD.


Technomate 500, 500Super, 600, 9100, 800HD, 500HD, TWIN-OE, 2T-OE, Single-OE, NANO-OE. (& all non linux)


Vu+ Duo and others :)

ALL originals, a clone free environment.

 

www.technomatesoftware.co.uk


Re: editing at source? #7 pieterg

  • PLi® Core member
  • 32,766 posts

+245
Excellent

Posted 2 March 2012 - 20:52

not unless you go into the internals of bitbake, and issue the command to build the image from the rootfs.
Don't know by head, as I've never had the need to do this, you'll have to look in the bitbake code.

Re: editing at source? #8 digidude

  • Senior Member
  • 136 posts

+10
Neutral

Posted 2 March 2012 - 21:29

i would be interested in this pieterg, do you know where i would need to start looking? all of these .bb files are completley new to how ive always done things

DMM 2x 500s, 2x 7020Si, 600s, 800s, 500HD.


Technomate 500, 500Super, 600, 9100, 800HD, 500HD, TWIN-OE, 2T-OE, Single-OE, NANO-OE. (& all non linux)


Vu+ Duo and others :)

ALL originals, a clone free environment.

 

www.technomatesoftware.co.uk


Re: editing at source? #9 pieterg

  • PLi® Core member
  • 32,766 posts

+245
Excellent

Posted 2 March 2012 - 21:55

you'd have to look in the bitbake sourcecode, which is in the bitbake subdir in your build root.
Or look for command/function names, in image.bbclass

Re: editing at source? #10 Hejira

  • Member
  • 22 posts

+2
Neutral

Posted 3 March 2012 - 00:32

Your not alone m8 I had no knowledge before purchasing my DM600

I've only built for the 600 @ the mo and I found infomation confusing @ the begining as 500 builds different n that's what most info refered to being the more popular box.

I can only speak of my experience with the DM600PVR enviroment but I believe bitbake is basicallt the same for the e2 builds.

You can build an individual component as per the example by rossi, this will compile just enigma2 then recompile your new image including your new enigma2, everything else is untouched from your original build and the rebuild is much quicker.

If you can edit sources or add whatever files you need during this process I'm unsure what benefit you would achieve digging so deep, Just interested what your trying to do?

Re: editing at source? #11 digidude

  • Senior Member
  • 136 posts

+10
Neutral

Posted 3 March 2012 - 10:52

i guess im looking for the quickest way to edit as i know how to, then rebuild from the rootfs structure. i can see that everything is first made into numerous (3541) ipk files, these are then unpacked into the rootfs file structure, and this rootfs file structure is then compressed (?) into the final image

im looking for the point where the rootfs structure is finished being built by all of the ipk files, and the actual process of creating the final image from the rootfs begins

the end aim being, i run a compile, i then edit the created rootfs, then rebuild the image from the rootfs

enigma etc wouldnt need to be rebuilt, only the image created

DMM 2x 500s, 2x 7020Si, 600s, 800s, 500HD.


Technomate 500, 500Super, 600, 9100, 800HD, 500HD, TWIN-OE, 2T-OE, Single-OE, NANO-OE. (& all non linux)


Vu+ Duo and others :)

ALL originals, a clone free environment.

 

www.technomatesoftware.co.uk


Re: editing at source? #12 Hejira

  • Member
  • 22 posts

+2
Neutral

Posted 3 March 2012 - 18:36

OK I think I understand, So you've built your inital image, you have your set of files that you wish to inject into the image, you want the quickest way to do this instead of ftping all the files to your image and doing a backup.

If this is basically what your saying, I don't see this being a very different method from the example by rossi and basically the approach I take. I must say without the help and examples from @pcd n his E2 build for MY DM600 I would probably still be struggling myself.

Please bare in mind I'm no Expert, but thinking aloud this would be my basic approach.

1. Create Build enviroment, do initial build

2. Create a folder with all files to be injected copy to /build/tmp/work

3. Create new .bb file eg: dreambox-mybb.bb which details final file locations (as rossi ex) place in /packages/dreambox

4. Edit /packages/images dreambox-image.bb n add dreambox-mybb.bb


Then:

source ./env.source

bitbake dreambox-image

This should rebuild image but only needs to build dreambox-mybb.bb injecting your files n takes very little time. Also you have a template reducing time when amending your changes.

I believe my thinking is sound but would welcome any comments



Hej


3 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 3 guests, 0 anonymous users