Jump to content


Photo

Is there any reason why http streams has to be disabled?


  • Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 kermith

  • Senior Member
  • 176 posts

+2
Neutral

Posted 15 August 2018 - 17:06

Hi,

I have an Vu+ UNO4K. I have always setup in the OpenWebif “Enable Authentication for streaming” to “ON”.

 

Then in the Customize menu I have the “Require authentication for http streams” set to “ON” as well.

 

These settings have always worked for me without any problems at all.

 

All of a sudden, I have installed the “OpenPLi 6.2-release (2018-06-20-release-6.2)” this feature will not work anymore, unless I set this to “OFF” in the Customize settings.

 

Is there a reason for this, because now whoever wants to will stream my channels without a password?

 

I have checked this as well in VLC. I don’t require a password anymore for streaming.

 

Why has this been changed?

 

Best Regards

kerm

 

 



Re: Is there any reason why http streams has to be disabled? #2 WanWizard

  • Forum Moderator
    PLi® Core member
  • 41,181 posts

+650
Excellent

Posted 15 August 2018 - 18:28

We don't maintain OpenWebIf, so no idea. What was installed before you installed this version?


Many answers to your question can be found in our new and improved wiki.

Currently in active use: VU+Solo 4K (1xFBC, 2xS2), VU+Zero, Edision OS mini+, Amiko Viper 2TC, Zgemma H3.2TC, Zgemma H6

For testing purposes: XP1000, Formuler F1 (2xS2), Miraclebox Premium Micro (S2+C/T), ET7500 (S2), ET8500 (S2), Zgemma H2.H (S2+C), Zgemma H5.2TC, SAB TripleAlpha (S2+C/T), Galaxy 4K (FBC), VU Zero 4K, HD2400 (4xS2), ET10000 (4xS2), VU+Duo2 (1xS2), Edision OS nino


Re: Is there any reason why http streams has to be disabled? #3 kermith

  • Senior Member
  • 176 posts

+2
Neutral

Posted 15 August 2018 - 18:36

Well, now I don't remember. But I have just updated and also checked with a friend and http streams authenticated will not work.  So it's not only me.

The thing I have to do to make it work is to "uncheck" it in the "Customize menu"

 

Never ever had this problem before since the earliest versions I had like 8-10 years ago. 

 

Best
JJ

 


Edited by kermith, 15 August 2018 - 18:36.


Re: Is there any reason why http streams has to be disabled? #4 kermith

  • Senior Member
  • 176 posts

+2
Neutral

Posted 15 August 2018 - 20:32

I just can’t believe this option is not in effect anymore.

Anyone without a password can watch my streamed channels from my home to my house in the country. Do people actually don’t use authentication anymore?

 

Really, this beats me.  



Re: Is there any reason why http streams has to be disabled? #5 kermith

  • Senior Member
  • 176 posts

+2
Neutral

Posted 15 August 2018 - 20:49

We don't maintain OpenWebIf, so no idea. What was installed before you installed this version?

 

Just to make it sure I turned off the “authentication” in WebIf and it still wouldn’t let me stream with my password. I had to uncheck it in the “Customize menu” settings.

 

So, it’s actually nothing to do with WebIf at all.



Re: Is there any reason why http streams has to be disabled? #6 kermith

  • Senior Member
  • 176 posts

+2
Neutral

Posted 15 August 2018 - 21:16

Sorry for being so impatient but what authentication does PLI need when I try to play the stream in VLC. The pop up comes up in VLC that asks for User Name and Password. I’m trying to fill it with “root” and then the password I set for the box. Is there anywhere else I have to set a password for http streaming?

 

This has worked beautiful for years and now it’s in the grave.
Why all the updates when stuff doesn’t work. Jeez



Re: Is there any reason why http streams has to be disabled? #7 kermith

  • Senior Member
  • 176 posts

+2
Neutral

Posted 17 August 2018 - 15:16

Really, no one has experienced this?  :unsure:



Re: Is there any reason why http streams has to be disabled? #8 WanWizard

  • Forum Moderator
    PLi® Core member
  • 41,181 posts

+650
Excellent

Posted 17 August 2018 - 18:56

I don't use authentication for streams, nobody in my home but me, and my boxes aren't accessable from the internet.

 

And I'm not home, so I can't test. But nothing has changed in OpenPLi 6.2 since it was released, we only update stable releases with bugfixes.


Many answers to your question can be found in our new and improved wiki.

Currently in active use: VU+Solo 4K (1xFBC, 2xS2), VU+Zero, Edision OS mini+, Amiko Viper 2TC, Zgemma H3.2TC, Zgemma H6

For testing purposes: XP1000, Formuler F1 (2xS2), Miraclebox Premium Micro (S2+C/T), ET7500 (S2), ET8500 (S2), Zgemma H2.H (S2+C), Zgemma H5.2TC, SAB TripleAlpha (S2+C/T), Galaxy 4K (FBC), VU Zero 4K, HD2400 (4xS2), ET10000 (4xS2), VU+Duo2 (1xS2), Edision OS nino


Re: Is there any reason why http streams has to be disabled? #9 kermith

  • Senior Member
  • 176 posts

+2
Neutral

Posted 17 August 2018 - 21:31

I don't use authentication for streams, nobody in my home but me, and my boxes aren't accessable from the internet.

 

And I'm not home, so I can't test. But nothing has changed in OpenPLi 6.2 since it was released, we only update stable releases with bugfixes.

 

Thanks for your answer. It has been running for me for years.

So what is the authentication for in the first place?

Also I have run dreamdroid for years and now it's not working


Edited by kermith, 17 August 2018 - 21:35.


Re: Is there any reason why http streams has to be disabled? #10 littlesat

  • PLi® Core member
  • 44,905 posts

+455
Excellent

Posted 17 August 2018 - 22:17

For people why don’t know how te setup VPN IPSec and put their box with all risks wilde open to the www... as they think a password is safe.... actually a fake security we indeed can better remove...

Edited by littlesat, 17 August 2018 - 22:19.

WaveFrontier 28.2E | 23.5E | 19.2E | 16E | 13E | 10/9E | 7E | 5E | 1W | 4/5W | 15W Thanks to Henksat

Re: Is there any reason why http streams has to be disabled? #11 WanWizard

  • Forum Moderator
    PLi® Core member
  • 41,181 posts

+650
Excellent

Posted 18 August 2018 - 10:41

There may also be reasons to have a password on it in the house, for example if you don't want your children to access 18+ channels. ;)

 

So it needs to work, I don't agree with you it should be removed.


Many answers to your question can be found in our new and improved wiki.

Currently in active use: VU+Solo 4K (1xFBC, 2xS2), VU+Zero, Edision OS mini+, Amiko Viper 2TC, Zgemma H3.2TC, Zgemma H6

For testing purposes: XP1000, Formuler F1 (2xS2), Miraclebox Premium Micro (S2+C/T), ET7500 (S2), ET8500 (S2), Zgemma H2.H (S2+C), Zgemma H5.2TC, SAB TripleAlpha (S2+C/T), Galaxy 4K (FBC), VU Zero 4K, HD2400 (4xS2), ET10000 (4xS2), VU+Duo2 (1xS2), Edision OS nino


Re: Is there any reason why http streams has to be disabled? #12 kermith

  • Senior Member
  • 176 posts

+2
Neutral

Posted 19 August 2018 - 11:49

Well, I haven't setup VPN because it has worked for years and years for me. From time to time I have checked with netstat if someone has hacked or gotten in to my box. But always running smoothly.

I also have Dreamdroid setup on my phone so I can watch TV when I'm on road, even abroad and this setup has worked nicely like a buzzing bee.

But now I have to uncheck the authentication in the customize menu. But that would really expose my box. But I have no choice so I just keep my fingers crossed that no one will find and use it.

Is there a possibility to add a user, except for root, to the box? Maybe that could solve it. There's a possibility that root is capped to use streaming?

kerm

Sent from my SM-T815 using Tapatalk

Re: Is there any reason why http streams has to be disabled? #13 littlesat

  • PLi® Core member
  • 44,905 posts

+455
Excellent

Posted 19 August 2018 - 13:49

Still it is strongly recommandable not doing this without VPN.... with netstat you only see a moment... not if already something did happen... sounds you had much luck
WaveFrontier 28.2E | 23.5E | 19.2E | 16E | 13E | 10/9E | 7E | 5E | 1W | 4/5W | 15W Thanks to Henksat

Re: Is there any reason why http streams has to be disabled? #14 Budiarno

  • Senior Member
  • 48 posts

0
Neutral

Posted 20 August 2018 - 14:17

Attached File  1_0_1_5_3_FFFF_3EE0FC8_0_0_0_20180820201405.jpg   116.52KB   5 downloads

 

Attached File  Screenshot from 2018-08-20 20-13-32.png   74.37KB   3 downloads

 

Attached File  Screenshot from 2018-08-20 20-20-06.png   389.95KB   4 downloads

 

I tried it on my VLC. It seems just ok and works as usual.


Edited by Budiarno, 20 August 2018 - 14:20.


Re: Is there any reason why http streams has to be disabled? #15 kermith

  • Senior Member
  • 176 posts

+2
Neutral

Posted 21 August 2018 - 07:07

 

What version of Pli do you use and which box?



Re: Is there any reason why http streams has to be disabled? #16 kermith

  • Senior Member
  • 176 posts

+2
Neutral

Posted 21 August 2018 - 07:09

Still it is strongly recommandable not doing this without VPN.... with netstat you only see a moment... not if already something did happen... sounds you had much luck

 

Yeah probably a whole bit of luck. But as I wrote I use the verification and never had a problem.



Re: Is there any reason why http streams has to be disabled? #17 Budiarno

  • Senior Member
  • 48 posts

0
Neutral

Posted 23 August 2018 - 10:08

 

 

What version of Pli do you use and which box?

 

 

I use OpenPLi 6.2 Homebuild on Dinobot 4K.



Re: Is there any reason why http streams has to be disabled? #18 kermith

  • Senior Member
  • 176 posts

+2
Neutral

Posted 23 August 2018 - 12:44

 

 

 

What version of Pli do you use and which box?

 

 

I use OpenPLi 6.2 Homebuild on Dinobot 4K.

 

 

Thanks for your answer.

It could be either that the box is different or t´hat is Home-build.



Re: Is there any reason why http streams has to be disabled? #19 Youpla

  • Senior Member
  • 25 posts

0
Neutral

Posted 27 August 2018 - 12:07

 

I tried this on my DUO² with official build (august 20th), and it won't accept my password. It just keeps asking again and again.


VU+ DUO²  - OpenPLI 6.2


Re: Is there any reason why http streams has to be disabled? #20 kermith

  • Senior Member
  • 176 posts

+2
Neutral

Posted 28 August 2018 - 15:28

 

 

I tried this on my DUO² with official build (august 20th), and it won't accept my password. It just keeps asking again and again.

 

 

Well, I really suspected that. I do also have the latest builds etc. So something doesn't play right here....

Any experienced user or moderator, that could confirm this as well, so I don't have to tear my hair out and try another build or image.

 

kerm






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users