Jump to content


Photo

Windows File explorer doesn't access Vu+ in a "short" network


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 sjlouis

  • Senior Member
  • 1,447 posts

+3
Neutral

Posted 26 November 2019 - 15:32

Hi,

 

In another home, I haven't an Internet box and I have connected a Windows PC and my old Xtrend Et9000 with a TP-Link switch and if I can access the Et9000 from the PC with a Telnet session or with Dreamboxedit, and if I see the Et9000 in the Windows file explorer, I can't access it. When I click on the Et9000, Windows searches et finally displays an error message.

 

In my principal home, I have an Internet box which manages the network and I can access the Et9000 from Windows file explorer except when I use Dreamboxedit. I have to restart the Vu+ to access it again from Windows file explorer.

 

Does somebody has an idea of the problem ?

 

Thank you :) .


Vu+ Ultimo 4K - OpenPli 6.2

Xtrend ET9200 - OpenPli 6.2


Re: Windows File explorer doesn't access Vu+ in a "short" network #2 WanWizard

  • Forum Moderator
    PLi® Core member
  • 49,495 posts

+873
Excellent

Posted 26 November 2019 - 16:07

What OpenPLi version running on those boxes?

 

If OpenPLi 4, chances are that it still runs on SMBv1 and NetBOIS broadcasting, which is currently disabled everywhere due to its enormous security holes...


Currently in use: VU+Duo 4K (2xFBC S2), Amiko Viper T2C (T2), SAB Alpha Triple HD (S2+T2), Zgemma H3.T2C (T/C), Zgemma H6 (fallback), VU+Zero (fallback)

Many answers to your question can be found in our new and improved wiki.

note: I do not provide support via PM !

 


Re: Windows File explorer doesn't access Vu+ in a "short" network #3 sjlouis

  • Senior Member
  • 1,447 posts

+3
Neutral

Posted 26 November 2019 - 16:14

I use October 6.2 Pli versions on the 2 boxes.


Vu+ Ultimo 4K - OpenPli 6.2

Xtrend ET9200 - OpenPli 6.2


Re: Windows File explorer doesn't access Vu+ in a "short" network #4 WanWizard

  • Forum Moderator
    PLi® Core member
  • 49,495 posts

+873
Excellent

Posted 26 November 2019 - 18:57

DreamboxEdit uses FTP, Windows uses SMB/CIFS. There is no relation between the two, so I don't understand the problem you have, and why a restart would fix that problem.

 

As to the Windows connection issue, check the /etc/smb.conf on the box, and make sure it has:

client min protocol = SMB1
client max protocol = SMB3
protocol = SMB2

Currently in use: VU+Duo 4K (2xFBC S2), Amiko Viper T2C (T2), SAB Alpha Triple HD (S2+T2), Zgemma H3.T2C (T/C), Zgemma H6 (fallback), VU+Zero (fallback)

Many answers to your question can be found in our new and improved wiki.

note: I do not provide support via PM !

 


Re: Windows File explorer doesn't access Vu+ in a "short" network #5 sjlouis

  • Senior Member
  • 1,447 posts

+3
Neutral

Posted 27 November 2019 - 09:30

Ok, I shall check this file this evening.

 

I think Dreamboxedit executes a service or a command which breaks the link with Windows file explorer and when I restart the box, this link is built again but I don't know, I'm not good with network.


Vu+ Ultimo 4K - OpenPli 6.2

Xtrend ET9200 - OpenPli 6.2


Re: Windows File explorer doesn't access Vu+ in a "short" network #6 fg54

  • Member
  • 13 posts

0
Neutral

Posted 27 November 2019 - 16:24

OpenPLi 7.2 rc 20191126

 

.

 

 

Attached Files



Re: Windows File explorer doesn't access Vu+ in a "short" network #7 sjlouis

  • Senior Member
  • 1,447 posts

+3
Neutral

Posted 27 November 2019 - 16:30

Yes, I have the second message with the possibility to diagnose the problem even if Windows doesn't identify this problem.


Vu+ Ultimo 4K - OpenPli 6.2

Xtrend ET9200 - OpenPli 6.2


Re: Windows File explorer doesn't access Vu+ in a "short" network #8 sjlouis

  • Senior Member
  • 1,447 posts

+3
Neutral

Posted 27 November 2019 - 19:12

WanWizard, I've found the file in /etc/samba and I haven't theses lines in the Vu+ and in the Xtrend. I can add them but there are 4 sections. Is it the first one ?

[global]
workgroup = WORKGROUP
deadtime = 15
max smbd processes = 6
max log size = 5
guest account = root
load printers = no
show add printer wizard = no
printcap name = /dev/null
disable spoolss = yes
map to guest = Bad Password
security = user
server role = standalone server
unix password sync = yes

[root]
path = /
read only = no
guest ok = yes
browseable = yes
create mask = 0777
directory mask = 0777

[Media]
path = /media
read only = no
guest ok = yes
browseable = yes
public = yes
writable = yes
available = yes
create mask = 0777
directory mask = 0777

[Harddisk]
path = /media/hdd
read only = no
guest ok = yes
browseable = yes
public = yes
writable = yes
available = yes
create mask = 0777
directory mask = 0777

Thank you :) .


Vu+ Ultimo 4K - OpenPli 6.2

Xtrend ET9200 - OpenPli 6.2


Re: Windows File explorer doesn't access Vu+ in a "short" network #9 WanWizard

  • Forum Moderator
    PLi® Core member
  • 49,495 posts

+873
Excellent

Posted 27 November 2019 - 22:18

In the global section.

 

Also, make sure the box has the correct time, Samba won't start if the time of the box is still 1970, in which case it's obvious that it doesn't work.

 

Check in the process list (Menu - About - Info - Troubleshoot) if smbd, nmbd and wsdd are running...


Currently in use: VU+Duo 4K (2xFBC S2), Amiko Viper T2C (T2), SAB Alpha Triple HD (S2+T2), Zgemma H3.T2C (T/C), Zgemma H6 (fallback), VU+Zero (fallback)

Many answers to your question can be found in our new and improved wiki.

note: I do not provide support via PM !

 


Re: Windows File explorer doesn't access Vu+ in a "short" network #10 sjlouis

  • Senior Member
  • 1,447 posts

+3
Neutral

Posted 29 November 2019 - 18:43

Hello WanWizard,

 

Sorry for this long time but I've noticed that the problem doesn't appear with Dreamboxedit. Then I did other tests to see that it is with Backupsuite. When I do a backup, I can't access the Vu+ with Windows file explorer. If I restart OpenPli, it's not good. I have to restart the box to access the box with file explorer.

 

I've looked up to the Troubleshoot (I didn't know this function ;) ) and I've seen :

/usr/sbin/smbd
{smbd-no tified} /usr/sbin/smbd
{cleanupd] /usr/sbin/smbd

...

/usr/sbin/smbd
{smbd-no tified} /usr/sbin/smbd
{cleanupd] /usr/sbin/smbd
{smbd-no tified} /usr/sbin/smbd
{cleanupd] /usr/sbin/smbd
{smbd-no tified} /usr/sbin/nmbd
{cleanupd] /usr/sbin/wsbd

I've added your 3 lines in the [global] section and with these lines, it never works with Windows file explorer :unsure: .


Vu+ Ultimo 4K - OpenPli 6.2

Xtrend ET9200 - OpenPli 6.2


Re: Windows File explorer doesn't access Vu+ in a "short" network #11 WanWizard

  • Forum Moderator
    PLi® Core member
  • 49,495 posts

+873
Excellent

Posted 29 November 2019 - 19:12

I assume you've seen this in the "top" screen, like so:

Attached File  1_0_19_1B1D_802_2_11A0000_0_0_0_20191129180631.jpg   138.44KB   1 downloads

 

So from the box side it looks fine. As I don't use Windows myself, I have no clue what the problem might be.


Currently in use: VU+Duo 4K (2xFBC S2), Amiko Viper T2C (T2), SAB Alpha Triple HD (S2+T2), Zgemma H3.T2C (T/C), Zgemma H6 (fallback), VU+Zero (fallback)

Many answers to your question can be found in our new and improved wiki.

note: I do not provide support via PM !

 


Re: Windows File explorer doesn't access Vu+ in a "short" network #12 sjlouis

  • Senior Member
  • 1,447 posts

+3
Neutral

Posted 29 November 2019 - 19:24

I have a page which is similar with yours even if it's not exactly the same and it's the 4th page and the second bock with wsbd in the next page.

 

OK, thank you all the same ;) .


Vu+ Ultimo 4K - OpenPli 6.2

Xtrend ET9200 - OpenPli 6.2





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users


    Bing (1)