Jump to content


Photo

Flash vu+ Solo SE

Solo se flash openvix openpli

  • Please log in to reply
31 replies to this topic

#1 jimcarrey

  • Member
  • 30 posts

+2
Neutral

Posted 22 September 2015 - 20:08

Hi Guys,

 

I am trying to flash my friends vu+ Solo Se with OpenPLi but no matter what I do it just boots into the already installed image of openvix! 

 

I have extracted the zip file to the root of the usb, tried it in both USB ports on the back of the box (thier is no USB on the front) but each time I turn the box on it just loads in to openvix.

 

Can anyone help, I really dont want to have to use openvix.

 

Is there a file I can rename on the Solo to stop openvix booting and look for the usb? 

 

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

 

cheers,

Dave...



Re: Flash vu+ Solo SE #2 vampir2

  • Member
  • 9 posts

0
Neutral

Posted 22 September 2015 - 21:04

Find one old usb stick no more then 4Gb of space...



Re: Flash vu+ Solo SE #3 jimcarrey

  • Member
  • 30 posts

+2
Neutral

Posted 22 September 2015 - 21:31

Find one old usb stick no more then 4Gb of space...

 

Sorry I guess I should have been more specific,

 

I have been using a usb stick, no more than 4gb, formatted to FAT32, \\vuplus\solose\"the 4 files included in the download"

 

Thanks, 



Re: Flash vu+ Solo SE #4 vampir2

  • Member
  • 9 posts

0
Neutral

Posted 22 September 2015 - 21:32

look u have the file force.update and if u have a usb hdd try with hdd...


Edited by Vampir1974, 22 September 2015 - 21:36.


Re: Flash vu+ Solo SE #5 jimcarrey

  • Member
  • 30 posts

+2
Neutral

Posted 22 September 2015 - 22:17

looku have the file force.update and if u have a usbhdd try with hdd...

 

Yes I have the file force.update along with:

 

initrd_cfe_auto

kernel_cfe_auto

root_cfe_auto

 

And to confirm, I have nothing else plugged into the vu+, I am purely using a USB Stick (under 4gb), NOT a HDD.



Re: Flash vu+ Solo SE #6 dniestre

  • Senior Member
  • 27 posts

+3
Neutral

Posted 22 September 2015 - 22:44

Try to format the pen usb first.

 

regards



Re: Flash vu+ Solo SE #7 Beanie

  • Senior Member
  • 58 posts

0
Neutral

Posted 23 September 2015 - 04:10

Do you need to press the power button when flashing that model?



Re: Flash vu+ Solo SE #8 Bag58

  • Senior Member
  • 437 posts

+23
Neutral

Posted 23 September 2015 - 09:26

You did place the whole folder structure in the USB stick, not just the files in the root, did you?



Re: Flash vu+ Solo SE #9 dniestre

  • Senior Member
  • 27 posts

+3
Neutral

Posted 23 September 2015 - 11:52

Do you need to press the power button when flashing that model?

 

No. Just insert the usb pen and turn off/on the box from the back switch.

 

@jim

 

try with another usb pen.

 

regards



Re: Flash vu+ Solo SE #10 Freon

  • Senior Member
  • 213 posts

+2
Neutral

Posted 23 September 2015 - 13:01

Vu+ Solo SE / 2 needs to pres power button while pluging the power. Only way to flash.


MAY THE FORCE BE WITH YOU!


Re: Flash vu+ Solo SE #11 jimcarrey

  • Member
  • 30 posts

+2
Neutral

Posted 23 September 2015 - 13:55

Try to format the pen usb first.

 

regards

 

I have formatted it a couple of times, always to FAT32

 

You did place the whole folder structure in the USB stick, not just the files in the root, did you?

 

Yes, this is the file structure on the usb; \\vuplus\solose\"the 4 files included in the download"

 

 

Do you need to press the power button when flashing that model?

 

No. Just insert the usb pen and turn off/on the box from the back switch.

 

@jim

 

try with another usb pen.

 

regards

 

 

I am picking up another usb tonight to try. I do have a WD 250gb hard drive but I hear you can use anything over 4gb right? I assume becuase you can't formatt it to FAT32

 

Vu+ Solo SE / 2 needs to pres power button while pluging the power. Only way to flash.

 

Do you mean the power button on the remote as this is only a switch on the back of the box next to the power inlet?

I don’t remember having this problem before when I installed openvix on it first time round for cable tv (I soon realised openPLi is a much better option, for our needs anyway)

I will give this a try tonight and post back.

Thanks you to everyone for your input.

 

Dave.



Re: Flash vu+ Solo SE #12 tappari

  • Senior Member
  • 112 posts

+1
Neutral

Posted 23 September 2015 - 14:20

jimcarrey, on 22 Sept 2015 - 22:08, said:

Hi Guys,

 

I am trying to flash my friends vu+ Solo Se with OpenPLi but no matter what I do it just boots into the already installed image of openvix! 

 

I have extracted the zip file to the root of the usb, tried it in both USB ports on the back of the box (thier is no USB on the front) but each time I turn the box on it just loads in to openvix.

 

Can anyone help, I really dont want to have to use openvix.

 

Is there a file I can rename on the Solo to stop openvix booting and look for the usb? 

 

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

 

cheers,

Dave...

 

If you have openvix in the box, just load new image in .zip mode to /hdd/imagebackups and with blue button go to Vix -> Image Manager -> select new image and ok.



Re: Flash vu+ Solo SE #13 jimcarrey

  • Member
  • 30 posts

+2
Neutral

Posted 23 September 2015 - 14:54

 

jimcarrey, on 22 Sept 2015 - 22:08, said:

Hi Guys,

 

I am trying to flash my friends vu+ Solo Se with OpenPLi but no matter what I do it just boots into the already installed image of openvix! 

 

I have extracted the zip file to the root of the usb, tried it in both USB ports on the back of the box (thier is no USB on the front) but each time I turn the box on it just loads in to openvix.

 

Can anyone help, I really dont want to have to use openvix.

 

Is there a file I can rename on the Solo to stop openvix booting and look for the usb? 

 

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

 

cheers,

Dave...

 

If you have openvix in the box, just load new image in .zip mode to /hdd/imagebackups and with blue button go to Vix -> Image Manager -> select new image and ok.

 

 

Thanks tappari,

 

I bet that's the fix I'm looking for :)

 

I'll give that a shot when I get home.

 

I'm guessing "/hdd/imagebackups" is not buried in a subfolder and clear for me to see when I FTP to the box right?



Re: Flash vu+ Solo SE #14 Freon

  • Senior Member
  • 213 posts

+2
Neutral

Posted 23 September 2015 - 15:21

Soft button on the front pannel of the box si On/Off. When preessed with USB pressent it starts the image instalation.


MAY THE FORCE BE WITH YOU!


Re: Flash vu+ Solo SE #15 tappari

  • Senior Member
  • 112 posts

+1
Neutral

Posted 23 September 2015 - 15:24

It`s not buried. You can see it under /media/hdd. And remember not to unzip PLi imagefile, just load it as it was when you dowloaded it.

Coming back to your problem with usb-flash, please see that all other usb-devices are disconnected when flashing.



Re: Flash vu+ Solo SE #16 jimcarrey

  • Member
  • 30 posts

+2
Neutral

Posted 23 September 2015 - 17:22

Soft button on the front pannel of the box si On/Off. When preessed with USB pressent it starts the image instalation.

 

Not sure what version you have but their inst a soft button on the front...



Re: Flash vu+ Solo SE #17 Freon

  • Senior Member
  • 213 posts

+2
Neutral

Posted 23 September 2015 - 17:26

Look on the image!

Attached Files


MAY THE FORCE BE WITH YOU!


Re: Flash vu+ Solo SE #18 jimcarrey

  • Member
  • 30 posts

+2
Neutral

Posted 23 September 2015 - 17:57

Look on the image!

 

Apologies,  I didn't realise you were just looking at an image.

 

That's just a graphic on the front, the light glows in the middle, just to make sure though I have just taken the lid of and as I though, no button! 



Re: Flash vu+ Solo SE #19 jimcarrey

  • Member
  • 30 posts

+2
Neutral

Posted 23 September 2015 - 18:00

 

jimcarrey, on 22 Sept 2015 - 22:08, said:

Hi Guys,

 

I am trying to flash my friends vu+ Solo Se with OpenPLi but no matter what I do it just boots into the already installed image of openvix! 

 

I have extracted the zip file to the root of the usb, tried it in both USB ports on the back of the box (thier is no USB on the front) but each time I turn the box on it just loads in to openvix.

 

Can anyone help, I really dont want to have to use openvix.

 

Is there a file I can rename on the Solo to stop openvix booting and look for the usb? 

 

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

 

cheers,

Dave...

 

If you have openvix in the box, just load new image in .zip mode to /hdd/imagebackups and with blue button go to Vix -> Image Manager -> select new image and ok.

 

 

Hi,

 

So I have tired to FTP to /hdd/imagebackups but firstly that folder didnt exist thus I created it then when I tried to transfer the file I get the below error:

 

FTP.png

 

Can anyone help.....  :wacko:



Re: Flash vu+ Solo SE #20 WanWizard

  • Forum Moderator
    PLi® Core member
  • 48,785 posts

+834
Excellent

Posted 23 September 2015 - 18:07

That's just a graphic on the front, the light glows in the middle, just to make sure though I have just taken the lid of and as I though, no button!

 

afaik the Solo SE, like the Zero, needs a 'force' file which causes flashing to start automatically when the USB image is detected.


Currently in use: VU+Duo 4K (2xFBC S2), Amiko Viper T2C (T2), SAB Alpha Triple HD (S2+T2), Zgemma H3.T2C (T/C), Zgemma H6 (fallback), VU+Zero (fallback)

Many answers to your question can be found in our new and improved wiki.

note: I do not provide support via PM !

 






Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: Solo se, flash, openvix, openpli

1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users