Jump to content


Photo

XBMC4STB?

xbmc vu+

  • Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1 betz

  • Senior Member
  • 63 posts

0
Neutral

Posted 22 March 2012 - 01:56

Hi,

Currently, I have a Dreambox 800hd running Openpli for TV, together with a dedicated XBMC PC for my Media.
I heard that VU+ announced in september they will ship the new boxes with XBMC as a frontend, called XBMC4STB.
For me this would be absolutely fantastic. Both software have their strong sides, and merging them sounds really a plus for both parties.
If this would become reality, i seriously would think about getting this box.

Now, how does Openpli looks at this?
Are there also any plans to do this, so people on a Dreambox can enjoy this also?

Cheers!
Tom

Re: XBMC4STB? #2 betz

  • Senior Member
  • 63 posts

0
Neutral

Posted 22 March 2012 - 02:25

you can find more info about vu+ anouncing this on http://www.vuplus-co...amsterdam.3197/

Re: XBMC4STB? #3 Rob van der Does

  • Senior Member
  • 7,731 posts

+184
Excellent

Posted 22 March 2012 - 06:15

The attached file is easier to read.

Attached Files



Re: XBMC4STB? #4 hemertje

  • Forum Moderator
    PLi® Core member
  • 32,995 posts

+116
Excellent

Posted 22 March 2012 - 07:37

We are currently not looking at this...

on the Glassfibre 1GB DVB-C...


Re: XBMC4STB? #5 pieterg

  • PLi® Core member
  • 32,766 posts

+245
Excellent

Posted 22 March 2012 - 10:02

you need different hardware for that, current models will not support xbmc.

Re: XBMC4STB? #6 Rob van der Does

  • Senior Member
  • 7,731 posts

+184
Excellent

Posted 22 March 2012 - 12:32

you need different hardware for that, current models will not support xbmc.

Exactly. And I think that's what VU+ has announced.

Re: XBMC4STB? #7 pieterg

  • PLi® Core member
  • 32,766 posts

+245
Excellent

Posted 22 March 2012 - 13:05


you need different hardware for that, current models will not support xbmc.

Exactly. And I think that's what VU+ has announced.


yes, but I thought I'd give the topic starter a clear answer, instead of posting some commercial flyer ;)

Re: XBMC4STB? #8 ds78

  • Senior Member
  • 37 posts

0
Neutral

Posted 23 March 2012 - 08:09

HI,

It is currently selling a tuner, which will support the XBMC?

REG.

Re: XBMC4STB? #9 pieterg

  • PLi® Core member
  • 32,766 posts

+245
Excellent

Posted 23 March 2012 - 10:34

no

Re: XBMC4STB? #10 betz

  • Senior Member
  • 63 posts

0
Neutral

Posted 24 March 2012 - 16:29

@pieterg whats different about the hardware? I guess they'll use a i386 processor instead of mips?

Re: XBMC4STB? #11 pieterg

  • PLi® Core member
  • 32,766 posts

+245
Excellent

Posted 24 March 2012 - 17:02

You just need something more powerful, the current hardware won't do.
I probably wouldn't pick mips, but I'd definitely not pick x86 either.

Re: XBMC4STB? #12 RogerThis

  • Member
  • 14 posts

0
Neutral

Posted 24 March 2012 - 19:50

XBMC runs fairly well on ARM, but I haven't seen any STB's with a ARM processor. This could be a real game changer for satellite. Do you think it will be completely XBMC, or will it be a mixture between XBMC and enigma2?

Edited by RogerThis, 24 March 2012 - 19:53.


Re: XBMC4STB? #13 MiLo

  • PLi® Core member
  • 13,881 posts

+290
Excellent

Posted 24 March 2012 - 19:57

STB's don't need much CPU horse power... There are plenty of chips with ARM CPU and video codecs, even broadcom (who makes the chips in all dmm/et/vu receivers) has them. Probably the MIPS license is cheaper than ARM, and the profit margins aren't much on this kind of hardware.

Edited by MiLo, 24 March 2012 - 19:58.

Real musicians never die - they just decompose

Re: XBMC4STB? #14 RogerThis

  • Member
  • 14 posts

0
Neutral

Posted 24 March 2012 - 20:07

When you have stuff like raspberry pi costing $35 that can run xbmc, I'll always surprised how expensive STB's are. Why are they so expensive, is it the tuner cards?
The main thing for XBMC is that the processor can support OpenGLES.

Edited by RogerThis, 24 March 2012 - 20:08.


Re: XBMC4STB? #15 blzr

  • PLi® Core member
  • 2,040 posts

+99
Good

Posted 24 March 2012 - 20:11

XBMC runs fairly well on ARM, but I haven't seen any STB's with a ARM processor.

Coolstream STBs have ARM cpu, and they run on Neutrino HD (!)... ;)
True sarcasm doesn't need green font...

Re: XBMC4STB? #16 Sjaaky

  • Senior Member
  • 7,442 posts

+41
Good

Posted 24 March 2012 - 20:11

I can buy an engine and some tires for the fraction of the price of a real car. Same thing with the raspberry and a complete stb.

Re: XBMC4STB? #17 MiLo

  • PLi® Core member
  • 13,881 posts

+290
Excellent

Posted 24 March 2012 - 20:41

... raspberry pi costing $35 ...


That's just theory. I've ordered one, but I'd be surprised if it arrived before 2013...
Real musicians never die - they just decompose

Re: XBMC4STB? #18 RogerThis

  • Member
  • 14 posts

0
Neutral

Posted 24 March 2012 - 21:04

... raspberry pi costing $35 ...


That's just theory. I've ordered one, but I'd be surprised if it arrived before 2013...


Mid-May is my approx delivery date for the pi. 700mhz sure is a lot faster than any STB I have seen, but it wouldn't have all the extras needed to run a STB.

Re: XBMC4STB? #19 Carl

  • Senior Member
  • 367 posts

+8
Neutral

Posted 24 March 2012 - 22:12

And offcourse license costs which are about 12 dollar. This is even not add on the raspberry.

Count everything up and you come around prices of settopboxes.
XP1000, Clarketech CT9000 and a VU+ duo

Re: XBMC4STB? #20 MiLo

  • PLi® Core member
  • 13,881 posts

+290
Excellent

Posted 25 March 2012 - 08:47

Mid-May is my approx delivery date for the pi. 700mhz sure is a lot faster than any STB I have seen, but it wouldn't have all the extras needed to run a STB.


Most of the current models use a 400MHz dual-threading core, which puts them on about the same level of CPU power.
Real musicians never die - they just decompose





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users