Jump to content


Photo

Zgemma H7S scaler sharpness


  • Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

#1 mrvica

  • Senior Member
  • 758 posts

+45
Good

Posted 27 November 2019 - 16:30

I bought a used H7S receiver, to my surprise I couldn´t change the scaler sharpness in Audio/Video A/V settings at all, the option is there means the firmware should support it, nothing happens, seems to be set to 0 always, the picture looks blurred, unsharp, on my older cheap Airdigital box i could get crispy picture increasing the scaler sharpness, any idea, is my box faulty, the image is latest OpenPLi, I tried the older h7_?.ko driver, the same, can someone with the same box check it, should I try another Open Image?

Re: Zgemma H7S scaler sharpness #2 twol

  • Senior Member
  • 289 posts

+8
Neutral

Posted 27 November 2019 - 18:24

I doubt very much that it is the receiver!

What is the TV model and what settings do you have/or changed.

 

The issue is that a picture image is a very personal issue (peoples eyes see different things) -  even with THX certification on better TV's people don't accept the values and will fiddle.


Gigablue Quad 4K & UE 4K
.........FBC Tuners:
------------------> DUR-Line DCR 5-1-8-L4 Multiswitch to 1.5M dish(28.2E)
------------------> Spaun SUS 5581/33 NFA Multiswitch to 80 cm dish(19.2E)
.........DVB-S2X into 90cm dish (27.5W)

Octagon SF8008 DVB-S2X tuner using Legacy ports on multiswitches
Edision Osmio 4K+, Zgemma H9Combo and Multibox using Legacy ports on multiswitches
Zgemma H9twin & Zgemma H9 C/S mode into Giga4K
 


Re: Zgemma H7S scaler sharpness #3 mrvica

  • Senior Member
  • 758 posts

+45
Good

Posted 27 November 2019 - 18:34

I didn´t try any other settings or tools, Video Enhancment plugin is not installed, the scaler sharpness has just no effect, strange

Re: Zgemma H7S scaler sharpness #4 twol

  • Senior Member
  • 289 posts

+8
Neutral

Posted 27 November 2019 - 18:47

You shouldn‘t need it....... manufacturers constantly add gizmo‘s like this that usually ruin the original picture - you should be looking at the TV not the receiver as the issue.


Edited by twol, 27 November 2019 - 18:49.

Gigablue Quad 4K & UE 4K
.........FBC Tuners:
------------------> DUR-Line DCR 5-1-8-L4 Multiswitch to 1.5M dish(28.2E)
------------------> Spaun SUS 5581/33 NFA Multiswitch to 80 cm dish(19.2E)
.........DVB-S2X into 90cm dish (27.5W)

Octagon SF8008 DVB-S2X tuner using Legacy ports on multiswitches
Edision Osmio 4K+, Zgemma H9Combo and Multibox using Legacy ports on multiswitches
Zgemma H9twin & Zgemma H9 C/S mode into Giga4K
 


Re: Zgemma H7S scaler sharpness #5 mrvica

  • Senior Member
  • 758 posts

+45
Good

Posted 27 November 2019 - 18:59

I need it badly, I like the picture of my previous box, the picture of H7S is blurry, if someone can point me to a driver with enabled scaler sharpness, I bougt the box because we are here moving from DVB-T to DVB-T2 hevc H.265, I just needed a new box, forgot to mention, I watch TV mostly on HDMI 24 inch 1080p monitor



Re: Zgemma H7S scaler sharpness #6 betacentauri

  • PLi® Core member
  • 5,596 posts

+254
Excellent

Posted 27 November 2019 - 19:28

If it’s such a problem, send it back to the seller.
Xtrend ET-9200, ET-8000, ET-10000, OpenPliPC on Ubuntu 12.04

Re: Zgemma H7S scaler sharpness #7 kalehrl

  • Senior Member
  • 403 posts

+6
Neutral

Posted 27 November 2019 - 21:30

The scaler sharpness only applies to SD content.

HD channels are not affected at all when changing it.

The default value is in the middle of the bar, 13.

If you set it to 0, SD channels will be blurry.

If you set it to the other end of scale, 26, they will be oversharpened.

HD channels are not affected.



Re: Zgemma H7S scaler sharpness #8 littlesat

  • PLi® Core member
  • 49,731 posts

+543
Excellent

Posted 27 November 2019 - 21:51

Here never an issue with blurry picture.... sounds like a simple tv setting. Overscan issue??? You never get a better picture as the default....

Edited by littlesat, 27 November 2019 - 21:51.

WaveFrontier 28.2E | 23.5E | 19.2E | 16E | 13E | 10/9E | 7E | 5E | 1W | 4/5W | 15W


Re: Zgemma H7S scaler sharpness #9 WanWizard

  • Forum Moderator
    PLi® Core member
  • 49,495 posts

+873
Excellent

Posted 27 November 2019 - 22:13

If it's blurry on 1080p on a 24" screen, are you sure it's set to that output, and not to something else, in which case you TV can do all sorts of weird scaling...


Currently in use: VU+Duo 4K (2xFBC S2), Amiko Viper T2C (T2), SAB Alpha Triple HD (S2+T2), Zgemma H3.T2C (T/C), Zgemma H6 (fallback), VU+Zero (fallback)

Many answers to your question can be found in our new and improved wiki.

note: I do not provide support via PM !

 


Re: Zgemma H7S scaler sharpness #10 mrvica

  • Senior Member
  • 758 posts

+45
Good

Posted 28 November 2019 - 16:17

I take it all back, I stand corrected, I checked it once again in terminal, it is not that distinctive like on my previos box, on H7S if I put the slider completely to the right it is abot the half sharpness like on my previos box, Zgemma could really encrease the values a bit, If someone will test it in terminal, you see the results instantly

 

to put sharpness to 0

echo 0 > /proc/stb/vmpeg/0/pep_scaler_sharpness

 

to put sharpness to max

echo 26 > /proc/stb/vmpeg/0/pep_scaler_sharpness

 

to put sharpness to default

echo D > /proc/stb/vmpeg/0/pep_scaler_sharpness

 

to get the current value

cat /proc/stb/vmpeg/0/pep_scaler_sharpness

 

the values are in hex



Re: Zgemma H7S scaler sharpness #11 WanWizard

  • Forum Moderator
    PLi® Core member
  • 49,495 posts

+873
Excellent

Posted 28 November 2019 - 23:48

If tthose values are hex: this suggests the code uses decimal values: https://github.com/O...VSwitch.py#L212

 

If my thinking is correct, this means you'll never get to 100%? Or is it decimal on every box, except the H7?


Currently in use: VU+Duo 4K (2xFBC S2), Amiko Viper T2C (T2), SAB Alpha Triple HD (S2+T2), Zgemma H3.T2C (T/C), Zgemma H6 (fallback), VU+Zero (fallback)

Many answers to your question can be found in our new and improved wiki.

note: I do not provide support via PM !

 


Re: Zgemma H7S scaler sharpness #12 littlesat

  • PLi® Core member
  • 49,731 posts

+543
Excellent

Posted 29 November 2019 - 07:48

The notifyer converts it to hex so it should be good...

Edited by littlesat, 29 November 2019 - 07:48.

WaveFrontier 28.2E | 23.5E | 19.2E | 16E | 13E | 10/9E | 7E | 5E | 1W | 4/5W | 15W


Re: Zgemma H7S scaler sharpness #13 WanWizard

  • Forum Moderator
    PLi® Core member
  • 49,495 posts

+873
Excellent

Posted 29 November 2019 - 13:29

26 decimal isn't 26 hex?


Currently in use: VU+Duo 4K (2xFBC S2), Amiko Viper T2C (T2), SAB Alpha Triple HD (S2+T2), Zgemma H3.T2C (T/C), Zgemma H6 (fallback), VU+Zero (fallback)

Many answers to your question can be found in our new and improved wiki.

note: I do not provide support via PM !

 


Re: Zgemma H7S scaler sharpness #14 littlesat

  • PLi® Core member
  • 49,731 posts

+543
Excellent

Posted 29 November 2019 - 13:45

                if os.path.exists("/proc/stb/vmpeg/0/pep_scaler_sharpness"):
                               def setScaler_sharpness(config):
                                               myval = int(config.value)
                                               try:
                                                               print "--> setting scaler_sharpness to: %0.8X" % myval
                                                               open("/proc/stb/vmpeg/0/pep_scaler_sharpness", "w").write("%0.8X" % myval)
                                                               open("/proc/stb/vmpeg/0/pep_apply", "w").write("1")
                                               except IOError:
                                                               print "couldn't write pep_scaler_sharpness"
 
                               config.av.scaler_sharpness = ConfigSlider(default=13, limits=(0,26))
                               config.av.scaler_sharpness.addNotifier(setScaler_sharpness)
 
>>> print "%0.8X" % 26
0000001A
 
Maybe the drivers do not expect the leading zero's here...? Can someone check...
Other drivers (in the past) need them... 
I would not prefer a work-a-round
 
And brrr.. what is the debug code here ugly :) made I think by me long long long time ago..
 
And unless this it is totally not required to play with these parameters as you really do nog get a shapper picture with upscaling SD to HD. It just adds more artifacts to it when you increase the value.

Edited by littlesat, 29 November 2019 - 13:47.

WaveFrontier 28.2E | 23.5E | 19.2E | 16E | 13E | 10/9E | 7E | 5E | 1W | 4/5W | 15W


Re: Zgemma H7S scaler sharpness #15 WanWizard

  • Forum Moderator
    PLi® Core member
  • 49,495 posts

+873
Excellent

Posted 29 November 2019 - 13:52

That is what I say. 1Ah is not 26h.

 

According to @mrvica the input max value is hex 26 (which is 38 decimal).


Currently in use: VU+Duo 4K (2xFBC S2), Amiko Viper T2C (T2), SAB Alpha Triple HD (S2+T2), Zgemma H3.T2C (T/C), Zgemma H6 (fallback), VU+Zero (fallback)

Many answers to your question can be found in our new and improved wiki.

note: I do not provide support via PM !

 


Re: Zgemma H7S scaler sharpness #16 mrvica

  • Senior Member
  • 758 posts

+45
Good

Posted 29 November 2019 - 14:11

see next post


Edited by mrvica, 29 November 2019 - 14:13.


Re: Zgemma H7S scaler sharpness #17 mrvica

  • Senior Member
  • 758 posts

+45
Good

Posted 29 November 2019 - 14:12

I like crisp, sharp picture like on my previous box, two .mvi files included for comparing, you can open them with the file commander or in terminal with showiframe, once blurry and once crisp, I wish I could make it more sharper on Zgemma, someone with good contacts to Zgemma? H7 looks like rebranded Mutant HD51 or AX51, can someone do the cross check?

 

Attached Files



Re: Zgemma H7S scaler sharpness #18 littlesat

  • PLi® Core member
  • 49,731 posts

+543
Excellent

Posted 29 November 2019 - 14:30

I would like to see how the box respond on...

 

 

echo 0000001A > /proc/stb/vmpeg/0/pep_scaler_sharpness

echo 1 > /proc/stb/vmpeg/0/pep_apply

cat  /proc/stb/vmpeg/0/pep_scaler_sharpness

 

<observe picure>

 

echo 00000000 > /proc/stb/vmpeg/0/pep_scaler_sharpness

echo 1 > /proc/stb/vmpeg/0/pep_apply

cat  /proc/stb/vmpeg/0/pep_scaler_sharpness

 

<observe picure>

 

- and -

 

echo 1A > /proc/stb/vmpeg/0/pep_scaler_sharpness

echo 1 > /proc/stb/vmpeg/0/pep_apply

cat  /proc/stb/vmpeg/0/pep_scaler_sharpness

 

<observe picure>

 

echo 0 > /proc/stb/vmpeg/0/pep_scaler_sharpness

echo 1 > /proc/stb/vmpeg/0/pep_apply

cat  /proc/stb/vmpeg/0/pep_scaler_sharpness

 

<observe picure>

 

echo 0000000D > /proc/stb/vmpeg/0/pep_scaler_sharpness

echo 1 > /proc/stb/vmpeg/0/pep_apply

cat  /proc/stb/vmpeg/0/pep_scaler_sharpness

 

<observe picure>

 

echo D > /proc/stb/vmpeg/0/pep_scaler_sharpness

echo 1 > /proc/stb/vmpeg/0/pep_apply

cat  /proc/stb/vmpeg/0/pep_scaler_sharpness

 

?


WaveFrontier 28.2E | 23.5E | 19.2E | 16E | 13E | 10/9E | 7E | 5E | 1W | 4/5W | 15W


Re: Zgemma H7S scaler sharpness #19 mrvica

  • Senior Member
  • 758 posts

+45
Good

Posted 29 November 2019 - 15:12

here you are, without any changes to AVSwitch.py

root@h7:/var/volatile/tmp# echo 0000001A > /proc/stb/vmpeg/0/pep_scaler_sharpness
root@h7:/var/volatile/tmp# cat /proc/stb/vmpeg/0/pep_scaler_sharpness
0000001A
root@h7:/var/volatile/tmp# echo 1 > /proc/stb/vmpeg/0/pep_apply
root@h7:/var/volatile/tmp# cat /proc/stb/vmpeg/0/pep_scaler_sharpness
0000001A
root@h7:/var/volatile/tmp# echo 00000000 > /proc/stb/vmpeg/0/pep_scaler_sharpness
root@h7:/var/volatile/tmp# cat /proc/stb/vmpeg/0/pep_scaler_sharpness
00000000
root@h7:/var/volatile/tmp# echo 1 > /proc/stb/vmpeg/0/pep_apply
root@h7:/var/volatile/tmp# cat /proc/stb/vmpeg/0/pep_scaler_sharpness
00000000
root@h7:/var/volatile/tmp# echo 1A > /proc/stb/vmpeg/0/pep_scaler_sharpness
root@h7:/var/volatile/tmp# cat /proc/stb/vmpeg/0/pep_scaler_sharpness
1A
root@h7:/var/volatile/tmp# echo 1 > /proc/stb/vmpeg/0/pep_apply
root@h7:/var/volatile/tmp# cat /proc/stb/vmpeg/0/pep_scaler_sharpness
1A
root@h7:/var/volatile/tmp# echo 0 > /proc/stb/vmpeg/0/pep_scaler_sharpness
root@h7:/var/volatile/tmp# cat /proc/stb/vmpeg/0/pep_scaler_sharpness
0
root@h7:/var/volatile/tmp# echo 1 > /proc/stb/vmpeg/0/pep_apply
root@h7:/var/volatile/tmp# cat /proc/stb/vmpeg/0/pep_scaler_sharpness
0
root@h7:/var/volatile/tmp# echo 0000000D > /proc/stb/vmpeg/0/pep_scaler_sharpness
root@h7:/var/volatile/tmp# cat /proc/stb/vmpeg/0/pep_scaler_sharpness
0000000D
root@h7:/var/volatile/tmp# echo 1 > /proc/stb/vmpeg/0/pep_apply
root@h7:/var/volatile/tmp# cat /proc/stb/vmpeg/0/pep_scaler_sharpness
0000000D
root@h7:/var/volatile/tmp# echo D > /proc/stb/vmpeg/0/pep_scaler_sharpness
root@h7:/var/volatile/tmp# cat /proc/stb/vmpeg/0/pep_scaler_sharpness
D
root@h7:/var/volatile/tmp# echo 1 > /proc/stb/vmpeg/0/pep_apply
root@h7:/var/volatile/tmp# cat /proc/stb/vmpeg/0/pep_scaler_sharpness
D
root@h7:/var/volatile/tmp#

both D / 1A  or 0000000D / 0000001A works



Re: Zgemma H7S scaler sharpness #20 littlesat

  • PLi® Core member
  • 49,731 posts

+543
Excellent

Posted 29 November 2019 - 15:29

But do you also see response on the screen (when tuned to an SD service)?


WaveFrontier 28.2E | 23.5E | 19.2E | 16E | 13E | 10/9E | 7E | 5E | 1W | 4/5W | 15W





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users