Jump to content


Photo

What about translated EPG?

epg google translate

  • Please log in to reply
28 replies to this topic

Re: What about translated EPG? #21 Rob van der Does

  • Senior Member
  • 7,732 posts

+184
Excellent

Posted 23 May 2015 - 06:56

Another option; maybe there could be "epg.dat" file downloader plugin and you download the imported data directly in a few seconds. People can import and serve in that way. Like I said before; French, German, Italian, Polish and Spanish EPGs would cover the whole 13 and 19.2 channels. I believe more than half of the users would only need those EPGs translated in English. Other languages? There could be other server guys who can cover them too.

That will not work, as that file is only read on E2-start. And once E2 is alive, all EPG is in RAM.
Apart from that, translating that file could only work for existing (old) data, not for any data that is being received later (upon tuning).
And thirdly: Now/Next is separate data, that will never be in EPG.dat

Re: What about translated EPG? #22 dizzynonun

  • Member
  • 17 posts

0
Neutral

Posted 25 May 2015 - 12:17

 

Another option; maybe there could be "epg.dat" file downloader plugin and you download the imported data directly in a few seconds. People can import and serve in that way. Like I said before; French, German, Italian, Polish and Spanish EPGs would cover the whole 13 and 19.2 channels. I believe more than half of the users would only need those EPGs translated in English. Other languages? There could be other server guys who can cover them too.

That will not work, as that file is only read on E2-start. And once E2 is alive, all EPG is in RAM.
Apart from that, translating that file could only work for existing (old) data, not for any data that is being received later (upon tuning).
And thirdly: Now/Next is separate data, that will never be in EPG.dat

 

 

Why not? Once you download the file -preferably to a hd- and powercycle the box (turn off from the switch and turn back on), it will read the downloaded epg.dat and it will work. Second thing you say doesn't make sense, since translated data is already imported to a epg.dat by the serving person. And for the third; I don't understand, what is in epg.dat then?



Re: What about translated EPG? #23 Rob van der Does

  • Senior Member
  • 7,732 posts

+184
Excellent

Posted 25 May 2015 - 14:24

 

 

Another option; maybe there could be "epg.dat" file downloader plugin and you download the imported data directly in a few seconds. People can import and serve in that way. Like I said before; French, German, Italian, Polish and Spanish EPGs would cover the whole 13 and 19.2 channels. I believe more than half of the users would only need those EPGs translated in English. Other languages? There could be other server guys who can cover them too.

That will not work, as that file is only read on E2-start. And once E2 is alive, all EPG is in RAM.
Apart from that, translating that file could only work for existing (old) data, not for any data that is being received later (upon tuning).
And thirdly: Now/Next is separate data, that will never be in EPG.dat

 

 
Why not? Once you download the file -preferably to a hd- and powercycle the box (turn off from the switch and turn back on), it will read the downloaded epg.dat and it will work. Second thing you say doesn't make sense, since translated data is already imported to a epg.dat by the serving person. And for the third; I don't understand, what is in epg.dat then?

 

a- Powercycling is not enoug, as the existing epg.dat will then be overwritten by the epg data from RAM. But even if it would, the data will be overwritten again by data that is received from the transponder.
b- Now/Next is seperate data; that is a seperate set on the transponder and will never be included in the epg.dat. Now/Next will prevail over existing (old) EPG data.



Re: What about translated EPG? #24 dizzynonun

  • Member
  • 17 posts

0
Neutral

Posted 25 May 2015 - 18:44

 

a- Powercycling is not enoug, as the existing epg.dat will then be overwritten by the epg data from RAM. But even if it would, the data will be overwritten again by data that is received from the transponder.
b- Now/Next is seperate data; that is a seperate set on the transponder and will never be included in the epg.dat. Now/Next will prevail over existing (old) EPG data.

 

a- When you powercycle, no data from RAM will be written. And on the boot, downloaded epg.dat will be read and loaded to RAM. I see no data from transponder is written when I boot my box.

b- If it is so, how do we get epg.dat loaded properly after normally booting or powercycling the box?

 

i'm pretty sure if i send you my epg.dat and you overwrite it to your box's default epg.dat and powercycle your device, you will get my epg.dat loaded on the same channels you have. i tested it. please you test it too, before speculating.



Re: What about translated EPG? #25 Rob van der Does

  • Senior Member
  • 7,732 posts

+184
Excellent

Posted 25 May 2015 - 19:14

There is no speculating involved.

You can do this, but then you have to stop e2 (init4) before uploading the new file and start E2 again (init3). Only then your new file will be in RAM.

 

I guess you don't know the difference between Now/Next EPG data and 'normal'EPG data.



Re: What about translated EPG? #26 dizzynonun

  • Member
  • 17 posts

0
Neutral

Posted 26 May 2015 - 18:58

so it means that, what i suggested would absolutely work and these last 5-6 messages are unnecessary conversation.

 

anyway if people serve epg.dat files compiled with translated data, it will absolutely work on other people's boxes. just a few seconds of download and a powercycle; way better than epgimport and epg translate plugins combined...



Re: What about translated EPG? #27 Rob van der Does

  • Senior Member
  • 7,732 posts

+184
Excellent

Posted 26 May 2015 - 19:46

Pfffftttt, I tried to explain that it will not work.

What did I not make clear?



Re: What about translated EPG? #28 sandman_1983

  • Senior Member
  • 64 posts

+4
Neutral

Posted 28 August 2017 - 13:18

how do you resize the icon flags , I tried to resize the icons in the folder and then edit the plugin.pyo file by changing the numeral value of the icons to the same size of the images , but the plugin disappears from the list on the box



Re: What about translated EPG? #29 Rob van der Does

  • Senior Member
  • 7,732 posts

+184
Excellent

Posted 28 August 2017 - 15:08

I'm stil interested to know how to delete the paypall-asking.

BTW: The author lives on http://www.kashmir-plugins.de/







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: epg, google translate

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users