Jump to content


Photo

HDMI output missing after updating


  • Please log in to reply
68 replies to this topic

Re: HDMI output missing after updating #21 WanWizard

  • PLi® Core member
  • 70,453 posts

+1,809
Excellent

Posted 25 September 2015 - 18:05

I don't see anything in that commit that would cause a change of the display string?


Currently in use: VU+ Duo 4K (2xFBC S2), VU+ Solo 4K (1xFBC S2), uClan Usytm 4K Ultimate (S2+T2), Octagon SF8008 (S2+T2), Zgemma H9.2H (S2+T2)

Due to my bad health, I will not be very active at times and may be slow to respond. I will not read the forum or PM on a regular basis.

Many answers to your question can be found in our new and improved wiki.


Re: HDMI output missing after updating #22 blzr

  • PLi® Core member
  • 2,270 posts

+118
Excellent

Posted 25 September 2015 - 18:10

well, after reverting changes to VidroHardwre.py and HardwareInfo.py, voila:

Attached Files

  • Attached File  hdmi.jpg   47.47KB   7 downloads

True sarcasm doesn't need green font...

Re: HDMI output missing after updating #23 athoik

  • PLi® Core member
  • 8,458 posts

+327
Excellent

Posted 25 September 2015 - 18:22

well, I'm pretty sure it's been displayed correctly - HDMI port for boxes that have it...
after taking a look in latest commits, this is my first suspect:
https://github.com/O...e2799a6760f9715

(changes in VideoHardware.py and HardwareInfo.py)


I don't see anything in that commit that would cause a change of the display string?


There is a logic error when checking model.
 
#echo "my super box" > /tmp/hwmodel
#python

>>> device_name = "???"
>>>
>>> try:
...     device_name = open("/tmp/hwmodel").read().strip()
...     print "hwmodel"
... except:
...     print "pass"
...     pass
... else:
...     device_name = open("/tmp/model").read().strip()
...     print "model"
...
hwmodel
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "<stdin>", line 8, in <module>
IOError: [Errno 2] No such file or directory: '/tmp/model'
>>> print device_name
my super box
So the else part executes when there is no exception (http://stackoverflow.com/a/16138256)!

Anyway I think commit needs improvements to meet OpenPLi standards...

Edited by athoik, 25 September 2015 - 18:23.

Wavefield T90: 0.8W - 1.9E - 4.8E - 13E - 16E - 19.2E - 23.5E - 26E - 33E - 39E - 42E - 45E on EMP Centauri DiseqC 16/1
Unamed: 13E Quattro - 9E Quattro on IKUSI MS-0916

Re: HDMI output missing after updating #24 athoik

  • PLi® Core member
  • 8,458 posts

+327
Excellent

Posted 25 September 2015 - 18:52

I suggest to use something like the folowing:

SystemInfo["ScartYPbPr"] = not fileExists("/proc/stb/info/hwmodel") and not HardwareInfo().get_device_model() == "fusionhd"
By checking the get_device_model we don't need the following:

 		# Name ... bit odd, but history prevails
 		try:
-			self.device_name = open("/proc/stb/info/model").read().strip()
+			self.device_name = open("/proc/stb/info/hwmodel").read().strip()
 		except:
 			pass
+		else:
+			self.device_name = open("/proc/stb/info/model").read().strip()

Wavefield T90: 0.8W - 1.9E - 4.8E - 13E - 16E - 19.2E - 23.5E - 26E - 33E - 39E - 42E - 45E on EMP Centauri DiseqC 16/1
Unamed: 13E Quattro - 9E Quattro on IKUSI MS-0916

Re: HDMI output missing after updating #25 pop_eye

  • Senior Member
  • 240 posts

+9
Neutral

Posted 25 September 2015 - 19:08

 		# Name ... bit odd, but history prevails
 		try:
-			self.device_name = open("/proc/stb/info/model").read().strip()
+			self.device_name = open("/proc/stb/info/hwmodel").read().strip()
 		except:
 			pass
+		else:
+			self.device_name = open("/proc/stb/info/model").read().strip()

I think the original logic was that the following is needed for all boxes:

 

self.device_name = open("/proc/stb/info/model").read().strip()

 

Not sure why fusionhd needed to rename this.


Edited by pop_eye, 25 September 2015 - 19:12.


Re: HDMI output missing after updating #26 athoik

  • PLi® Core member
  • 8,458 posts

+327
Excellent

Posted 25 September 2015 - 19:13

I think the original logic was that the following is needed for all boxes:
 
self.device_name = open("/proc/stb/info/model").read().strip()
 
Not sure why fusionhd needed to rename this.


Actually when model proc entry didn't exist there was no problem (pass in except), now it will fail!

Edited by athoik, 25 September 2015 - 19:13.

Wavefield T90: 0.8W - 1.9E - 4.8E - 13E - 16E - 19.2E - 23.5E - 26E - 33E - 39E - 42E - 45E on EMP Centauri DiseqC 16/1
Unamed: 13E Quattro - 9E Quattro on IKUSI MS-0916

Re: HDMI output missing after updating #27 pop_eye

  • Senior Member
  • 240 posts

+9
Neutral

Posted 25 September 2015 - 19:17

But we need the proc entry to identify the receiver model...



Re: HDMI output missing after updating #28 pop_eye

  • Senior Member
  • 240 posts

+9
Neutral

Posted 25 September 2015 - 19:26

Actually is used for finding the device name which is passed then to find the model.

 

if self.device_model is None:
            self.device_model = self.device_name

        # HDMI capbility
        self.device_hdmi = (    self.device_name == 'dm7020hd' or
                    self.device_name == 'dm800se' or
                    self.device_name == 'dm500hd' or
                    (self.device_name == 'dm8000' and self.device_version != None))

        print "Detected: " + self.get_device_string()


Re: HDMI output missing after updating #29 Rob van der Does

  • Senior Member
  • 7,766 posts

+184
Excellent

Posted 26 September 2015 - 06:07

well, I'm pretty sure it's been displayed correctly - HDMI port for boxes that have it...

I can confirm that for my Xtrends and VU's; it has always been 'HDMI', but recently changed into 'DVI'.



Re: HDMI output missing after updating #30 littlesat

  • PLi® Core member
  • 57,141 posts

+698
Excellent

Posted 26 September 2015 - 07:42

I think in the specific commit there exists
changes we as openpli usually never should expected and fusion needs to adapt their drivers.....

Athoik at least has the good idea for the scart detection... And the model was always there to fake enigma 2 for detecting hdmi or dvi as it returns a dmm box....

Edited by littlesat, 26 September 2015 - 07:55.

WaveFrontier 28.2E | 23.5E | 19.2E | 16E | 13E | 10/9E | 7E | 5E | 1W | 4/5W | 15W


Re: HDMI output missing after updating #31 athoik

  • PLi® Core member
  • 8,458 posts

+327
Excellent

Posted 26 September 2015 - 07:57

The following seems to fixes the HDMI issue for me.

diff --git a/lib/python/Plugins/SystemPlugins/Videomode/VideoHardware.py b/lib/python/Plugins/SystemPlugins/Videomode/VideoHardware.py
index d76a820..127ef4f 100644
--- a/lib/python/Plugins/SystemPlugins/Videomode/VideoHardware.py
+++ b/lib/python/Plugins/SystemPlugins/Videomode/VideoHardware.py
@@ -59,7 +59,7 @@ class VideoHardware:
                "640x480" : { 60: "640x480" }
        }

-       if not fileExists("/proc/stb/info/hwmodel") and not HardwareInfo().get_device_name == "fusionhd":
+       if not fileExists("/proc/stb/info/hwmodel") and not HardwareInfo().get_device_model() == "fusionhd":
                modes["Scart"] = ["PAL", "NTSC", "Multi"]
                modes["YPbPr"] = ["720p", "1080i", "576p", "480p", "576i", "480i"]
        modes["DVI"] = ["720p", "1080p", "1080i", "576p", "480p", "576i", "480i"]
diff --git a/lib/python/Tools/HardwareInfo.py b/lib/python/Tools/HardwareInfo.py
index 2ec0f5b..bb58648 100644
--- a/lib/python/Tools/HardwareInfo.py
+++ b/lib/python/Tools/HardwareInfo.py
@@ -30,11 +30,9 @@ class HardwareInfo:

                # Name ... bit odd, but history prevails
                try:
-                       self.device_name = open("/proc/stb/info/hwmodel").read().strip()
+                       self.device_name = open("/proc/stb/info/model").read().strip()
                except:
                        pass
-               else:
-                       self.device_name = open("/proc/stb/info/model").read().strip()

                # Model
                for line in open((resolveFilename(SCOPE_SKIN, 'hw_info/hw_info.cfg')), 'r'):

Wavefield T90: 0.8W - 1.9E - 4.8E - 13E - 16E - 19.2E - 23.5E - 26E - 33E - 39E - 42E - 45E on EMP Centauri DiseqC 16/1
Unamed: 13E Quattro - 9E Quattro on IKUSI MS-0916

Re: HDMI output missing after updating #32 littlesat

  • PLi® Core member
  • 57,141 posts

+698
Excellent

Posted 26 September 2015 - 08:54

In fact we could get rid of that complete hardwareinfo.py.... Just keep a stripped version for backwards compatibility (plugins) and move all stuff to systeminfo... And add a scartavailable check...

We should check on features, not on boxes... At least not on multible places...

I'm willing to change this... But when doing so Imcannot guarantee it will work for all diferrent boxes the next day... So I really need help/testing here...

It seems devicd name is only used to detect hdmi... Probably we should change that completely... Only some dmm boxes the 8000 and the 800hd do nit have that...

I noted that he patch should be for the remote only.... But some additinal stuff went also through by accident...

Edited by littlesat, 26 September 2015 - 09:05.

WaveFrontier 28.2E | 23.5E | 19.2E | 16E | 13E | 10/9E | 7E | 5E | 1W | 4/5W | 15W


Re: HDMI output missing after updating #33 littlesat

  • PLi® Core member
  • 57,141 posts

+698
Excellent

Posted 26 September 2015 - 11:48

i just partly reverted the commit that causes this topic.... for all the other boxes it should be fine from now on...  https://github.com/O...1a1df6c249d0852

 

2Do ...

find a different way for the fusion hd boxes to detect it has HDMI... or even completely change this stuff......

Add a way to detect a box has Scart or not...


WaveFrontier 28.2E | 23.5E | 19.2E | 16E | 13E | 10/9E | 7E | 5E | 1W | 4/5W | 15W


Re: HDMI output missing after updating #34 Rob van der Does

  • Senior Member
  • 7,766 posts

+184
Excellent

Posted 26 September 2015 - 12:13

And the feature-detection is also about RCA & Component?



Re: HDMI output missing after updating #35 littlesat

  • PLi® Core member
  • 57,141 posts

+698
Excellent

Posted 26 September 2015 - 13:44

Yep... And I think SystemInfo might be the best place....


WaveFrontier 28.2E | 23.5E | 19.2E | 16E | 13E | 10/9E | 7E | 5E | 1W | 4/5W | 15W


Re: HDMI output missing after updating #36 Rob van der Does

  • Senior Member
  • 7,766 posts

+184
Excellent

Posted 26 September 2015 - 13:44

And then the ET8&10k get WoL again.....?



Re: HDMI output missing after updating #37 littlesat

  • PLi® Core member
  • 57,141 posts

+698
Excellent

Posted 26 September 2015 - 14:39

10K should get wol..... Dima blocked ET8K...


WaveFrontier 28.2E | 23.5E | 19.2E | 16E | 13E | 10/9E | 7E | 5E | 1W | 4/5W | 15W


Re: HDMI output missing after updating #38 Rob van der Does

  • Senior Member
  • 7,766 posts

+184
Excellent

Posted 26 September 2015 - 17:00

Yes, but I mean that this is an 'if 8k then no wol' and I thought PLi never wants to do that? And now you're going for the 'features' we get wol back on 8k because the proc-entry is there?



Re: HDMI output missing after updating #39 littlesat

  • PLi® Core member
  • 57,141 posts

+698
Excellent

Posted 26 September 2015 - 17:10

In systeminfo.py this is somehow accepted als there features are determined for phython

WaveFrontier 28.2E | 23.5E | 19.2E | 16E | 13E | 10/9E | 7E | 5E | 1W | 4/5W | 15W


Re: HDMI output missing after updating #40 Erik Slagter

  • PLi® Core member
  • 46,969 posts

+541
Excellent

Posted 26 September 2015 - 17:21

I see two "proper" solutions.

 

1) just name the output "DIGITAL" (or something like that)

2) just name the output "HDMI" (because the only still supported model (how long...?) that has a DVI-connector is the DM8000)

 

Let's not add all sorts of hardware-dependend code just to make sure the name of the output is "correct".

 

For those who missed it, HDMI and DVI are completely identical for "home and garden" use, you can use a (passive!) adapter cable to connect one to another.


* Wavefrontier T90 with 28E/23E/19E/13E via SCR switches 2 x 2 x 6 user bands
I don't read PM -> if you have something to ask or to report, do it in the forum so others can benefit. I don't take freelance jobs.
Ik lees geen PM -> als je iets te vragen of te melden hebt, doe het op het forum, zodat anderen er ook wat aan hebben.



2 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 2 guests, 0 anonymous users