Jump to content


Photo

Zgemma H3.T2C (T2/Cable) Tuner Failures


  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 ColinB

  • Senior Member
  • 730 posts

+28
Good

Posted 3 July 2019 - 13:00

Hi All @OPLi,

 

seeing how the English forum is a bit quiet at the moment, I thought I would run this past your learned minds.

 

My neighbour has a just out of warranty H3 that started to develope tuning issues last month. He has his own terrestrial antenae and I supply him a  4/1 sat feed from my system. Both tested and working.

 

The current situation is that he now has no DVB-T2 and only V polarity on the DVB-S2. Which gives him mostly Freeview channels but not all.

 

I haven't had a chance yet to open the box, but will do soon.

 

Is this anyone has came acreoss before ?

 

If so is it an easy fix ?

 

Finaly could the box still be used as a remote LAN box with no external feeds ?

 

Thanks for reading.

 

Colin


Xtrend et8000 7.1-Release

2 x 8/1 DiSEqC  30w 13e 19e 23e 28e   

Astrometa USB Tuner Working DVB-T2 now on Kernel 4.10+  ;)

WD10EARX 1TB

Sandisk 32GB USB for AFB, EPG, Picons & Timeshift

 

ZGemma Star S 7.0-Release

4/1 DiSEqC  30w 13e 19e 28e

Sandisk 8GB USB for AFB, EPG, Picons & Timeshift

 

LG 49UH610V UHD-HDR

UHF/Cable/Sat

 

E-Channelizer

 

 

 


Re: Zgemma H3.T2C (T2/Cable) Tuner Failures #2 WanWizard

  • Forum Moderator
    PLi® Core member
  • 48,380 posts

+821
Excellent

Posted 3 July 2019 - 13:14

Is this anyone has came acreoss before ?

 

Nope.

 

Finaly could the box still be used as a remote LAN box with no external feeds ?

 

Sure, I have a few in use (an H6, a Vu Zero, an Amiko Viper) that have their tuners disabled, so they use the fallback tuner permanently.


Currently in use: VU+Duo 4K (2xFBC S2), Amiko Viper T2C (T2), SAB Alpha Triple HD (S2+T2), Zgemma H3.T2C (T/C), Zgemma H6 (fallback), VU+Zero (fallback)

Many answers to your question can be found in our new and improved wiki.

note: I do not provide support via PM !

 


Re: Zgemma H3.T2C (T2/Cable) Tuner Failures #3 ColinB

  • Senior Member
  • 730 posts

+28
Good

Posted 3 July 2019 - 14:33

Thanks @WanWizard, good to know its not completely dead in the water.

 

While I got your attention, I'm going to have to source a new (main stb) for him.

I have a couple of low cost in mind. Both 4k that you support.

 

I support (housekeeping, updates, etc) him via my guest wifi. Would his new main stb support 2 wifi connections ?

1 to my router and the other to his "Client box" in his bedroom ?


Xtrend et8000 7.1-Release

2 x 8/1 DiSEqC  30w 13e 19e 23e 28e   

Astrometa USB Tuner Working DVB-T2 now on Kernel 4.10+  ;)

WD10EARX 1TB

Sandisk 32GB USB for AFB, EPG, Picons & Timeshift

 

ZGemma Star S 7.0-Release

4/1 DiSEqC  30w 13e 19e 28e

Sandisk 8GB USB for AFB, EPG, Picons & Timeshift

 

LG 49UH610V UHD-HDR

UHF/Cable/Sat

 

E-Channelizer

 

 

 


Re: Zgemma H3.T2C (T2/Cable) Tuner Failures #4 WanWizard

  • Forum Moderator
    PLi® Core member
  • 48,380 posts

+821
Excellent

Posted 3 July 2019 - 14:46

Would his new main stb support 2 wifi connections ?

1 to my router and the other to his "Client box" in his bedroom ?

 

That depends on how you organize it.

 

My router supports OpenVPN, I have OpenVPN on the boxes of family members I remotely support, with an access list on the router so I can SSH to the box (and only that), and they can't do anything on my network. For that to work, you need to have split tunneling active in OpenVPN (i.e. traffic for your network goes into the tunnel, other traffic goes onto the LAN of the box).

 

Alternatively you can create a router to router VPN (if that is supported), but that connects the LAN's together, so you need to think about how you are going to secure it (if needed).

 

And a final option would be to do an SSH port forwarding on the router, so you can SSH into the box over the internet, but I would only do that it no other options work, and if SSH was configured for certificates instead of passwords.


Currently in use: VU+Duo 4K (2xFBC S2), Amiko Viper T2C (T2), SAB Alpha Triple HD (S2+T2), Zgemma H3.T2C (T/C), Zgemma H6 (fallback), VU+Zero (fallback)

Many answers to your question can be found in our new and improved wiki.

note: I do not provide support via PM !

 


Re: Zgemma H3.T2C (T2/Cable) Tuner Failures #5 ColinB

  • Senior Member
  • 730 posts

+28
Good

Posted 3 July 2019 - 15:14

 

Would his new main stb support 2 wifi connections ?

1 to my router and the other to his "Client box" in his bedroom ?

 

That depends on how you organize it.

 

My router supports OpenVPN, I have OpenVPN on the boxes of family members I remotely support, with an access list on the router so I can SSH to the box (and only that), and they can't do anything on my network. For that to work, you need to have split tunneling active in OpenVPN (i.e. traffic for your network goes into the tunnel, other traffic goes onto the LAN of the box).

 

Alternatively you can create a router to router VPN (if that is supported), but that connects the LAN's together, so you need to think about how you are going to secure it (if needed).

 

And a final option would be to do an SSH port forwarding on the router, so you can SSH into the box over the internet, but I would only do that it no other options work, and if SSH was configured for certificates instead of passwords.

 

 

@ WanWizard, thanks for your reply but I think you have missed my question.

 

I have a VM router in the UK London. It has LAN+WiFi & a Guest Wifi to the Internet.

My friend is on my Guest WiFi. From my LAN-PC (Win10Pro) I can switch on my WiFi adapter and connect to the Guest LAN for maintenance of his STB. When done I close this connection.

At all times only I have full control of my VM router.

 

So back to my Original question. If the NEW E2 STB he buys and I put 2 WiFi adapters on it, will it allow connection to both my router and client box at the same time. 2 WiFi connections.

 

I can of course use powerline or hardwied Cat5.


Xtrend et8000 7.1-Release

2 x 8/1 DiSEqC  30w 13e 19e 23e 28e   

Astrometa USB Tuner Working DVB-T2 now on Kernel 4.10+  ;)

WD10EARX 1TB

Sandisk 32GB USB for AFB, EPG, Picons & Timeshift

 

ZGemma Star S 7.0-Release

4/1 DiSEqC  30w 13e 19e 28e

Sandisk 8GB USB for AFB, EPG, Picons & Timeshift

 

LG 49UH610V UHD-HDR

UHF/Cable/Sat

 

E-Channelizer

 

 

 


Re: Zgemma H3.T2C (T2/Cable) Tuner Failures #6 ColinB

  • Senior Member
  • 730 posts

+28
Good

Posted 3 July 2019 - 15:31

Just think of it this way.

 

Main STB has WiFi connection the the Net

 

Client box wants WiFi coonection to main STB

 

If Main STB has 2 WiFi adapters will they all have a local LAN and access to the Net ?

 

Thanks Colin


Edited by ColinB, 3 July 2019 - 15:32.

Xtrend et8000 7.1-Release

2 x 8/1 DiSEqC  30w 13e 19e 23e 28e   

Astrometa USB Tuner Working DVB-T2 now on Kernel 4.10+  ;)

WD10EARX 1TB

Sandisk 32GB USB for AFB, EPG, Picons & Timeshift

 

ZGemma Star S 7.0-Release

4/1 DiSEqC  30w 13e 19e 28e

Sandisk 8GB USB for AFB, EPG, Picons & Timeshift

 

LG 49UH610V UHD-HDR

UHF/Cable/Sat

 

E-Channelizer

 

 

 


Re: Zgemma H3.T2C (T2/Cable) Tuner Failures #7 WanWizard

  • Forum Moderator
    PLi® Core member
  • 48,380 posts

+821
Excellent

Posted 3 July 2019 - 15:37

Still don't fully understand your setup, but in short, an STB is a linux box, you could connect 20 network interfaces to it if you want, the box doesn't really care.

 

Obviously, you'll have to deal with some static routing, as you can only have one default gateway, and all the usual disclaimers related to (USB) wifi sticks apply. ;)


Currently in use: VU+Duo 4K (2xFBC S2), Amiko Viper T2C (T2), SAB Alpha Triple HD (S2+T2), Zgemma H3.T2C (T/C), Zgemma H6 (fallback), VU+Zero (fallback)

Many answers to your question can be found in our new and improved wiki.

note: I do not provide support via PM !

 


Re: Zgemma H3.T2C (T2/Cable) Tuner Failures #8 ColinB

  • Senior Member
  • 730 posts

+28
Good

Posted 3 July 2019 - 15:46

Back to basics DHCP is comming from router to anything on the LAN's IP

 

Client-Box---WiFi----Main-STB----WiFi----Router/Gateway----NET


Xtrend et8000 7.1-Release

2 x 8/1 DiSEqC  30w 13e 19e 23e 28e   

Astrometa USB Tuner Working DVB-T2 now on Kernel 4.10+  ;)

WD10EARX 1TB

Sandisk 32GB USB for AFB, EPG, Picons & Timeshift

 

ZGemma Star S 7.0-Release

4/1 DiSEqC  30w 13e 19e 28e

Sandisk 8GB USB for AFB, EPG, Picons & Timeshift

 

LG 49UH610V UHD-HDR

UHF/Cable/Sat

 

E-Channelizer

 

 

 


Re: Zgemma H3.T2C (T2/Cable) Tuner Failures #9 WanWizard

  • Forum Moderator
    PLi® Core member
  • 48,380 posts

+821
Excellent

Posted 3 July 2019 - 16:03

Client-Box---WiFi ( A )----Main-STB----WiFi ( B )----Router/Gateway----NET

 
As said, that is technically no problem (within the limits of the wifi and the STB's wifi support).
 
Does Wifi (A) have a router (with DHCP) too? And Internet access?

Currently in use: VU+Duo 4K (2xFBC S2), Amiko Viper T2C (T2), SAB Alpha Triple HD (S2+T2), Zgemma H3.T2C (T/C), Zgemma H6 (fallback), VU+Zero (fallback)

Many answers to your question can be found in our new and improved wiki.

note: I do not provide support via PM !

 


Re: Zgemma H3.T2C (T2/Cable) Tuner Failures #10 ColinB

  • Senior Member
  • 730 posts

+28
Good

Posted 3 July 2019 - 16:47

Just the half dead tuner box.

post #1

 

Locaton between the new and old. in the same apartment/flat. 10 metres. I can run a Cat5 between the new and old boxes. Or use powerline tech. A secondary £2.50 USB WiFi Adapter would, to me be the simpliest option if the new STB would support 2 Wifi connections.

 

Was thinking

Zgemma H9 Combo

cheers Colin


Xtrend et8000 7.1-Release

2 x 8/1 DiSEqC  30w 13e 19e 23e 28e   

Astrometa USB Tuner Working DVB-T2 now on Kernel 4.10+  ;)

WD10EARX 1TB

Sandisk 32GB USB for AFB, EPG, Picons & Timeshift

 

ZGemma Star S 7.0-Release

4/1 DiSEqC  30w 13e 19e 28e

Sandisk 8GB USB for AFB, EPG, Picons & Timeshift

 

LG 49UH610V UHD-HDR

UHF/Cable/Sat

 

E-Channelizer

 

 

 


Re: Zgemma H3.T2C (T2/Cable) Tuner Failures #11 WanWizard

  • Forum Moderator
    PLi® Core member
  • 48,380 posts

+821
Excellent

Posted 3 July 2019 - 17:15

As said, it support multiple interfaces just fine.

 

The main question will be if it will support your very expensive wifi adapter. So check which chipset the adapter is using, check the linux kernel version of the box, and check kernel driver database if a driver is available for that chipset and kernel version: https://cateee.net/lkddb/web-lkddb/. If the answer is yes, we can check if building that driver has been enabled in the BSP.

 

Most cheap adapters use Realtek chipset, and their linux driver support varies from flaky to non-existent.


Currently in use: VU+Duo 4K (2xFBC S2), Amiko Viper T2C (T2), SAB Alpha Triple HD (S2+T2), Zgemma H3.T2C (T/C), Zgemma H6 (fallback), VU+Zero (fallback)

Many answers to your question can be found in our new and improved wiki.

note: I do not provide support via PM !

 


Re: Zgemma H3.T2C (T2/Cable) Tuner Failures #12 ColinB

  • Senior Member
  • 730 posts

+28
Good

Posted 3 July 2019 - 17:52

As said, it support multiple interfaces just fine.

 

The main question will be if it will support your very expensive  wifi adapter. ;)

 

 

:P OoH You, what are you like, little devil.

 

Duh !

 

The existing box has been on WiFi to my guest. WiFi adapter works with H3.T2C. Now tuners are failing.

 

"The main question will be if it will support your very expensive  wifi adapter. ;)"

 

What you talking about. I'm not moving the WiFi adapter from the  bad tuner STB. Just want to connect it to a new STB. ?

 

Get out of the sunshine man.

 

Love Col


Xtrend et8000 7.1-Release

2 x 8/1 DiSEqC  30w 13e 19e 23e 28e   

Astrometa USB Tuner Working DVB-T2 now on Kernel 4.10+  ;)

WD10EARX 1TB

Sandisk 32GB USB for AFB, EPG, Picons & Timeshift

 

ZGemma Star S 7.0-Release

4/1 DiSEqC  30w 13e 19e 28e

Sandisk 8GB USB for AFB, EPG, Picons & Timeshift

 

LG 49UH610V UHD-HDR

UHF/Cable/Sat

 

E-Channelizer

 

 

 


Re: Zgemma H3.T2C (T2/Cable) Tuner Failures #13 ColinB

  • Senior Member
  • 730 posts

+28
Good

Posted 3 July 2019 - 18:13

 

Client-Box---WiFi ( A )----Main-STB----WiFi ( B )----Router/Gateway----NET

 
As said, that is technically no problem (within the limits of the wifi and the STB's wifi support).
 
Does Wifi (A) have a router (with DHCP) too? And Internet access?

 

 

Sorry missed this bit. WiFi (A) was the H3 that connected to the guest DHCP on my VM router on its own subnet. Now the tuners are FD I want to move it to be a client to a new PLi supported STB.


Xtrend et8000 7.1-Release

2 x 8/1 DiSEqC  30w 13e 19e 23e 28e   

Astrometa USB Tuner Working DVB-T2 now on Kernel 4.10+  ;)

WD10EARX 1TB

Sandisk 32GB USB for AFB, EPG, Picons & Timeshift

 

ZGemma Star S 7.0-Release

4/1 DiSEqC  30w 13e 19e 28e

Sandisk 8GB USB for AFB, EPG, Picons & Timeshift

 

LG 49UH610V UHD-HDR

UHF/Cable/Sat

 

E-Channelizer

 

 

 


Re: Zgemma H3.T2C (T2/Cable) Tuner Failures #14 WanWizard

  • Forum Moderator
    PLi® Core member
  • 48,380 posts

+821
Excellent

Posted 3 July 2019 - 18:14

I apparently missed the bit where you said the main box already had two working wifi adapters?


Currently in use: VU+Duo 4K (2xFBC S2), Amiko Viper T2C (T2), SAB Alpha Triple HD (S2+T2), Zgemma H3.T2C (T/C), Zgemma H6 (fallback), VU+Zero (fallback)

Many answers to your question can be found in our new and improved wiki.

note: I do not provide support via PM !

 


Re: Zgemma H3.T2C (T2/Cable) Tuner Failures #15 ColinB

  • Senior Member
  • 730 posts

+28
Good

Posted 3 July 2019 - 18:31

I apparently missed the bit where you said the main box already had two working wifi adapters?

 

No. Thats what I'm asking is possible. main stb have 2 adapters. One for NET and other for LAN/Client box

 

Faulty H3 has WiFi adapter £2.50 (ebay) working fine. Need to make it client to "New STB"


Edited by ColinB, 3 July 2019 - 18:34.

Xtrend et8000 7.1-Release

2 x 8/1 DiSEqC  30w 13e 19e 23e 28e   

Astrometa USB Tuner Working DVB-T2 now on Kernel 4.10+  ;)

WD10EARX 1TB

Sandisk 32GB USB for AFB, EPG, Picons & Timeshift

 

ZGemma Star S 7.0-Release

4/1 DiSEqC  30w 13e 19e 28e

Sandisk 8GB USB for AFB, EPG, Picons & Timeshift

 

LG 49UH610V UHD-HDR

UHF/Cable/Sat

 

E-Channelizer

 

 

 


Re: Zgemma H3.T2C (T2/Cable) Tuner Failures #16 WanWizard

  • Forum Moderator
    PLi® Core member
  • 48,380 posts

+821
Excellent

Posted 3 July 2019 - 19:17

No. Thats what I'm asking is possible. main stb have 2 adapters. One for NET and other for LAN/Client box

 

Ok, so I didn't miss it. In that case, the above still applies.


Currently in use: VU+Duo 4K (2xFBC S2), Amiko Viper T2C (T2), SAB Alpha Triple HD (S2+T2), Zgemma H3.T2C (T/C), Zgemma H6 (fallback), VU+Zero (fallback)

Many answers to your question can be found in our new and improved wiki.

note: I do not provide support via PM !

 


Re: Zgemma H3.T2C (T2/Cable) Tuner Failures #17 Pr2

  • PLi® Contributor
  • 3,636 posts

+156
Excellent

Posted 3 July 2019 - 20:29

Why not give this a try?

 

https://forums.openp...ier-on-openpli/

 

Setting up 2 networks is always possible but you have to know and understand what you are doing especially in terms of default gateway and routing between the two network cards.


NO SUPPORT by PM, it is a forum make your question public so everybody can benefit from the question/answer.
If you think that my answer helps you, you can press the up arrow in bottom right of the answer.

Wanna help with OpenPLi Translation? Please read our Wiki Information for translators

Sat: Hotbird 13.0E, Astra 19.2E, Eutelsat5A 5.0W
VU+ Solo 4K: 2*DVB-S2 + 2*DVB-C/T/T2 (used in DVB-C) & Duo 4K: 2*DVB-S2X + DVB-C (FBC)
Edision OS Mio 4K: 1*DVB-S2X + 1*DVB-C/T/T2
 





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users