Jump to content


Photo

Samba 2 / SMB 2 in OpenPLi


  • Please log in to reply
103 replies to this topic

Re: Samba 2 / SMB 2 in OpenPLi #21 40H3X

  • PLi® Contributor
  • 3,829 posts

+122
Excellent

Posted 12 August 2017 - 12:22

 

When configuring the NFS share it didn't work so I looked at the forum archive and found this and indeed after installing the NFSserver plugin it worked right away. So I added it to the wiki to prevent others needing to troubleshoot (the plugin might itself not be needed, but even so it did install the necessary dependencies for NFS support, therefore it doesn't hurt to mention it to get it working instead of getting frustrated it doesn't work)

Thanks for your quick reply @Dream1975, I am still waiting for WanWizard's answer. For now I disagree with your logic (no offense meant ;)). Your addintion suggest it would acquire the CLI to get an NFS share running and many won't be able to do this. So your adding your line about the manual installation would suggest it's necessary and the GUI  isn't complete, which isn't user friendly. Let's wait at what WanWizard has to say....


Hardware: Vu+ Uno 4k SE - HDD 500GB 2.5 inch - aXas 4K Ultra HD - Amiko Viper Combo HDD - Edision OS mio 4K - Spycat Mini Plus - Vu+ Zero - Vu+ Duo - WD 1TB - Fuba 78 cm - Tripleblock LNB Quad 19.2/23.5/28.2 - DS918+
Software : OpenPLi - OScam - Settings van Hans  -  Autotimer  -  EPGImport

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Many answers to your question can be found in our new and improved wiki.

 

 


Re: Samba 2 / SMB 2 in OpenPLi #22 Dream1975

  • Senior Member
  • 1,604 posts

+14
Neutral

Posted 12 August 2017 - 12:26

No offense taken :)  Lets indeed wait for Wanwizard's reply. Could very well be some dependency is missing that it doesn't work right away on a clean install, if so (and after it is fixed) I shall remove the addition again in the wiki. Untill then I think it is better to have the addition so it works if somebody wants to setup NFS between 2 OpenPLi recievers (instead of being frustrated that the mount doesn't work after following the steps in the wiki).


Edited by Dream1975, 12 August 2017 - 12:29.

Mutant HD2400, OpenPLi RC, 2x DVB-C & 2x DVB-S

Mutant HD51, OpenPLi RC, 1x DVB-C & 1x DVB-S

Wavefrontier T55 (Astra 1,2,3 en HB)

Smartcards Ziggo (Irdeto) and CDS (Seca) on Oscam

 


Re: Samba 2 / SMB 2 in OpenPLi #23 betacentauri

  • PLi® Core member
  • 6,190 posts

+273
Excellent

Posted 12 August 2017 - 12:27

SMBv2 support seems to be activated in the kernel:

https://github.com/H...defconfig#L3068

v311 not.

 

What error message do you get? Is it maybe a missing sec=ntlm option?


Xtrend ET-9200, ET-8000, ET-10000, OpenPliPC on Ubuntu 12.04

Re: Samba 2 / SMB 2 in OpenPLi #24 Dream1975

  • Senior Member
  • 1,604 posts

+14
Neutral

Posted 12 August 2017 - 12:33

I didn't get an error message. I changed the value in automounts.xml with vers= (I tried all 2.0/2.1/3.0/3.02/3.11/3.1.1) but after rebooting both recievers after every change it didn't display any files (I could see the mount but it was red). Only when I deleted vers= on the mount between the 2 OpenPLi recievers it worked again (while the vers= synthax on the mounts to my NAS did the job perfectly, so it seems only to be a problem on the samba server side of the HD2400). But as I don't want to use SMB1 I now changed it to NFS.

 

So from the HD2400 to NAS vers=2.0-3.02 works, 3.11/3.1.1 doesn't)

Between the 2 HD2400 vers= doesn't work (didn't try vers=1.0 though as I just deleted the string)


Edited by Dream1975, 12 August 2017 - 12:38.

Mutant HD2400, OpenPLi RC, 2x DVB-C & 2x DVB-S

Mutant HD51, OpenPLi RC, 1x DVB-C & 1x DVB-S

Wavefrontier T55 (Astra 1,2,3 en HB)

Smartcards Ziggo (Irdeto) and CDS (Seca) on Oscam

 


Re: Samba 2 / SMB 2 in OpenPLi #25 WanWizard

  • Forum Moderator
    PLi® Core member
  • 53,317 posts

+1,052
Excellent

Posted 12 August 2017 - 12:48

Can you try adding this to the [global] section of the smb.conf on the box, and then restart?

client max protocol = SMB3

edit: I've checked the config on my Synology, it has

client max protocol = SMB3_00
client min protocol = CORE
server max protocol = SMB3
server min protocol = SMB2

( My DSM setting is v2 minimum )


Currently in use: VU+Duo 4K (2xFBC S2), Amiko Viper T2C (T2), Octagon SF8008 (S2+T2), SAB Alpha Triple HD (S2+T2), Zgemma H9.2H (T2+fallback)

Many answers to your question can be found in our new and improved wiki.

note: I do not provide support via PM !

 


Re: Samba 2 / SMB 2 in OpenPLi #26 Dream1975

  • Senior Member
  • 1,604 posts

+14
Neutral

Posted 12 August 2017 - 12:53

Unfortunately I am not at home this weekend, I left this morning but off course keep monitoring my favourite forum  ;)

 

If you wish I can try sundaynight (or monday)


Edited by Dream1975, 12 August 2017 - 12:54.

Mutant HD2400, OpenPLi RC, 2x DVB-C & 2x DVB-S

Mutant HD51, OpenPLi RC, 1x DVB-C & 1x DVB-S

Wavefrontier T55 (Astra 1,2,3 en HB)

Smartcards Ziggo (Irdeto) and CDS (Seca) on Oscam

 


Re: Samba 2 / SMB 2 in OpenPLi #27 WanWizard

  • Forum Moderator
    PLi® Core member
  • 53,317 posts

+1,052
Excellent

Posted 12 August 2017 - 12:55

Whenever you have time. It saves me the time to setup two test boxes, as I don't use SMB myself. ;)


Currently in use: VU+Duo 4K (2xFBC S2), Amiko Viper T2C (T2), Octagon SF8008 (S2+T2), SAB Alpha Triple HD (S2+T2), Zgemma H9.2H (T2+fallback)

Many answers to your question can be found in our new and improved wiki.

note: I do not provide support via PM !

 


Re: Samba 2 / SMB 2 in OpenPLi #28 Dream1975

  • Senior Member
  • 1,604 posts

+14
Neutral

Posted 12 August 2017 - 12:58

No problem I will let you know when I've tested it (it doesn't hurt now because most people will have no vers= option configured so it works for them).

But the smb 2+ use between 2 enigma boxes is one issue, but there seems also to be an issue of using nfs that doesn't work out of the box (only if the plugin nfsserver is installed on the box that is being mounted to)

Edited by Dream1975, 12 August 2017 - 13:00.

Mutant HD2400, OpenPLi RC, 2x DVB-C & 2x DVB-S

Mutant HD51, OpenPLi RC, 1x DVB-C & 1x DVB-S

Wavefrontier T55 (Astra 1,2,3 en HB)

Smartcards Ziggo (Irdeto) and CDS (Seca) on Oscam

 


Re: Samba 2 / SMB 2 in OpenPLi #29 WanWizard

  • Forum Moderator
    PLi® Core member
  • 53,317 posts

+1,052
Excellent

Posted 12 August 2017 - 13:04

Correct, nfs server isn't installed by default.

 

If it were up to me, samba wouldn't be installed by default either. Instead, it should be controlled by an "I want to share my disk" option somewhere in the menu.


Currently in use: VU+Duo 4K (2xFBC S2), Amiko Viper T2C (T2), Octagon SF8008 (S2+T2), SAB Alpha Triple HD (S2+T2), Zgemma H9.2H (T2+fallback)

Many answers to your question can be found in our new and improved wiki.

note: I do not provide support via PM !

 


Re: Samba 2 / SMB 2 in OpenPLi #30 Dream1975

  • Senior Member
  • 1,604 posts

+14
Neutral

Posted 12 August 2017 - 13:09

Okay, so the addition to the wiki to install nfs server is correct and should stay there I presume. Then that one is solved. I will get back to you for the smb 2+ issue between 2 openpli receivers (although I have now set it up with nfs, I will try smb2+ again with your suggestion when I'm home after the weekend)

Edited by Dream1975, 12 August 2017 - 13:11.

Mutant HD2400, OpenPLi RC, 2x DVB-C & 2x DVB-S

Mutant HD51, OpenPLi RC, 1x DVB-C & 1x DVB-S

Wavefrontier T55 (Astra 1,2,3 en HB)

Smartcards Ziggo (Irdeto) and CDS (Seca) on Oscam

 


Re: Samba 2 / SMB 2 in OpenPLi #31 Dream1975

  • Senior Member
  • 1,604 posts

+14
Neutral

Posted 12 August 2017 - 13:18

Ps just so it is clear: the problem of vers=2+ is ONLY between 2 openpli receivers, mounting with 2+ from openpli to my nas works fine. So the setting vers=2+ does work from the box making the mount (only the openpli box receiving the mount with the vers= synthax doesn't use it, so it seems the openpli samba server doesn't use the version/command)

Edited by Dream1975, 12 August 2017 - 13:19.

Mutant HD2400, OpenPLi RC, 2x DVB-C & 2x DVB-S

Mutant HD51, OpenPLi RC, 1x DVB-C & 1x DVB-S

Wavefrontier T55 (Astra 1,2,3 en HB)

Smartcards Ziggo (Irdeto) and CDS (Seca) on Oscam

 


Re: Samba 2 / SMB 2 in OpenPLi #32 WanWizard

  • Forum Moderator
    PLi® Core member
  • 53,317 posts

+1,052
Excellent

Posted 12 August 2017 - 13:23

What I expect is that is does use the command, but the smb daemon is configured by default not to use SMB2 or SMB3. So you get an error when you request a specific version.


Currently in use: VU+Duo 4K (2xFBC S2), Amiko Viper T2C (T2), Octagon SF8008 (S2+T2), SAB Alpha Triple HD (S2+T2), Zgemma H9.2H (T2+fallback)

Many answers to your question can be found in our new and improved wiki.

note: I do not provide support via PM !

 


Re: Samba 2 / SMB 2 in OpenPLi #33 40H3X

  • PLi® Contributor
  • 3,829 posts

+122
Excellent

Posted 12 August 2017 - 13:26

@Dream1975 why did you added the installation of NFS server to the Wiki Mountmanager page?  To the best of my knowledge that one isn't needed as the nfs-utils provides a daemon for kernel nfs server and related tools, as NFS is in the kernel, as it is a file system (that was developed before the time of userspace file systems), but maybe @WanWizard can shed a light on it , I might be wrong ;)

Sorry, but I have to repeat  myself. NFS server of course isn't installed by default in PLi, as it should not be needed to make a NFS share working, as NFS is in the kernel, because it is a file system (that was developed before the time of userspace file systems).


Hardware: Vu+ Uno 4k SE - HDD 500GB 2.5 inch - aXas 4K Ultra HD - Amiko Viper Combo HDD - Edision OS mio 4K - Spycat Mini Plus - Vu+ Zero - Vu+ Duo - WD 1TB - Fuba 78 cm - Tripleblock LNB Quad 19.2/23.5/28.2 - DS918+
Software : OpenPLi - OScam - Settings van Hans  -  Autotimer  -  EPGImport

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Many answers to your question can be found in our new and improved wiki.

 

 


Re: Samba 2 / SMB 2 in OpenPLi #34 Dream1975

  • Senior Member
  • 1,604 posts

+14
Neutral

Posted 12 August 2017 - 13:28

Okay, I'll test as support for higher versions will be important after the fall update of windows 10:

Update June 30, 2017 – You have probably seen me announce this on twitter and in other public venues: Windows 10 RS3 (Fall Creators Update) and Windows Server 2016 RS3 have SMB1 uninstalled by default under most circumstances. The full removal has begun. Make sure you check https://aka.ms/stillneedssmb1 for products that may require updates or replacement to be used without the need for SMB1.

Source: https://blogs.techne...top-using-smb1/

Mutant HD2400, OpenPLi RC, 2x DVB-C & 2x DVB-S

Mutant HD51, OpenPLi RC, 1x DVB-C & 1x DVB-S

Wavefrontier T55 (Astra 1,2,3 en HB)

Smartcards Ziggo (Irdeto) and CDS (Seca) on Oscam

 


Re: Samba 2 / SMB 2 in OpenPLi #35 Dream1975

  • Senior Member
  • 1,604 posts

+14
Neutral

Posted 12 August 2017 - 13:35

Correct, nfs server isn't installed by default.

 

If it were up to me, samba wouldn't be installed by default either. Instead, it should be controlled by an "I want to share my disk" option somewhere in the menu.

 

 

@Dream1975 why did you added the installation of NFS server to the Wiki Mountmanager page?  To the best of my knowledge that one isn't needed as the nfs-utils provides a daemon for kernel nfs server and related tools, as NFS is in the kernel, as it is a file system (that was developed before the time of userspace file systems), but maybe @WanWizard can shed a light on it , I might be wrong ;)

Sorry, but I have to repeat  myself. NFS server of course isn't installed by default in PLi, as it should not be needed to make a NFS share working, as NFS is in the kernel, because it is a file system (that was developed before the time of userspace file systems).

 

 

I understand, but if I follow the steps of the Wiki (which I did yesterday) the NFS share doesn't work from OpenPLi to OpenPLi. So there is an additional step to be taken (install NFS support on the server box). I have done this simply with the plugin, but if there is a better way please feel free to edit my addition.


Mutant HD2400, OpenPLi RC, 2x DVB-C & 2x DVB-S

Mutant HD51, OpenPLi RC, 1x DVB-C & 1x DVB-S

Wavefrontier T55 (Astra 1,2,3 en HB)

Smartcards Ziggo (Irdeto) and CDS (Seca) on Oscam

 


Re: Samba 2 / SMB 2 in OpenPLi #36 WanWizard

  • Forum Moderator
    PLi® Core member
  • 53,317 posts

+1,052
Excellent

Posted 12 August 2017 - 14:00

You need the nfs daemons to be able to make an NFS connection, and they are not installed and running by default. That i what the support package does.


Currently in use: VU+Duo 4K (2xFBC S2), Amiko Viper T2C (T2), Octagon SF8008 (S2+T2), SAB Alpha Triple HD (S2+T2), Zgemma H9.2H (T2+fallback)

Many answers to your question can be found in our new and improved wiki.

note: I do not provide support via PM !

 


Re: Samba 2 / SMB 2 in OpenPLi #37 Dream1975

  • Senior Member
  • 1,604 posts

+14
Neutral

Posted 14 August 2017 - 19:15

 

Can you try adding this to the [global] section of the smb.conf on the box, and then restart?

client max protocol = SMB3

 

If I put in this setting it will create a mount (and is green), but I doesn't see any files (both without the vers option as with vers=2+ option)


Mutant HD2400, OpenPLi RC, 2x DVB-C & 2x DVB-S

Mutant HD51, OpenPLi RC, 1x DVB-C & 1x DVB-S

Wavefrontier T55 (Astra 1,2,3 en HB)

Smartcards Ziggo (Irdeto) and CDS (Seca) on Oscam

 


Re: Samba 2 / SMB 2 in OpenPLi #38 WanWizard

  • Forum Moderator
    PLi® Core member
  • 53,317 posts

+1,052
Excellent

Posted 14 August 2017 - 23:41

Just to be sure:

 

You did this on the server box?

Did you restart the server box after you made the change? 


Currently in use: VU+Duo 4K (2xFBC S2), Amiko Viper T2C (T2), Octagon SF8008 (S2+T2), SAB Alpha Triple HD (S2+T2), Zgemma H9.2H (T2+fallback)

Many answers to your question can be found in our new and improved wiki.

note: I do not provide support via PM !

 


Re: Samba 2 / SMB 2 in OpenPLi #39 Dream1975

  • Senior Member
  • 1,604 posts

+14
Neutral

Posted 16 August 2017 - 08:05

I did it on both (just to be sure) and off course restarted after the change.


Mutant HD2400, OpenPLi RC, 2x DVB-C & 2x DVB-S

Mutant HD51, OpenPLi RC, 1x DVB-C & 1x DVB-S

Wavefrontier T55 (Astra 1,2,3 en HB)

Smartcards Ziggo (Irdeto) and CDS (Seca) on Oscam

 


Re: Samba 2 / SMB 2 in OpenPLi #40 WanWizard

  • Forum Moderator
    PLi® Core member
  • 53,317 posts

+1,052
Excellent

Posted 16 August 2017 - 12:44

I'll try to do some tests myself when I have time to setup a testbox. I did a quick test from my laptop and I can indeed not connect if I specify SMB2 on the client side.


Currently in use: VU+Duo 4K (2xFBC S2), Amiko Viper T2C (T2), Octagon SF8008 (S2+T2), SAB Alpha Triple HD (S2+T2), Zgemma H9.2H (T2+fallback)

Many answers to your question can be found in our new and improved wiki.

note: I do not provide support via PM !

 





2 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 2 guests, 0 anonymous users