Jump to content


Photo

VU+ Duo 4k change SNR from % to db


  • Please log in to reply
64 replies to this topic

#1 moli87

  • Senior Member
  • 53 posts

0
Neutral

Posted 30 April 2020 - 14:41

Hi All,

 

First of all, thank you for all the hard work trough the years. Im using OpenPli for more than 10 years now and it is still my favourite.

 

Second thing is i know that VU+ cant show SNR in db out of the box.

 

Some Years ago when i bought the Solo 4k i had the same Problem and i could find a modified FrontendInfo.py file for the solo 4k.

 

Just to know if the code still would work for the Duo 4k i tried it out and it worked for the SNR part. Its showing now SNR in db for Sat and Cable.

 

But im missing now the Tuner Slot Info in the Infobar....there is just N/A instead of "A B I". Of yourse i made a backup of the original file and if i restore it the Tuner Info is back, but also the SNR in %.

 

Can somebody point me to the original FrontendInfo.py file from VU+ Duo 4K, so i can try to adjust that original file instead to use that from Solo 4K. The Image on the Duo 4K is the latest OpenPli 7.2.

 

If you are wondering why i want that in db, it is just cause i like it more than %, even if it is not so accurate as like the %. i never used the % so i am used to db. ^^



Re: VU+ Duo 4k change SNR from % to db #2 jpuigs

  • Senior Member
  • 1,143 posts

+32
Good

Posted 30 April 2020 - 14:57

dB don't work on any VU+ 4K box...

 

Asked it one year ago.

https://forums.openp...uno-4kse-sn-db/


Edited by jpuigs, 30 April 2020 - 14:58.

Enigma is getting old....

 

Spoiler

Re: VU+ Duo 4k change SNR from % to db #3 moli87

  • Senior Member
  • 53 posts

0
Neutral

Posted 30 April 2020 - 15:24

@jpuigs

 

Hi,

 

As i wrote it is working with the modification, but with the side effect, that im missing Tuner Slot Info above SNR...There is "N/A" instead of "A B I".

 

If i could get the original py file i can try to modify it as my py file is too old for that and it is missing a lot of code. My py file is just 3 KB...the compiled one on the Duo 4k is already about 5 KB.

 

Would be nice if somebody can point me to that original py file.

 

It is working also on my Solo 4K which i did some years ago and the modification is not from me...a member from this forum made the modification.

                        if self.source.snr_db is not None:
				return "%3.02f dB" % (self.source.snr_db / 100.0)
			elif self.source.snr is not None: #fallback to normal SNR...
				return "%3.1f dB" % (((self.source.snr / (65536.0 / 100.0)) * 0.1800) - 1.0000)
		elif self.type == self.TUNER_TYPE:
			return self.source.frontend_type and self.frontend_type or "Unknown"
		if percent is None:
			return "N/A"
		return "%d %%" % ((percent *100) / 65536)

Edited by moli87, 30 April 2020 - 15:29.


Re: VU+ Duo 4k change SNR from % to db #4 jpuigs

  • Senior Member
  • 1,143 posts

+32
Good

Posted 30 April 2020 - 15:46

But that value.... will be correct ???

(((self.source.snr / (65536.0 / 100.0)) * 0.1800) - 1.0000)

If it were the right one..... don't you think it would already be inserted into openpli code ?


Enigma is getting old....

 

Spoiler

Re: VU+ Duo 4k change SNR from % to db #5 littlesat

  • PLi® Core member
  • 57,463 posts

+708
Excellent

Posted 30 April 2020 - 15:47

First this should not be done in python as fix...

The value in db was first intended as a kind of tuned value over all receivers. So in 

https://github.com/O...vb/frontend.cpp

we do depending on the tuner type calculate a value between 0-65535 to a value in dB with different formula's...

 

For some manufacturers we received a formular to recalculate them. But then we see the results were different and not comparable.

 

From VU+ itself we never received a formular for a specific tuner.

 

When someone can make a good recalculation it could be considere to add it... but still it is just an indication.


WaveFrontier 28.2E | 23.5E | 19.2E | 16E | 13E | 10/9E | 7E | 5E | 1W | 4/5W | 15W


Re: VU+ Duo 4k change SNR from % to db #6 littlesat

  • PLi® Core member
  • 57,463 posts

+708
Excellent

Posted 30 April 2020 - 15:49

It look like we need this formular

 

return "%3.1f dB" % (((self.source.snr / (65536.0 / 100.0)) * 0.1800) - 1.0000)

 

somewhere with a check in tuner type in frontend.cpp

 

how are you sure this is a good calculation?


Edited by littlesat, 30 April 2020 - 15:49.

WaveFrontier 28.2E | 23.5E | 19.2E | 16E | 13E | 10/9E | 7E | 5E | 1W | 4/5W | 15W


Re: VU+ Duo 4k change SNR from % to db #7 moli87

  • Senior Member
  • 53 posts

0
Neutral

Posted 30 April 2020 - 16:18

@littlesat

 

im not 100% sure, cause the formula is not from me. I found it here in the forum some years ago but its the one im using in my solo4k without side effects.

 

Now i would like to implement that piece of code into the original py file. Dont know why he did it in the py file but for me the fix would be enough.

 

Even the toggle in the settings is working on the solo 4k i can switch to % when i toggle it on in the GUI settings.

 

As i compared to a Dreambox once the db was nearly accurate, but this should be tested better than i have done.

 

Only thing on the solo 4k it is just working for Sat and not for Cable. Now on the duo 4k it is working for both but with the above described side effect.

 

I would like to try to adjust it for both boxes. How can i et those py files?

 

From the image directly?



Re: VU+ Duo 4k change SNR from % to db #8 littlesat

  • PLi® Core member
  • 57,463 posts

+708
Excellent

Posted 30 April 2020 - 16:35

For cable you need a different formuler...

WaveFrontier 28.2E | 23.5E | 19.2E | 16E | 13E | 10/9E | 7E | 5E | 1W | 4/5W | 15W


Re: VU+ Duo 4k change SNR from % to db #9 Trial

  • Senior Member
  • 1,128 posts

+34
Good

Posted 30 April 2020 - 18:32

Hi,

this is not the real dB it is only the % with a factor which is perhaps near the real value. I am also not sure if the same factor can be used for all tuner boards which only deliver %. Normally a formula for each tuner must be found.

 

Ralf



Re: VU+ Duo 4k change SNR from % to db #10 moli87

  • Senior Member
  • 53 posts

0
Neutral

Posted 1 May 2020 - 15:16

Hi,

 

We know all that this is not real dB. For me its ok, its working and its near the real value as i compared some years ago.

 

If i compare now between the VU+ Solo 4K and the Duo 4K they have the same values. On the same channel they jump from 10.3 dB to 10.6 dB.

 

You dont need to implement that formula into the image if its not the best solution.

 

But i asked if somebody can point me to the original fronteninfo.py file, that would be really nice. Where can i find the uncompiled frontendinfo.py file?



Re: VU+ Duo 4k change SNR from % to db #11 moli87

  • Senior Member
  • 53 posts

0
Neutral

Posted 2 May 2020 - 01:48

Can i use this one for the solo 4k and also for the duo 4k?

 

https://github.com/O...FrontendInfo.py



Re: VU+ Duo 4k change SNR from % to db #12 moli87

  • Senior Member
  • 53 posts

0
Neutral

Posted 3 May 2020 - 15:44

Nobody from the devs can answer that short Question? Please just tell me if i can use this fronteninfo.py from github for both solo 4k and duo 4k?

 

https://github.com/O...FrontendInfo.py


Edited by moli87, 3 May 2020 - 15:54.


Re: VU+ Duo 4k change SNR from % to db #13 WanWizard

  • PLi® Core member
  • 70,901 posts

+1,833
Excellent

Posted 3 May 2020 - 16:55

The code is the same for all boxes.

 

But the file you point at is from the develop branch, which might possibly crash if implemented on a release image.


Currently in use: VU+ Duo 4K (2xFBC S2), VU+ Solo 4K (1xFBC S2), uClan Usytm 4K Ultimate (S2+T2), Octagon SF8008 (S2+T2), Zgemma H9.2H (S2+T2)

Due to my bad health, I will not be very active at times and may be slow to respond. I will not read the forum or PM on a regular basis.

Many answers to your question can be found in our new and improved wiki.


Re: VU+ Duo 4k change SNR from % to db #14 moli87

  • Senior Member
  • 53 posts

0
Neutral

Posted 4 May 2020 - 23:29

Hi WanWizard

 

Could you point me please to the right one? 

 

thx


Edited by moli87, 4 May 2020 - 23:29.


Re: VU+ Duo 4k change SNR from % to db #15 WanWizard

  • PLi® Core member
  • 70,901 posts

+1,833
Excellent

Posted 5 May 2020 - 09:15

You need to select the "7.2-release" branch in github (or do a checkout in a local git clone).


Currently in use: VU+ Duo 4K (2xFBC S2), VU+ Solo 4K (1xFBC S2), uClan Usytm 4K Ultimate (S2+T2), Octagon SF8008 (S2+T2), Zgemma H9.2H (S2+T2)

Due to my bad health, I will not be very active at times and may be slow to respond. I will not read the forum or PM on a regular basis.

Many answers to your question can be found in our new and improved wiki.


Re: VU+ Duo 4k change SNR from % to db #16 moli87

  • Senior Member
  • 53 posts

0
Neutral

Posted 5 May 2020 - 17:52

Ah i see...i was on the dev branch. Thank you WanWizard. I will give it a try.



Re: VU+ Duo 4k change SNR from % to db #17 littlesat

  • PLi® Core member
  • 57,463 posts

+708
Excellent

Posted 5 May 2020 - 18:09

You should not do this in python.... the tuner type with calculation should be added in frontend.cpp to be in compliance with all other tuners.

WaveFrontier 28.2E | 23.5E | 19.2E | 16E | 13E | 10/9E | 7E | 5E | 1W | 4/5W | 15W


Re: VU+ Duo 4k change SNR from % to db #18 moli87

  • Senior Member
  • 53 posts

0
Neutral

Posted 5 May 2020 - 18:17

ok but where can i find that frontend.cpp?



Re: VU+ Duo 4k change SNR from % to db #19 littlesat

  • PLi® Core member
  • 57,463 posts

+708
Excellent

Posted 5 May 2020 - 18:38

Here
https://github.com/O...vb/frontend.cpp
From line 929...
Here you can find all the calculations to dB... the three type need to be added there...

Edited by littlesat, 5 May 2020 - 18:40.

WaveFrontier 28.2E | 23.5E | 19.2E | 16E | 13E | 10/9E | 7E | 5E | 1W | 4/5W | 15W


Re: VU+ Duo 4k change SNR from % to db #20 moli87

  • Senior Member
  • 53 posts

0
Neutral

Posted 5 May 2020 - 23:48

ok i will try to implement it in frontend.cpp but for now im quite happy. Both tuner in both vu+ are showing in db and the switch in the UI settings is also working. Sat and Cable tuner are showing in db now.

 

VU+ Solo 4k openpli 6.2

VU+ Duo 4k openpli 7.2

 

I did download the FrontendInfo.py file for each image release and implement that calculation. It works fine for me....nothing missing. As far as i know they have different sat and cable tuner is that true?

With this calculation i have for cable always 17.0 db on both receiver which is 100 %. And on Sat it looks also good the values are the same as far i can see. Maybe this would also need more testing, but for me thats more than enough.

 

But still i will try to do it in frontend.cpp.

 

Thanks for the support


Edited by moli87, 5 May 2020 - 23:51.



1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users