Jump to content


Photo

Auto Language Selection - options not saved corectly


  • Please log in to reply
29 replies to this topic

#1 Stan

  • Senior Member
  • 346 posts

0
Neutral

Posted 10 May 2024 - 12:52

There is a problem with saving "Auto Language Selection" options. Once language selections 2 and 3 are set, they cannot be removed.

 

I set them to "None", but after restarting Enigma, the old options are back again. Apparently, the entries are not deleted from the settings file.



Re: Auto Language Selection - options not saved corectly #2 Stan

  • Senior Member
  • 346 posts

0
Neutral

Posted 12 May 2024 - 16:46

Another strange behaviour with "Auto Language Selection":

 

When setting languages 1 - 4 (from previously "None") and then leaving with "Cancel", the values are saved!

 

What is going on?



Re: Auto Language Selection - options not saved corectly #3 littlesat

  • PLi® Core member
  • 56,476 posts

+693
Excellent

Posted 12 May 2024 - 17:15

What image taste? What date when develop taste?


Edited by littlesat, 12 May 2024 - 17:16.

WaveFrontier 28.2E | 23.5E | 19.2E | 16E | 13E | 10/9E | 7E | 5E | 1W | 4/5W | 15W


Re: Auto Language Selection - options not saved corectly #4 Stan

  • Senior Member
  • 346 posts

0
Neutral

Posted 12 May 2024 - 17:30

I am running the current nightly build. I have not tested yet older releases.



Re: Auto Language Selection - options not saved corectly #5 littlesat

  • PLi® Core member
  • 56,476 posts

+693
Excellent

Posted 12 May 2024 - 18:20

Could indeed be that notifiers are not correctly forwarded in latest develop. If so then it is work in progress. When you want to try image from Thursday or before I would appreciate it then for develop I’ll revert the commit that might causes it

WaveFrontier 28.2E | 23.5E | 19.2E | 16E | 13E | 10/9E | 7E | 5E | 1W | 4/5W | 15W


Re: Auto Language Selection - options not saved corectly #6 Stan

  • Senior Member
  • 346 posts

0
Neutral

Posted 12 May 2024 - 18:59

I have just checked Release 8. It behaves the same. So it might be an older issue.



Re: Auto Language Selection - options not saved corectly #7 littlesat

  • PLi® Core member
  • 56,476 posts

+693
Excellent

Posted 12 May 2024 - 19:20

Then it is something different. Here I’m not able to verify your experience. As far I can see no issues here.

WaveFrontier 28.2E | 23.5E | 19.2E | 16E | 13E | 10/9E | 7E | 5E | 1W | 4/5W | 15W


Re: Auto Language Selection - options not saved corectly #8 Stan

  • Senior Member
  • 346 posts

0
Neutral

Posted 12 May 2024 - 19:23

I have described the problems in post #1 and #2? Have you done exactly that and are you getting different results?


Edited by Stan, 12 May 2024 - 19:32.


Re: Auto Language Selection - options not saved corectly #9 littlesat

  • PLi® Core member
  • 56,476 posts

+693
Excellent

Posted 12 May 2024 - 19:40

Yep.

WaveFrontier 28.2E | 23.5E | 19.2E | 16E | 13E | 10/9E | 7E | 5E | 1W | 4/5W | 15W


Re: Auto Language Selection - options not saved corectly #10 littlesat

  • PLi® Core member
  • 56,476 posts

+693
Excellent

Posted 12 May 2024 - 19:41

Yep. At least as far I understood. In release 8 nothing is changes here at all since years also.

Edited by littlesat, 12 May 2024 - 19:42.

WaveFrontier 28.2E | 23.5E | 19.2E | 16E | 13E | 10/9E | 7E | 5E | 1W | 4/5W | 15W


Re: Auto Language Selection - options not saved corectly #11 Stan

  • Senior Member
  • 346 posts

0
Neutral

Posted 12 May 2024 - 21:09

I am not saying this is a new issue. It just never occured to me because previously I've been using only one language preference. Only just now, by trying to set up two or more language preferences and then trying to change or remove them, the fault became evident.


Edited by Stan, 12 May 2024 - 21:12.


Re: Auto Language Selection - options not saved corectly #12 Dimitrij

  • PLi® Core member
  • 10,052 posts

+340
Excellent

Posted 13 May 2024 - 05:31

This is not a bug, but a feature of these settings.

To save changes, you need to disable the desired line one by one and save with the green button.

 

language selections 3 set None and save

language selections 2 set None and save

language selections 1 set None and save


GigaBlue UHD Quad 4K /Lunix3-4K/Solo 4K


Re: Auto Language Selection - options not saved corectly #13 Frenske

  • Forum Moderator
    PLi® Core member
  • 27,428 posts

+396
Excellent

Posted 13 May 2024 - 07:46

There is a problem with saving "Auto Language Selection" options. Once language selections 2 and 3 are set, they cannot be removed.

 

I set them to "None", but after restarting Enigma, the old options are back again. Apparently, the entries are not deleted from the settings file.

 

I run the NB and can’t fully confirm what you write.

In case you want to remove a selected language you must start with the latest by setting the latest to ‘none’ and then the one prior to this.

If you want to delete all earlier selected languages you start with the fourth, then the 3e, the 2e and the 1e.

 

Attached File  IMG_0654.jpeg   116.89KB   1 downloads

 

Attached File  IMG_0655.jpeg   96.43KB   1 downloads

 

Update:

When having removed all languages, saved that setup and restarted Enigma, I noticed that something actually went not as ment as I didn’t choose any preferred audio language.

 

Attached File  IMG_0656.jpeg   111.95KB   1 downloads


Mijn schotel is een T90 met 10 LNB's. Daarnaast voor de fun nog een draaibaar systeem met een Triax TD 78.

Dreamboxen heb ik niet meer echt actief. Verder heb ik ook nog een een VU+ duo2 met 500Gb harddisk + een VU+ Uno, Zero, Solo 4K, Ultimo 4K, Zero 4K, Uno 4Kse. + ook nog een Xtrend ET7x00. Daarnaast heb ik ook nog diverse andere modellen w.o. een Formuler F4, ET8500, ET7500, Mut@nt 2400HD, Xsarius Fusion HD se en verder nog wel het e.e.a. waarmee op verzoek vanalles wordt getest. Iemand moet het tenslotte doen. ;) :)
Los van de eerder genoemde modellen heb ik nog wel een rits aan testsamples als Mut@nt 2400HD, HD60, GB UE4K, GB Trio4K, Maxitec Multibox combo en Twin, Octagon sf8008, sf8008 mini en last but nog least enkele modellen van het Grieks Duitse Edision.

Voor centrale opslag van media gebruik ik een Qnap 219P 
met tweemaal 2 Tb harddisks + een Synology DS414 met 12 Tb Totale opslag.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Many answers to your question can be found in our wiki: Just one click away from this "solutioncentre".

Als ik alles al wist hoefde ik ook niets te vragen. If I had all the knowledge I had no questions at all.


Re: Auto Language Selection - options not saved corectly #14 Stan

  • Senior Member
  • 346 posts

0
Neutral

Posted 13 May 2024 - 07:46

It is not logical at all. How on earth can you expect, that after each single step you must save and re-enter the menue for the next change?

 

What about bug #2, Is that also a "feature"?


Edited by Stan, 13 May 2024 - 07:52.


Re: Auto Language Selection - options not saved corectly #15 littlesat

  • PLi® Core member
  • 56,476 posts

+693
Excellent

Posted 13 May 2024 - 07:57

Is it correctly without a restart?
In between I’m also busy with synchronizing the config stuff with openvix. The code is in the config branch. Maybe copy and paste the config.py and ConfigList.py file from that branch and try again.

At least here I did not have to save each option.

Edited by littlesat, 13 May 2024 - 08:00.

WaveFrontier 28.2E | 23.5E | 19.2E | 16E | 13E | 10/9E | 7E | 5E | 1W | 4/5W | 15W


Re: Auto Language Selection - options not saved corectly #16 Stan

  • Senior Member
  • 346 posts

0
Neutral

Posted 13 May 2024 - 08:00

Yes, if you make the changes in one go (set all language selections to "None"), save and re-enter the menu, it will show correctly.

But after a restart, some languages are randomly set.


Edited by Stan, 13 May 2024 - 08:01.


Re: Auto Language Selection - options not saved corectly #17 littlesat

  • PLi® Core member
  • 56,476 posts

+693
Excellent

Posted 13 May 2024 - 08:01

Thanks….. sounds like there is a kind of save missing… but it is also that lines disappear when you set another to None.

WaveFrontier 28.2E | 23.5E | 19.2E | 16E | 13E | 10/9E | 7E | 5E | 1W | 4/5W | 15W


Re: Auto Language Selection - options not saved corectly #18 Stan

  • Senior Member
  • 346 posts

0
Neutral

Posted 13 May 2024 - 08:08

Correct. The lines that are not used (set to "None") are hidden. I believe, you have made that change yourself some time ago.

https://github.com/O...486ecd69add461a

 

But that is not the reason for the strange behaviour.


Edited by Stan, 13 May 2024 - 08:16.


Re: Auto Language Selection - options not saved corectly #19 littlesat

  • PLi® Core member
  • 56,476 posts

+693
Excellent

Posted 13 May 2024 - 11:02

The 'hidden' is good.... but it looks like the config is not saved somehow to /etc/enigma2/settings.

 

When it is hidden, then it will not be saved anymore as it is not on the list....


Edited by littlesat, 13 May 2024 - 11:20.

WaveFrontier 28.2E | 23.5E | 19.2E | 16E | 13E | 10/9E | 7E | 5E | 1W | 4/5W | 15W


Re: Auto Language Selection - options not saved corectly #20 littlesat

  • PLi® Core member
  • 56,476 posts

+693
Excellent

Posted 13 May 2024 - 11:27

I understand the mechanism now what happens.... when you set two (or) more of them to cancel and you click green... then 'some' are not on the list and then the new value is somehow not saved... 


WaveFrontier 28.2E | 23.5E | 19.2E | 16E | 13E | 10/9E | 7E | 5E | 1W | 4/5W | 15W



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users