Reading the RF signal level

• Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 Oliver.M.

• 12 posts

Neutral

Posted 3 June 2020 - 12:58

Hi All,

I would like to build an application for reading the RF level on the tuner card.

I have some past experience building Enigma 2 plug-in's so the UI design etc. shouldn't be an issue.

Is there an enigma Python module I can import / use to read the RF level or use to interact with the tuner at a lower level?

I've seen the OpenPLi Satfinder Plug-In which shows an SNR readout but I cannot work out where the SNR is imported from!! - I was wondering if I could work this out I could use the same technique to get a 'raw' RF level.

Does anybody have any experience reading information like this?

Cheers,

O.

Re: Reading the RF signal level #2 WanWizard

• PLi® Core member
  • 68,528 posts

+1,736
Excellent

Posted 3 June 2020 - 13:22

Communication with the hardware happens using the Linux DVB AP (https://linuxtv.org/...v5/index.html)I, so check files like ./lib/dvb/frontend.cpp.

Afaik the API doesn't give you access to raw tuner data, if that was true we would have had access to the outer FEC, and we could do proper BER calculations.

Edited by WanWizard, 3 June 2020 - 13:23.

Currently in use: VU+ Duo 4K (2xFBC S2), VU+ Solo 4K (1xFBC S2), uClan Usytm 4K Pro (S2+T2), Octagon SF8008 (S2+T2), Zgemma H9.2H (S2+T2)

Due to my bad health, I will not be very active at times and may be slow to respond. I will not read the forum or PM on a regular basis.

Many answers to your question can be found in our new and improved wiki.

Re: Reading the RF signal level #3 Oliver.M.

• 12 posts

Neutral

Posted 3 June 2020 - 13:34

Thank you for your help with this!

I'll take a look at the Linux DVB AP and the frontend.cpp files and report back if I have any issues with this.

Thanks again,

O.

Re: Reading the RF signal level #4 Erik Slagter

• PLi® Core member
  • 46,951 posts

+541
Excellent

Posted 4 June 2020 - 18:12