Jump to content


Photo

Zero 4k - transcode


  • Please log in to reply
30 replies to this topic

#1 daveraver

  • Senior Member
  • 274 posts

+3
Neutral

Posted 30 May 2018 - 22:57

Hi all, I have seen the Erik Slagter repo on github about streamproxy, I know this repo for a long time, I've seen the support to vu+ and other boxes brands. I wonder if zero 4k will be supported soon on openpli. thanks! 


Edited by daveraver, 30 May 2018 - 23:00.


Re: Zero 4k - transcode #2 Pr2

  • PLi® Test Team
  • 2,445 posts

+94
Good

Posted 31 May 2018 - 09:20

What do you think streamproxy plugin is doing?

 

You seems to complicate yourself installing many things, reflash your box with a clean OpenPLi and start enjoy OpenPLi without trying to install many plugins that you really don't need (kodi, iptables, streamproxy,...)


NO SUPPORT by PM, it is a forum make your question public so everybody can benefit from the question/answer.

Octagon SF-4008: Hotbird 13.0E, Astra 19.2E, Eutelsat5A 5.0W (+DVB-C)
VU+ Solo 4K: 2*DVB-S2 + 2*DVB-C/T/T2 (used in DVB-C)
Zgemma H5: 1*DVB-S2 + 1*DVB-C

Re: Zero 4k - transcode #3 daveraver

  • Senior Member
  • 274 posts

+3
Neutral

Posted 31 May 2018 - 09:56

ok my friend, relax, plugin-system-transcodesetup gives fail message to me... "it seems your box is not compatible"... then, I think we could recommend anything else? or nothing to do?
I have seen the streamproxy is inside of plugin.py of plugin transcodingsetup, it has involved on the job, isnt it?

Edited by daveraver, 31 May 2018 - 09:58.


Re: Zero 4k - transcode #4 daveraver

  • Senior Member
  • 274 posts

+3
Neutral

Posted 31 May 2018 - 10:00

What do you think streamproxy plugin is doing?

You seems to complicate yourself installing many things, reflash your box with a clean OpenPLi and start enjoy OpenPLi without trying to install many plugins that you really don't need (kodi, iptables, streamproxy,...)

why do you think I dont need all that?? I am really surprised...

Re: Zero 4k - transcode #5 daveraver

  • Senior Member
  • 274 posts

+3
Neutral

Posted 31 May 2018 - 10:01

I know other images, they have these features included for this same box, zero 4k. why not should openpli enjoy of them??

Re: Zero 4k - transcode #6 daveraver

  • Senior Member
  • 274 posts

+3
Neutral

Posted 31 May 2018 - 10:07

I want

Re: Zero 4k - transcode #7 daveraver

  • Senior Member
  • 274 posts

+3
Neutral

Posted 31 May 2018 - 10:11

talking about streamproxy, which source to take for zero 4k, to compile the binary? maybe the problem comes from zero 4k drivers?? vuplus use streamproxy and transtream*...
can any body tell me if the source of uno 4k will be right to compile for zero 4k?? some guide to choose the source would be appreciated... thank you

Re: Zero 4k - transcode #8 WanWizard

  • Forum Moderator
    PLi® Core member
  • 40,301 posts

+627
Excellent

Posted 31 May 2018 - 11:38

From what I understand the Zero 4K SoC doesn't have a transcoder, which is what the streamproxy on VU+ is for.


Many answers to your question can be found in our new and improved wiki.

Currently in active use: HD2400 (4xS2)VU+Duo2 (3xS2)VU+Zero, Edision OS mini+, ET10000 (4xS2)

For testing purposes: XP1000Formuler F1 (2xS2)Miraclebox Premium Micro (S2+C/T),  ET7500 (S2)ET8500 (S2), Zgemma H2.H (S2+C)Zgemma H5.2TC (S2+C/T), SAB TripleAlpha (S2+C/T), Galaxy 4K (FBC), VU Zero 4K, Edision OS nino 


Re: Zero 4k - transcode #9 Pr2

  • PLi® Test Team
  • 2,445 posts

+94
Good

Posted 31 May 2018 - 16:45

This is indeed what is written in the wiki:

 

https://wiki.openpli...omparison#VU.2B

 

So it is a hardware limitation you can compile what you want it won't work.


NO SUPPORT by PM, it is a forum make your question public so everybody can benefit from the question/answer.

Octagon SF-4008: Hotbird 13.0E, Astra 19.2E, Eutelsat5A 5.0W (+DVB-C)
VU+ Solo 4K: 2*DVB-S2 + 2*DVB-C/T/T2 (used in DVB-C)
Zgemma H5: 1*DVB-S2 + 1*DVB-C

Re: Zero 4k - transcode #10 daveraver

  • Senior Member
  • 274 posts

+3
Neutral

Posted 31 May 2018 - 18:28

ok, I read something completely against yours theories... paralel galaxies, thank you

 

PD: on wiki you can see cpu 1200 1c, for zero 4k.....ejem...not right, I think...


Edited by daveraver, 31 May 2018 - 18:30.


Re: Zero 4k - transcode #11 WanWizard

  • Forum Moderator
    PLi® Core member
  • 40,301 posts

+627
Excellent

Posted 31 May 2018 - 18:38

You would be suprised the kind of news I sometimes read.... The fact someone writes something doesn't make it true.

 

Having said that, if you have solid information, including the technical adaptations needed for the streamproxy, we are obviously interested.


Many answers to your question can be found in our new and improved wiki.

Currently in active use: HD2400 (4xS2)VU+Duo2 (3xS2)VU+Zero, Edision OS mini+, ET10000 (4xS2)

For testing purposes: XP1000Formuler F1 (2xS2)Miraclebox Premium Micro (S2+C/T),  ET7500 (S2)ET8500 (S2), Zgemma H2.H (S2+C)Zgemma H5.2TC (S2+C/T), SAB TripleAlpha (S2+C/T), Galaxy 4K (FBC), VU Zero 4K, Edision OS nino 


Re: Zero 4k - transcode #12 daveraver

  • Senior Member
  • 274 posts

+3
Neutral

Posted 31 May 2018 - 18:39

I recommend one thing... go to openspa and you will see what I am telling you.... dont deny this way, go out to other galaxies... you will see the light... truely... dont want to be ironical I say this with a friendly smile. I am not a tecnical person, not a coder... I think Erik can say something about this.


Edited by daveraver, 31 May 2018 - 18:42.


Re: Zero 4k - transcode #13 WanWizard

  • Forum Moderator
    PLi® Core member
  • 40,301 posts

+627
Excellent

Posted 31 May 2018 - 18:53

Openspa doesn't have their own OE, they use the generic OE-A distro. And OE-A's VU+ transcoding does not support the Zero 4K, I just checked their code. Also, OpenWebIf doesn't support the Zero 4K: https://github.com/E...s/stream.py#L71

 

So I still want to see some evidence we can work with.


Many answers to your question can be found in our new and improved wiki.

Currently in active use: HD2400 (4xS2)VU+Duo2 (3xS2)VU+Zero, Edision OS mini+, ET10000 (4xS2)

For testing purposes: XP1000Formuler F1 (2xS2)Miraclebox Premium Micro (S2+C/T),  ET7500 (S2)ET8500 (S2), Zgemma H2.H (S2+C)Zgemma H5.2TC (S2+C/T), SAB TripleAlpha (S2+C/T), Galaxy 4K (FBC), VU Zero 4K, Edision OS nino 


Re: Zero 4k - transcode #14 daveraver

  • Senior Member
  • 274 posts

+3
Neutral

Posted 31 May 2018 - 19:08

i will test next days.. i will tell something to you. but they talk about streamproxy and tcsetup on zero 4k image launchment...
i think openspa has its own oe... i dont want to make more promotion of this image...

Edited by daveraver, 31 May 2018 - 19:13.


Re: Zero 4k - transcode #15 daveraver

  • Senior Member
  • 274 posts

+3
Neutral

Posted 31 May 2018 - 19:43

well, I think I've landed on the earth, no tc possible... I dont understand, ethernet gigabit 100Mb/s?? jeje... very ingenious people... and cpu dualcore 1500 and no able to make tc... a zapper... really? then, I have been to 80€ to achieve tc... uno 4k... I am down..

Re: Zero 4k - transcode #16 mimisiku

  • Senior Member
  • 1,514 posts

+20
Neutral

Posted 31 May 2018 - 19:53

All has it's price...
The VU+ Zero 4K is their cheapest model with just 1 tuner. Firstly transcoding should be used on a twin tuner or better for obvious reasons. The VU+Zero 4K has a quite impressive SoC and DVB-S2X build-in for the money. Even for the price a very impressive box..
VU+ Solo SE v2 Optus NZ

Re: Zero 4k - transcode #17 daveraver

  • Senior Member
  • 274 posts

+3
Neutral

Posted 31 May 2018 - 19:59

yes, it's a overdimensioned hardware, they dont want it, but this box is able to tc. but, if I need to put out some channel, I will stream full channel, 12Mbit/s each hd channel, and over 24Mbit/s a 4k channel.. and if we could use de vp9 codec?? which codec use to stream channels? I read has the vp9 google codec too....

Edited by daveraver, 31 May 2018 - 20:01.


Re: Zero 4k - transcode #18 mimisiku

  • Senior Member
  • 1,514 posts

+20
Neutral

Posted 31 May 2018 - 20:14

No, the build in SoC does not provide for HW transcoding. The VP9 is used for Google, YouTube viewing and can't be used externally. It's all handled in the SoC. If you want to create your own IPTV server, you need to put out (a lot) more cash. At least a box with 1000Mbit interface and sufficient free tuner (FBC tuner will do nicely)..
VU+ Solo SE v2 Optus NZ

Re: Zero 4k - transcode #19 Pr2

  • PLi® Test Team
  • 2,445 posts

+94
Good

Posted 1 June 2018 - 10:03

There is also a difference between being able to decode a codec (VP9 for exemple) and encode it into the same format.

Encoding requires much more CPU/GPU power than decode.

So the SoC specification gives generally the decoding capabilities, not the encoding one.


NO SUPPORT by PM, it is a forum make your question public so everybody can benefit from the question/answer.

Octagon SF-4008: Hotbird 13.0E, Astra 19.2E, Eutelsat5A 5.0W (+DVB-C)
VU+ Solo 4K: 2*DVB-S2 + 2*DVB-C/T/T2 (used in DVB-C)
Zgemma H5: 1*DVB-S2 + 1*DVB-C

Re: Zero 4k - transcode #20 daveraver

  • Senior Member
  • 274 posts

+3
Neutral

Posted 1 June 2018 - 10:11

yes, SoC is not enough powerful, unable to encode, thank you

Edited by daveraver, 1 June 2018 - 10:11.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users