• Please log in to reply
44 replies to this topic

#1 ziada

• 55 posts

Neutral

Posted 29 March 2010 - 08:42

Hi,
I'm really in a big network problem with DM500,
and though I'm a communication engineer, but I thought this problem needs a DM expertise like you rather than a simple guy like me.

First :
Here is the problem :
I'm using OpenPLi v.91, and it's more or less the same as previous ones, but I like to be up to date.
Everything goes alright for a while, till suddenly DM start to hang every time I try to send many orders at once with the remote.
So, I thought that is a bug in this version, and hence I'll upgrade to ver. 100.
After I install ver. 100, and set my network properties to be as usual, I can't access to Internet (PLi server, LuxSat server) but for my surprise I installed "MGCamd 1.31" manually and send my sharing account file, the sharing works fine.
And also I astonished when I succeeded to ping to "Yahoo!" or "PLi site" through telnet to DM.

Second : Here is what I did ...
[list=1]
[*]I installed another image rather that PLi -> the same situation occurred.
[*]I changed DM MAC address.-> the same situation occurred.
[*]I changed DM IP.-> the same situation occurred.
[*]I reset the router.-> the same situation occurred.
[*]I updated router firmware.-> the same situation occurred.
[*]I flashed the DM with an erase image.-> the same situation occurred.
[*]I installed different images with "Flashwizard" or "Universal DreamUP".-> the same situation occurred.
[*]I changed my open DNS on DM from "8.8.8.8 - Google DNS" to the ones that ISP provided.-> the same situation occurred.
[*]Lastly : I return to my backup with "OpenPLi ver. 91" and ..... Sharing works fine but no Internet connection to download any plugins from PLi server.
[/list]

Thanks,
+--------+
| Ziada |
+--------+

Re: Network problem #2 WanWizard

• PLi® Core member
  • 68,716 posts

+1,741
Excellent

Posted 29 March 2010 - 09:02

Standard debug procedure:

Telnet to the box and check: