Jump to content


Photo

BER value. CBER , VBER ?


  • Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 jpuigs

  • Senior Member
  • 911 posts

+21
Neutral

Posted 25 September 2018 - 11:58

In all enigma 2 STB I've had for years, I've always seen the BER value a very useless indicator.

I see always ZERO value. I've never seen other values.

I can tune to a channel which has weak reception, with pixelating picture, and the value is still 0.

 

Attached File  BER0.jpg   354.46KB   2 downloads

 

What is suposed to be that value ? CBER (original signal, before corrections) , VBER (after corrections) ??

 

I'd call it 0BER (zeroBer), as I have no other values.....

 

Is there any way of getting CBER or VBER real values ?

 

 

 


DM 800 HD - DM 500 HD - DM 7020 HD - ET7500 - ET9000 - ET10000 - SF 4008 - Mvision HD 700 L (e2) - Triple Dragon - .......


Re: BER value. CBER , VBER ? #2 WanWizard

  • Forum Moderator
    PLi® Core member
  • 48,469 posts

+824
Excellent

Posted 25 September 2018 - 12:02

It is the BER after FEC, so it is either zero or very high. We'd love to get access to the BER before FEC, but there none of the drivers provide that API.


Currently in use: VU+Duo 4K (2xFBC S2), Amiko Viper T2C (T2), SAB Alpha Triple HD (S2+T2), Zgemma H3.T2C (T/C), Zgemma H6 (fallback), VU+Zero (fallback)

Many answers to your question can be found in our new and improved wiki.

note: I do not provide support via PM !

 


Re: BER value. CBER , VBER ? #3 littlesat

  • PLi® Core member
  • 49,224 posts

+527
Excellent

Posted 25 September 2018 - 12:40

Looks like you have interference from a DECT phone.... ;)


WaveFrontier 28.2E | 23.5E | 19.2E | 16E | 13E | 10/9E | 7E | 5E | 1W | 4/5W | 15W


Re: BER value. CBER , VBER ? #4 jpuigs

  • Senior Member
  • 911 posts

+21
Neutral

Posted 25 September 2018 - 14:07

It is the BER after FEC, so it is either zero or very high. We'd love to get access to the BER before FEC, but there none of the drivers provide that API.

 

Then, currently, the only useful parameter is the S/N one, AGC and BER could be deleted.......

 

 

Looks like you have interference from a DECT phone.... ;)

 

No, I have no DECT interference, as I have no DECT phone.

If you look at the frequency and SAT, you'll see that is a 36 East Transponder, Sub-sahara African Beam, which I shouldn't receive in Barcelona according to FlySat and Lyngsat.

Both say it's a 36 B Sub-sahara African BeamTransponder, but I think it's a 36 C transponder instead of 36 B.

 

36B : Attached File  36B-sub-sahara.jpg   67.06KB   3 downloads                                        36C: Attached File  36C-sub-sahara.jpg   92.54KB   3 downloads

 

 

Anyway, it's a weak signal.

 

This 36C weak spanish beam footprint seems a defect in design..... and undesirable reflection on SAT panels,


Edited by jpuigs, 25 September 2018 - 14:10.

DM 800 HD - DM 500 HD - DM 7020 HD - ET7500 - ET9000 - ET10000 - SF 4008 - Mvision HD 700 L (e2) - Triple Dragon - .......


Re: BER value. CBER , VBER ? #5 WanWizard

  • Forum Moderator
    PLi® Core member
  • 48,469 posts

+824
Excellent

Posted 25 September 2018 - 16:51

Then, currently, the only useful parameter is the S/N one, AGC and BER could be deleted.......

 

We've been saying this for years, but a lot of people seem so need these for some unknown reason, last time we suggested it a storm broke loose... ;)


Currently in use: VU+Duo 4K (2xFBC S2), Amiko Viper T2C (T2), SAB Alpha Triple HD (S2+T2), Zgemma H3.T2C (T/C), Zgemma H6 (fallback), VU+Zero (fallback)

Many answers to your question can be found in our new and improved wiki.

note: I do not provide support via PM !

 


Re: BER value. CBER , VBER ? #6 Erik Slagter

  • PLi® Core member
  • 45,353 posts

+498
Excellent

Posted 26 September 2018 - 15:49

+1


* Wavefrontier T90 with 28E/23E/19E/13E/9E/4.8E/0.8W/5W via SCR switches 2 x 2 x 6 user bands
* Ziggo digital cable TV (FTA)
I don't read PM -> if you have something to ask or to report, do it in the forum so others can benefit. I don't take freelance jobs.
Ik lees geen PM -> als je iets te vragen of te melden hebt, doe het op het forum, zodat anderen er ook wat aan hebben.

Re: BER value. CBER , VBER ? #7 kapciu75

  • Member
  • 7 posts

0
Neutral

Posted 30 August 2019 - 16:26

Guys,

Is there any option to force OpenPLi image to show BER and AGC in infobar?



Re: BER value. CBER , VBER ? #8 Frenske

  • Forum Moderator
    PLi® Core member
  • 22,177 posts

+200
Excellent

Posted 30 August 2019 - 17:16

Guys,
Is there any option to force OpenPLi image to show BER and AGC in infobar?

To force us doing something you are interested in? I wouldn’t bet my money on it. ;)
Mijn schotel is een T90 met 10 LNB's. Daarnaast voor de fun nog een draaibaar systeem met een Triax TD 78.

Dreamboxen heb ik niet meer. Verder nog een een VU+ duo2 met 500Gb harddisk + een VU+ Uno, Zero, Solo 4K, Ultimo 4K, Zero 4K, Uno 4Kse. + ook nog een Xtrend ET4000. Daarnaast heb ik ook nog diverse andere modellen w.o. een Formuler F4, ET8500, ET7500, Mut@nt 2400HD, Xsarius Fusion HD se en verder nog wel het e.e.a. waarmee op verzoek vanalles wordt getest. Iemand moet het tenslotte doen. ;) :)

Voor centrale opslag van media gebruik ik een Qnap 219P met tweemaal 2 Tb harddisks.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Many answers to your question can be found in our wiki: Just one click away from this "solutioncentre".

Als ik alles al wist hoefde ik ook niets te vragen. If I had all the knowledge I had no questions at all.

Re: BER value. CBER , VBER ? #9 littlesat

  • PLi® Core member
  • 49,224 posts

+527
Excellent

Posted 30 August 2019 - 18:44

In the second infobar the info is there

WaveFrontier 28.2E | 23.5E | 19.2E | 16E | 13E | 10/9E | 7E | 5E | 1W | 4/5W | 15W


Re: BER value. CBER , VBER ? #10 Frenske

  • Forum Moderator
    PLi® Core member
  • 22,177 posts

+200
Excellent

Posted 30 August 2019 - 19:17

In the second infobar the info is there


Actually that is not what he demanded. He demands that OpenPLi puts this info in the infobar. ;)
Mijn schotel is een T90 met 10 LNB's. Daarnaast voor de fun nog een draaibaar systeem met een Triax TD 78.

Dreamboxen heb ik niet meer. Verder nog een een VU+ duo2 met 500Gb harddisk + een VU+ Uno, Zero, Solo 4K, Ultimo 4K, Zero 4K, Uno 4Kse. + ook nog een Xtrend ET4000. Daarnaast heb ik ook nog diverse andere modellen w.o. een Formuler F4, ET8500, ET7500, Mut@nt 2400HD, Xsarius Fusion HD se en verder nog wel het e.e.a. waarmee op verzoek vanalles wordt getest. Iemand moet het tenslotte doen. ;) :)

Voor centrale opslag van media gebruik ik een Qnap 219P met tweemaal 2 Tb harddisks.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Many answers to your question can be found in our wiki: Just one click away from this "solutioncentre".

Als ik alles al wist hoefde ik ook niets te vragen. If I had all the knowledge I had no questions at all.

Re: BER value. CBER , VBER ? #11 Robinson

  • Senior Member
  • 2,497 posts

+29
Good

Posted 30 August 2019 - 19:34

He does not mean OpenPLi team but OpenPLi image. :)


ET9000, OpenPLi 4.0, 13E, 19E

HD51, OpenPLi 6.2, 75E - 30W


Re: BER value. CBER , VBER ? #12 Frenske

  • Forum Moderator
    PLi® Core member
  • 22,177 posts

+200
Excellent

Posted 30 August 2019 - 19:40

He does not mean OpenPLi team but OpenPLi image. :)

This might actually be interpreted differently as it sounds. ;)
If that actually is the fact then this ‘kind request’ belongs to the skin section. :)
Let’s wait and see how he responds.
Mijn schotel is een T90 met 10 LNB's. Daarnaast voor de fun nog een draaibaar systeem met een Triax TD 78.

Dreamboxen heb ik niet meer. Verder nog een een VU+ duo2 met 500Gb harddisk + een VU+ Uno, Zero, Solo 4K, Ultimo 4K, Zero 4K, Uno 4Kse. + ook nog een Xtrend ET4000. Daarnaast heb ik ook nog diverse andere modellen w.o. een Formuler F4, ET8500, ET7500, Mut@nt 2400HD, Xsarius Fusion HD se en verder nog wel het e.e.a. waarmee op verzoek vanalles wordt getest. Iemand moet het tenslotte doen. ;) :)

Voor centrale opslag van media gebruik ik een Qnap 219P met tweemaal 2 Tb harddisks.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Many answers to your question can be found in our wiki: Just one click away from this "solutioncentre".

Als ik alles al wist hoefde ik ook niets te vragen. If I had all the knowledge I had no questions at all.

Re: BER value. CBER , VBER ? #13 kapciu75

  • Member
  • 7 posts

0
Neutral

Posted 30 August 2019 - 19:42

In the second infobar the info is there

I am quite new with OpenPLi image. Any hints how to turn it on? I wouldn't dare to force OpenPLi team to do anything. :D You already did: OpenPLi image. :rolleyes:

AGC and BER in infobar would be my biggest wish that could come true. At least AGC.


Edited by kapciu75, 30 August 2019 - 19:47.


Re: BER value. CBER , VBER ? #14 jpuigs

  • Senior Member
  • 911 posts

+21
Neutral

Posted 30 August 2019 - 19:59

If tuners don't give info to Enigma (which happens on most tuners) , enigma can't show them.


DM 800 HD - DM 500 HD - DM 7020 HD - ET7500 - ET9000 - ET10000 - SF 4008 - Mvision HD 700 L (e2) - Triple Dragon - .......


Re: BER value. CBER , VBER ? #15 kapciu75

  • Member
  • 7 posts

0
Neutral

Posted 30 August 2019 - 20:48

I see there is no chance to have BER on Mutant HD51 (Opticum AX HD51) but it shows SNR and AGC. There is hope. Guys you're my hope.

Bez-tytu-u.png


Edited by kapciu75, 30 August 2019 - 20:50.


Re: BER value. CBER , VBER ? #16 Frenske

  • Forum Moderator
    PLi® Core member
  • 22,177 posts

+200
Excellent

Posted 30 August 2019 - 21:25

The second infobar is activated when pushing the ok button twice. You see the info you wish in the upper right corner.
Does this satisfies your needs?
Mijn schotel is een T90 met 10 LNB's. Daarnaast voor de fun nog een draaibaar systeem met een Triax TD 78.

Dreamboxen heb ik niet meer. Verder nog een een VU+ duo2 met 500Gb harddisk + een VU+ Uno, Zero, Solo 4K, Ultimo 4K, Zero 4K, Uno 4Kse. + ook nog een Xtrend ET4000. Daarnaast heb ik ook nog diverse andere modellen w.o. een Formuler F4, ET8500, ET7500, Mut@nt 2400HD, Xsarius Fusion HD se en verder nog wel het e.e.a. waarmee op verzoek vanalles wordt getest. Iemand moet het tenslotte doen. ;) :)

Voor centrale opslag van media gebruik ik een Qnap 219P met tweemaal 2 Tb harddisks.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Many answers to your question can be found in our wiki: Just one click away from this "solutioncentre".

Als ik alles al wist hoefde ik ook niets te vragen. If I had all the knowledge I had no questions at all.

Re: BER value. CBER , VBER ? #17 littlesat

  • PLi® Core member
  • 49,224 posts

+527
Excellent

Posted 30 August 2019 - 21:42

It might be you need to activate that feature via the menu... and also press long ok

WaveFrontier 28.2E | 23.5E | 19.2E | 16E | 13E | 10/9E | 7E | 5E | 1W | 4/5W | 15W


Re: BER value. CBER , VBER ? #18 Erik Slagter

  • PLi® Core member
  • 45,353 posts

+498
Excellent

Posted 13 September 2019 - 18:42

BTW the AGC information is bogus on any tuner I know of (even DVB-S, at least the semantics are reversed). Besides that, DVB-S tuners tend to give sort of a proper indication of SNR and also BER.

 

With DVB-C and DVB-T tuners, on the other hand, all bets are off. You'll have at most 4 static values for SNR (0/33/66/99%) and both AGC and BER values are either always zero or totally bogus (or both).

 

Maybe we should simply hide this data for non-DVB-S tuners.


Edited by Erik Slagter, 13 September 2019 - 18:43.

* Wavefrontier T90 with 28E/23E/19E/13E/9E/4.8E/0.8W/5W via SCR switches 2 x 2 x 6 user bands
* Ziggo digital cable TV (FTA)
I don't read PM -> if you have something to ask or to report, do it in the forum so others can benefit. I don't take freelance jobs.
Ik lees geen PM -> als je iets te vragen of te melden hebt, doe het op het forum, zodat anderen er ook wat aan hebben.

Re: BER value. CBER , VBER ? #19 Abu Baniaz

  • PLi® Contributor
  • 1,083 posts

+25
Good

Posted 13 September 2019 - 19:15

There was a user on Vix forum who suggested it should be corrected so that scanning is more reliable as some areas receiver signal from more than one mast. He posted in an issue with ATV here:
https://github.com/o...mment-498186450

Edited by Abu Baniaz, 13 September 2019 - 19:16.


Re: BER value. CBER , VBER ? #20 WanWizard

  • Forum Moderator
    PLi® Core member
  • 48,469 posts

+824
Excellent

Posted 13 September 2019 - 21:12

That person doesn't seem to realize the problem is in the hardware and drivers, and you can't invent something that isn't there. Which is why we stopped with correction and calculation tables, as it's rubbish in, rubbish out.


Currently in use: VU+Duo 4K (2xFBC S2), Amiko Viper T2C (T2), SAB Alpha Triple HD (S2+T2), Zgemma H3.T2C (T/C), Zgemma H6 (fallback), VU+Zero (fallback)

Many answers to your question can be found in our new and improved wiki.

note: I do not provide support via PM !

 





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users