Jump to content


Photo

Flashexpander


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 tv2014cccam

  • New Member
  • 3 posts

0
Neutral

Posted 22 August 2019 - 11:43

Hallo,
Weet iemand of flashexpander goed werkt op een Zgemma H9.2H met OpenPli 7.1 van 19-8-2019?
Is het misschien ook mogelijk om een micro usb hiervoor te gebruiken.

Alvast bedankt voor de reactie.

Verstuurd vanaf mijn SM-G973F met Tapatalk

Re: Flashexpander #2 littlesat

  • PLi® Core member
  • 48,956 posts

+522
Excellent

Posted 22 August 2019 - 13:34

Met een H9.2H flashexpander nodig? Waarom?

Heel lang geleden toen het geheugen beperkt was, was dit handig. Nu is het normaal gesproken totaal overbodig...


WaveFrontier 28.2E | 23.5E | 19.2E | 16E | 13E | 10/9E | 7E | 5E | 1W | 4/5W | 15W


Re: Flashexpander #3 twol

  • Senior Member
  • 253 posts

+7
Neutral

Posted 22 August 2019 - 15:10

@Littlesat on H9 flash is poor which is why we provide a menu option to move the root to the SD card on the H9  (in OpenViX) making flash as large as the SD card- makes it a really super box even with Kodi. (sorry have no Dutch language ability)


Edited by twol, 22 August 2019 - 15:11.

Gigablue Quad 4K & UE 4K
.........FBC Tuners:
------------------> DUR-Line DCR 5-1-8-L4 Multiswitch to 1.5M dish(28.2E)
------------------> Spaun SUS 5581/33 NFA Multiswitch to 80 cm dish(19.2E)
.........DVB-S2X into 90cm dish (27.5W)
Edision Osmio 4K using Legacy ports on multiswitches
Octagon SF8008 DVB-S2X tuner using Legacy ports on multiswitches
Zgemma H9 C/S into Giga4K
Zgemma H9Combo legacy ports on multiswitches
Zgemma H9twin using legacy ports
Multibox
Dinobot Mini 4K

Re: Flashexpander #4 WanWizard

  • Forum Moderator
    PLi® Core member
  • 47,851 posts

+803
Excellent

Posted 22 August 2019 - 15:28

Which doesn't matter as it is posted in the English language forum, so your reply is fine, the others are wrong...  :P  :D


Currently in use: VU+Duo 4K (2xFBC S2), Amiko Viper T2C (T2), SAB Alpha Triple HD (S2+T2), Zgemma H3.T2C (T/C), Zgemma H6 (fallback), VU+Zero (fallback)

Many answers to your question can be found in our new and improved wiki.

note: I do not provide support via PM !

 


Re: Flashexpander #5 mimisiku

  • Senior Member
  • 2,142 posts

+26
Good

Posted 22 August 2019 - 17:11

As stated earlier, FlashExpander is not really necessary on modern boxes. Flash memory should suffice for normal operation. Picons /EPGdata can be stored on a mounted USB disc (or TF card if applicable).
Some boxes have even enough to allow for Multiboot..
As an old 'dreamer' I can remember using FlashExpander on my DM800HD-PVR and DM500HD where at some point it was simply necessary to keep the box running.
With the newer DM boxes they have adopted another option: complete boot from attached USB disc. Creating a rootfs with 1 or 2 GB memory. This is called Mr Big.. Off course ONLY for DreamOS and not for 'Open' images...
VU+ Solo SE v2 Optus NZ

Re: Flashexpander #6 WanWizard

  • Forum Moderator
    PLi® Core member
  • 47,851 posts

+803
Excellent

Posted 22 August 2019 - 17:25

Off course ONLY for DreamOS and not for 'Open' images...

 

It has nothing to do with whether or not an image is "open".

 

It is the bootloader which determines from which device the box boots, like with any other linux distributions. The default bootloader is made by the manufacturer.

 

The box itself does not have any issues booting from alternative locations, even from NFS if you want to, you only need to know how to modify the boot process... 


Currently in use: VU+Duo 4K (2xFBC S2), Amiko Viper T2C (T2), SAB Alpha Triple HD (S2+T2), Zgemma H3.T2C (T/C), Zgemma H6 (fallback), VU+Zero (fallback)

Many answers to your question can be found in our new and improved wiki.

note: I do not provide support via PM !

 


Re: Flashexpander #7 littlesat

  • PLi® Core member
  • 48,956 posts

+522
Excellent

Posted 22 August 2019 - 18:23

Sorry for replying in dutch earlier in this thead...

Just to give my 2 cents on the solution from Vix...
https://github.com/O...ens/H9SDswap.py
I think such code for one box does not belong into standard e2....

Maybe better to create a plugin for it that shows the screen and do the same... as far I can see every image could use it that way... and put it eg to e2openplugin...
The code made there looks really good code except of the function named uhm and it misses a check for recordings etc before it is executed and the box rebooted (see flashimage) and maybe it misses a warning that the media (sd card. Usb) is overwritten with data. but as far I can see as screen runned from a plugin it will work on any image and it might also work on other boxes with the same system as this box.

Edited by littlesat, 22 August 2019 - 18:43.

WaveFrontier 28.2E | 23.5E | 19.2E | 16E | 13E | 10/9E | 7E | 5E | 1W | 4/5W | 15W


Re: Flashexpander #8 twol

  • Senior Member
  • 253 posts

+7
Neutral

Posted 22 August 2019 - 19:19

@Littlesat -must admit didn‘t think about Recordings running, but that should also be picked up in the shutdown code (at least in ViX), but you are correct about the SD card - I always think people know what they are doing, but unfortunately thats been proved wrong many times.
The only real issue is installing the bootargs during the build.

Having said all that this was meant to be a quick fix, whilst Zgemma fixed the issue, except they invented their boot & recovery system for all their boxes, but forgot about the H9
Gigablue Quad 4K & UE 4K
.........FBC Tuners:
------------------> DUR-Line DCR 5-1-8-L4 Multiswitch to 1.5M dish(28.2E)
------------------> Spaun SUS 5581/33 NFA Multiswitch to 80 cm dish(19.2E)
.........DVB-S2X into 90cm dish (27.5W)
Edision Osmio 4K using Legacy ports on multiswitches
Octagon SF8008 DVB-S2X tuner using Legacy ports on multiswitches
Zgemma H9 C/S into Giga4K
Zgemma H9Combo legacy ports on multiswitches
Zgemma H9twin using legacy ports
Multibox
Dinobot Mini 4K

Re: Flashexpander #9 littlesat

  • PLi® Core member
  • 48,956 posts

+522
Excellent

Posted 22 August 2019 - 19:29

Sorry tryquitmainloop is right... so that is covered(unless it can be considered to check it at the start of the procedure and do a hard quitloop)
They did not make changes to it because the h9combo, h7 etc had sufficient flash for the four slot system...
still a pitty that this ‘screen’ was not a plugin ;)
Did you made this? Then I have to give you complements as you did it right and clean!

Edited by littlesat, 22 August 2019 - 19:34.

WaveFrontier 28.2E | 23.5E | 19.2E | 16E | 13E | 10/9E | 7E | 5E | 1W | 4/5W | 15W


Re: Flashexpander #10 mrvica

  • Senior Member
  • 705 posts

+43
Good

Posted 24 August 2019 - 17:40

I made a plugin out of it, I just added main, I think it is ok, the code should be checked before putting on git, copy to SystemPlugins and restart Enigma2

 

Attached Files






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users