Jump to content


Photo

Audio channel selection not working

audio channel stereo left right

  • Please log in to reply
43 replies to this topic

#1 nautilus7

  • PLi® Contributor
  • 167 posts

+2
Neutral

Posted 5 September 2015 - 15:16

Hi, I have an xtrend 4000 with openpli 4.0 image.

 

I want to listen to the left or right channel of a service, but it doesn't work. I press the yellow button, the audio menu pops up, then I press the green button to select left, right or stereo, but nothing is changed. Both channels are keep playing!

 

The service I am trying to listen has mpeg audio. Does it only work with ac3 audio? My receiver is connected via hdmi to a samsung 2014 tv model.

 

 

Thanks.


Edited by nautilus, 5 September 2015 - 15:16.


Re: Audio channel selection not working #2 nautilus7

  • PLi® Contributor
  • 167 posts

+2
Neutral

Posted 6 September 2015 - 23:50

Any feedback on this? Does it work for you?



Re: Audio channel selection not working #3 littlesat

  • PLi® Core member
  • 50,765 posts

+564
Excellent

Posted 7 September 2015 - 06:58

Here no issue at all with an xt et 10k....

WaveFrontier 28.2E | 23.5E | 19.2E | 16E | 13E | 10/9E | 7E | 5E | 1W | 4/5W | 15W


Re: Audio channel selection not working #4 betacentauri

  • PLi® Core member
  • 5,915 posts

+263
Excellent

Posted 7 September 2015 - 07:35

Is it a recording or a media file like avi, mkv,...?
Xtrend ET-9200, ET-8000, ET-10000, OpenPliPC on Ubuntu 12.04

Re: Audio channel selection not working #5 Trial

  • Senior Member
  • 1,004 posts

+30
Good

Posted 7 September 2015 - 08:15

Hi,

I think that both speaker are playing is normal but when you switch on left/right only you only get a mono signal. It is intended for such funny channel that play dubbed audio on left and original audio on right. When stereo is send it is hard to tell if it is working.

 

ciao



Re: Audio channel selection not working #6 nautilus7

  • PLi® Contributor
  • 167 posts

+2
Neutral

Posted 7 September 2015 - 10:19

Hi,

 

It's a satelite feed.

It has one language in left channel and another in the right channel. It's very easy to tell if it's working or not, because whatever I select (left, right, stereo) I still hear both languages.



Re: Audio channel selection not working #7 Robinson

  • Senior Member
  • 2,519 posts

+30
Good

Posted 7 September 2015 - 10:39

Are you sure the service has 2 separate audio tracks on LEFT and RIGHT?

How did you check that? Does it work correctly on another system?


ET9000, OpenPLi 4.0, 13E, 19E

HD51, OpenPLi 6.2, 75E - 30W


Re: Audio channel selection not working #8 nautilus7

  • PLi® Contributor
  • 167 posts

+2
Neutral

Posted 7 September 2015 - 10:56

It should have. I'll check in pc (via streaming) later today.



Re: Audio channel selection not working #9 Trial

  • Senior Member
  • 1,004 posts

+30
Good

Posted 7 September 2015 - 12:02

Hi,

if it is working on PC perhaps tell us the feed.

 

I know some channel which mixed the dubbed version on top of the original version and then it could not be separated.

 

ciao



Re: Audio channel selection not working #10 nautilus7

  • PLi® Contributor
  • 167 posts

+2
Neutral

Posted 7 September 2015 - 16:39

Hi, tried again today with few other feeds and everything is working as it should.

 

Can't tell what was wrong, but it's not the first time that I wasn't able to select left or right channel only. Maybe the audio in the feed was indeed wrong and they had both languages in both channels, so there was not possible to hear only one or the other. Next time I'll come across this issue I'll make sure I test in pc aswell, or even make a recording to analyze its audio.

 

 

Thanks guys for your time!



Re: Audio channel selection not working #11 Trial

  • Senior Member
  • 1,004 posts

+30
Good

Posted 7 September 2015 - 19:12

Hi,

recording would be good.

 

ciao



Re: Audio channel selection not working #12 nautilus7

  • PLi® Contributor
  • 167 posts

+2
Neutral

Posted 8 September 2015 - 22:43

Hi again,

 

I came across a sat feed today that again I couldn't choose left or right audio channel in my xtrend 4000. PC playback via streaming or directly via a recording a made is working correctly, so there is a problem indeed.

 

Analyzing the audio from a wokring recording I made yesterday and a not working from today in mediainfo I found a difference which might cause this behaviour. Have a look;

Audio #1
ID                                       : 4112 (0x1010)
Menu ID                                  : 1 (0x1)
Format                                   : MPEG Audio
Format version                           : Version 1
Format profile                           : Layer 2
Mode                                     : Dual mono
Codec ID                                 : 3
Duration                                 : 28s 632ms
Bit rate mode                            : Constant
Bit rate                                 : 384 Kbps
Channel(s)                               : 2 channels
Sampling rate                            : 48.0 KHz
Compression mode                         : Lossy
Delay relative to video                  : -391ms
Stream size                              : 1.31 MiB (2%)
Language                                 : English
Audio #1
ID                                       : 4112 (0x1010)
Menu ID                                  : 1 (0x1)
Format                                   : MPEG Audio
Format version                           : Version 1
Format profile                           : Layer 2
Codec ID                                 : 3
Duration                                 : 1mn 26s
Bit rate mode                            : Constant
Bit rate                                 : 384 Kbps
Channel(s)                               : 2 channels
Sampling rate                            : 48.0 KHz
Compression mode                         : Lossy
Delay relative to video                  : -448ms
Stream size                              : 3.95 MiB (2%)

As you can see, the stream in which audio channel switch is working is declared as dual mono, while the non working is not. Can't tell if this is always the case though. Perhaps the cause is something else.

 

I am currently uploading a non working recording (from which the 2nd mediainfo comes from). I'll post the link when is done (~200MB).


Edited by nautilus, 8 September 2015 - 22:44.


Re: Audio channel selection not working #13 nautilus7

  • PLi® Contributor
  • 167 posts

+2
Neutral

Posted 8 September 2015 - 23:09

Here is the link of the non working file: https://drive.google...iew?usp=sharing

 

It's from eurobasket. Audio track 1 is stereo with no commentary, track 2 is english (left) and greek (right), track 3 is greek (left) and nothing (right).

 

(it was FTA, for those wondering)


Edited by nautilus, 8 September 2015 - 23:13.


Re: Audio channel selection not working #14 janejak

  • Senior Member
  • 283 posts

+11
Neutral

Posted 8 September 2015 - 23:19

whis satelite is this happen on and transponder?



Re: Audio channel selection not working #15 nautilus7

  • PLi® Contributor
  • 167 posts

+2
Neutral

Posted 8 September 2015 - 23:23

Does it matter which sat is it? The feed is not active now. 12,5W, I don't remember transponder.



Re: Audio channel selection not working #16 janejak

  • Senior Member
  • 283 posts

+11
Neutral

Posted 8 September 2015 - 23:48

i have checked this file on my box

audio1 stereo ok

audio2 left ok right ok

audio3 left ok right ok no sound

audio4 no sound

when i select left ore right i get only one sound no doble sound

and this satelite i can`t sheck on it it out of my range


Edited by janejak, 8 September 2015 - 23:49.


Re: Audio channel selection not working #17 nautilus7

  • PLi® Contributor
  • 167 posts

+2
Neutral

Posted 8 September 2015 - 23:51

So, in other words it works for your box in media player, right? What box is it?



Re: Audio channel selection not working #18 nautilus7

  • PLi® Contributor
  • 167 posts

+2
Neutral

Posted 9 September 2015 - 18:59

I did found more feeds that exhibt the same problem. I can say now that those where channel selection works have audio marked as dual mono and also have the track language set, while those not working are not dual mono tracks and don't have a languge set.

 

Any comment?



Re: Audio channel selection not working #19 nautilus7

  • PLi® Contributor
  • 167 posts

+2
Neutral

Posted 13 September 2015 - 17:38

AUDIO CHANNEL SELECTION IS BROKEN IN XTREND 4000

 

AS I REPORTED SEVERAL DAYS AGO THIS FEATURE IS NOT WORKING IN XTREND 4000 (AT LEAST). I HAVE TESTED WITH NUMEROUS SAT FEEDS AND NUMEROUS REGULAR CHANNELS. NOTHING WORKS. IT DOES NOT WORK IN MOVIE PLAYER EITHER. AND OF COURSE THOSE FEEDS OR CHANNELS WORK FINE IN PC VIA STREAMING.

 

AUDIO CHANNEL SELECTION WORKS ONLY IF THE AUDIO IS MARKED AS DUAL MONO, WHICH DOES NOT MAKE ANY SENSE. IT SHOULD WORK WHATEVER THE AUDIO IS.

 

I HAVE POSTED A NON WORKING SAMPLE BUT NO ONE IS WILLING TO FIX THIS...



Re: Audio channel selection not working #20 hemertje

  • Forum Moderator
    PLi® Core member
  • 33,023 posts

+116
Excellent

Posted 13 September 2015 - 19:09

YOU DONT NEED TO SHOUT!!!!


on the Glassfibre 1GB DVB-C...






Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: audio, channel, stereo, left, right

1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users