Jump to content


Photo

How to build Enigma2 images.


  • Please log in to reply
76 replies to this topic

Re: How to build Enigma2 images. #61 anudanan

  • Senior Member
  • 1,002 posts

+14
Neutral

Posted 1 March 2019 - 06:33

Devtoolset is the magic word. Maybe that is also possible under ubuntu, but I haven’t tested it
Receiver:2 x Uno4k SE (PLI 7.0 rel), 1 x ET9200 (PLI 4.0), NAS: 2 x QNAP 410, TV: LG 65C8llla, LG 47LB570V, LG 42LM615S, Sound: Yamaha RX-v663, Teufel System 5 THX

Re: How to build Enigma2 images. #62 WanWizard

  • Forum Moderator
    PLi® Core member
  • 48,989 posts

+840
Excellent

Posted 1 March 2019 - 12:49

I've never seen it (but then I am a Redhat guy), software collections (https://www.software...ections.org/en/) is specific to RHEL and CentOS.


Currently in use: VU+Duo 4K (2xFBC S2), Amiko Viper T2C (T2), SAB Alpha Triple HD (S2+T2), Zgemma H3.T2C (T/C), Zgemma H6 (fallback), VU+Zero (fallback)

Many answers to your question can be found in our new and improved wiki.

note: I do not provide support via PM !

 


Re: How to build Enigma2 images. #63 -M-

  • Senior Member
  • 111 posts

+4
Neutral

Posted 4 March 2019 - 08:50

By reading this thread you can get scared it might be problem to build OpenPLi. Let me contribute with something positive... I was able to build, on my first attempt!
 
Thanks to all for doing a good work with OpenPLi :)
 
PS. I'm on an Ubuntu 18.04 host and did like this:

$ sudo apt install sed wget cvs subversion git-core coreutils unzip texi2html texinfo docbook-utils gawk python-pysqlite2 diffstat help2man make gcc build-essential g++ desktop-file-utils chrpath default-jre gettext zip
$ mkdir ~/OpenPLi
$ cd ~/OpenPLi
$ git clone https://github.com/OpenPLi/openpli-oe-core.git
$ cd openpli-oe-core
$ MACHINE=vuduo4k make
$ cd build
$ source env.source
$ export MACHINE=vuduo4k
$ bitbake openpli-enigma2-image

 I also build an enigma2-plugin and install it in the box with "opkg install" command.


Edited by -M-, 4 March 2019 - 08:50.


Re: How to build Enigma2 images. #64 serdeliuk

  • Senior Member
  • 130 posts

+5
Neutral

Posted 5 August 2019 - 16:55

Hi,

 

I upgraded my development system to Ubuntu 18.04 LTS, here are my steps to build first OpenPli 7.1 image for my Vu Solo4K

 

install Ubuntu 18.04 LTS

# Create your user

adduser marc

 

# grant sudo privileges

echo -e "\nmarcALL=(ALL:ALL) ALL" >> /etc/sudoers

 

# install required packages

apt-get install sed wget cvs subversion git-core \

  coreutils unzip texi2html texinfo docbook-utils \
  gawk python-pysqlite2 diffstat help2man make gcc build-essential g++ \
  desktop-file-utils chrpath default-jre gettext zip libssl-dev python3-distutils
 
# logout and login with your new user
 
# Clone OpenPli 7.1 branch in your home folder
git clone https://github.com/O...openpli-oe-core -b release-7.1 openpli-oe-core-7.1
 
# change to openpli-oe-core-7.1 directory
cd openpli-oe-core-7.1
 
# build first image "which can take few hours, depends on resources"
MACHINE=vusolo4k make image
 
At the end your new image is in openpli-oe-core-7.1/build/tmp/deploy/images/vusolo4k/openpli-homebuild-vusolo4k_usb.zip
 
You should add to your openpli-oe-core-7.1/build/conf/local.conf
MACHINE = "vusolo4k"
BRANCH = "release-7.1"
 
 
Best regards,
 
 
Marc

init 2 && init 3


Re: How to build Enigma2 images. #65 serdeliuk

  • Senior Member
  • 130 posts

+5
Neutral

Posted 5 August 2019 - 17:46

Just to let you know, the tree grows dramatically after image build to 15GB, it has 8.1GB compressed at best, if you intend to migrate the build tree think twice

 

marc@ubuntu:~/0.VUPLUS$ du -skh ./*

15G ./openpli-oe-core-7.1

15G ./openpli-oe-core-7.1.tar

8.1G ./openpli-oe-core-7.1.tar.7z


Edited by serdeliuk, 5 August 2019 - 17:49.

init 2 && init 3


Re: How to build Enigma2 images. #66 WanWizard

  • Forum Moderator
    PLi® Core member
  • 48,989 posts

+840
Excellent

Posted 5 August 2019 - 20:34

It is all relative... 

wanwizard@buildserver2] $ df -h | grep oe
/dev/sdb2       807G  564G  202G  74% /openpli/oe/release-6.2
/dev/sda2       807G  255G  512G  34% /openpli/oe/release-7.1
 
[wanwizard@buildserver3] $ df -h | grep oe
/dev/sda2       807G  537G  230G  71% /openpli/oe/develop 
/dev/sdb2       807G  414G  353G  54% /openpli/oe/rc

;)


Currently in use: VU+Duo 4K (2xFBC S2), Amiko Viper T2C (T2), SAB Alpha Triple HD (S2+T2), Zgemma H3.T2C (T/C), Zgemma H6 (fallback), VU+Zero (fallback)

Many answers to your question can be found in our new and improved wiki.

note: I do not provide support via PM !

 


Re: How to build Enigma2 images. #67 serdeliuk

  • Senior Member
  • 130 posts

+5
Neutral

Posted 5 August 2019 - 21:16

Haha, huge, i presume that there are all packages builded and entire cache. On my old machine i had only/max 38GB for 6.2, but builded only few packages "beside the image" + dependencies, most of my apps where builded on solo4k directly, which perform unexpectedly well.

 

I wonder why 7.1 is bigger than RC or develop.

 

Can you share infos regarding the hardware behind those buildservers? I am building my packages on a virtual machine under my OSX on a 256GB SSD :) but willing to purchase an old dual xeon with at least 32GB ram.


init 2 && init 3


Re: How to build Enigma2 images. #68 Persian Prince

  • Senior Member
  • 1,702 posts

+232
Excellent

Posted 5 August 2019 - 21:33

 


There is a nice step-by-step guide here:

 

http://users.telenet...npliubuntu.html

 

Pr2

Probably we need to consider to "copy" this to our own Wiki.,...

 

 

You could update it with my last changes:

 

https://github.com/O...velop/README.md (pyro branch of OE)

 

https://github.com/O...oming/README.md (master branch of OE)

 

We're using my "image.sh" shell script which makes things easier ;)


Edited by Persian Prince, 5 August 2019 - 21:34.

If you like my post click on green arrow :)

 

Open Vision image for your STB: https://github.com/OpenVisionE2


Re: How to build Enigma2 images. #69 -M-

  • Senior Member
  • 111 posts

+4
Neutral

Posted 6 August 2019 - 08:16

Respond to serdeliuk post yesterday:

You don't need a new user account and you don't need sudo.

PS. I haven't built 7.1 yet, but I really hope this haven't change.

Re: How to build Enigma2 images. #70 WanWizard

  • Forum Moderator
    PLi® Core member
  • 48,989 posts

+840
Excellent

Posted 6 August 2019 - 10:03

Haha, huge, i presume that there are all packages builded and entire cache.


All images, all packages, complete sstate-cache, rm_work active for release images.
 

I wonder why 7.1 is bigger than RC or develop.


It's the other way around, the second value is "used". I suspect that for debug reasons the RC's where build without rm_work, and with buildhistory active (is used to generate the pinning in reporefs.conf).

 

Also, we've created a cleanup script that runs after every build, which hasn't run for rc, as that hasn't been build for a while.
 

Can you share infos regarding the hardware behind those buildservers?

 

Our buildervers are Intel Core i7 7700K machines, 32GB ram, with 2 SATA disks for storage and the OS (part in raid 1), and 2 Samsung EVO 970 1TB SSD disks for the images (hence two build directories per server).


Currently in use: VU+Duo 4K (2xFBC S2), Amiko Viper T2C (T2), SAB Alpha Triple HD (S2+T2), Zgemma H3.T2C (T/C), Zgemma H6 (fallback), VU+Zero (fallback)

Many answers to your question can be found in our new and improved wiki.

note: I do not provide support via PM !

 


Re: How to build Enigma2 images. #71 serdeliuk

  • Senior Member
  • 130 posts

+5
Neutral

Posted 6 August 2019 - 14:49

You don't need a new user account and you don't need sudo.

PS. I haven't built 7.1 yet, but I really hope this haven't change.

 

Hi mister -M-,

 

Indeed, but you're partially right and my previous statement is partially incomplete, i meant to say if your user is root you need to add a new user who will use bitbake, because bitbake will not run under root.

 

In regards to "sudo" just to compile packages or images is not required, but linux users knows that almost all the time you need to install packages and/or run privileged commands, so, sudo will be a nice addition instead of going back and forth between users.

 

 

Best regards,

 

 

Marc


Edited by serdeliuk, 6 August 2019 - 14:50.

init 2 && init 3


Re: How to build Enigma2 images. #72 twol

  • Senior Member
  • 283 posts

+8
Neutral

Posted 6 August 2019 - 15:33

I am surprised that it runs in sudo as the sanity checker normally objects (certainly when I tried to run from a NAS - which is not supported)

Gigablue Quad 4K & UE 4K
.........FBC Tuners:
------------------> DUR-Line DCR 5-1-8-L4 Multiswitch to 1.5M dish(28.2E)
------------------> Spaun SUS 5581/33 NFA Multiswitch to 80 cm dish(19.2E)
.........DVB-S2X into 90cm dish (27.5W)

Octagon SF8008 DVB-S2X tuner using Legacy ports on multiswitches
Edision Osmio 4K+, Zgemma H9Combo and Multibox using Legacy ports on multiswitches
Zgemma H9twin & Zgemma H9 C/S mode into Giga4K
 


Re: How to build Enigma2 images. #73 serdeliuk

  • Senior Member
  • 130 posts

+5
Neutral

Posted 6 August 2019 - 16:46

I am surprised that it runs in sudo as the sanity checker normally objects (certainly when I tried to run from a NAS - which is not supported)

 

Does not run in sudo as well as under root user/group, I mentioned sudo because it is useful to have easy access to OS package management yum, apt, etc, or to run privileged commands, as iptables  for examples.

 

Without sudo, the new user will need to logout and relogin with another user which have root access in order to install with apt-get any package.


init 2 && init 3


Re: How to build Enigma2 images. #74 DimitarCC

  • Senior Member
  • 424 posts

+2
Neutral

Posted 8 August 2019 - 06:18

Hello,

I tried to build the latest develop branch of OpenPLi but i got a problem during build with facelocale.

it searching for locale no_NO (Norwegian) but in the git there is no_NN which i think is wrong. Also it complains about unrecognizable symbol U+00E5 in that file.

Could someone check?


Edited by DimitarCC, 8 August 2019 - 06:22.

Vu+Uno4KSE, Vu+Solo2, Dreambox DM500HD, Dreambox DM600PVR, AzBox Premium, Triax 78 (7E,9E,13E,19.2E,23.5E) & Triax 78 (39E)


Re: How to build Enigma2 images. #75 blzr

  • PLi® Core member
  • 2,050 posts

+100
Excellent

Posted 8 August 2019 - 08:31

yep, definitely this latest fakelocale commit is wrong...
actual language code is language_TERRITORY and not other way around (!)

(and other than that, for these new fakelocale to actually work, they also need to be added to locale.alias)

I'll try to provide PR with fix later today...


True sarcasm doesn't need green font...

Re: How to build Enigma2 images. #76 DimitarCC

  • Senior Member
  • 424 posts

+2
Neutral

Posted 8 August 2019 - 09:15

@blzr Thanks. It will be great.


Vu+Uno4KSE, Vu+Solo2, Dreambox DM500HD, Dreambox DM600PVR, AzBox Premium, Triax 78 (7E,9E,13E,19.2E,23.5E) & Triax 78 (39E)


Re: How to build Enigma2 images. #77 blzr

  • PLi® Core member
  • 2,050 posts

+100
Excellent

Posted 8 August 2019 - 11:43

Should be fixed now...


True sarcasm doesn't need green font...




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users